PDA

View Full Version : Short Shafted A Mod.

SQRT(-2)
01-06-2009, 08:56 PM
As a general disclaimer, I am new to RC Helis, but I can't help but experiment. Looking at the main shaft, I could only think that the further the ends are from the bearings, the more likely it is to vibrate. And further the blades are apart, the more they can fight with each other.

So, I cut about an piece out of the main shaft. It is now a half inch from the lower blade to the upper blade (at the shaft) I remembered to move the upper bearing.

I was nervous, but she flies very stable afterwards. She makes a slight buzzing sound now, Probably due to the lower blade moving through more turbulant air from the upper blade. I understand I am more vunerable to flybar-lower blade strikes, my next mod will be to help compensate for this.

At least with parts being avalable and relativly cheep, I can reverse it if neccary.

Anyone ever tryed anything like this?

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o83/wagnern/MCX.jpg
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o83/wagnern/MCX2.jpg

killboy
01-06-2009, 09:44 PM
Haven't seen that before...I'll be interested in seeing how you compensate for blade strikes. Good luck!

tcabner
01-07-2009, 10:05 AM
I've gotten pretty bold with my flying and blade strikes are bad enough as it is, especially if I changed directions really quickly while zipping across the room. I can just imagine how bad it would be with the blades any closer together. Would your mod happen to involve reducing the amount of travel the flybar would have? If so, it seems it would reduce your amount of maneuverability and/or responsiveness.

SQRT(-2)
01-07-2009, 12:43 PM