PDA

View Full Version : walkera 60

skipper
05-27-2006, 08:52 AM
Hello from downunder!
decided to take the challenge and go electric heli after many years of flying acro.....hmmmmm....not easy....many bad habits from flying planks!
Have bought two helis, a t rex and a walkera 60. The t rex has been built less radio and gyro and put on the shelf until I learn to fly. I purchased the stock standard walkera 60 with BRUSHED motor planning to at least try to hover it before updating it with better electronics, radio motor, gyro etc. Yes Ive read all the forums on walkera, but I love a challenge! Suprisingly the walkera 60 in my opinion is turning out to be value for money. I have had no bad experiences with the electronics so far - I dont need lightening fast servos or fancy electronics yet. After trimming the 60, checking all nuts and bolts and replacing a few fasteners (namely the pitiful screws that hold the servos to the frame) and moving the tail servo to the boom ala trex, I am now begining to make some short hovers. The bird seems pretty stable, its just the pilot that needs more trimming. I plan on using the walkera as a test bed for the electronics that I purchase for the t rex.
Anyway is there anyone else with one of these birds????It would be great to get some "information swapping" happening re the new 60. It is not a high end chopper but for the money, I cant complain and I reckon if I can get this thing flying, the t rex should be a walk in the park??

Stay tuned and watch me eat my words!!

He who Flares Wins!

Laurens
05-27-2006, 04:05 PM
Can you get a link to the heli? You're lucky because I thought Walkera made 60 size heli...

skipper
05-28-2006, 04:19 AM
Sorry laurens, dont quite understand your message but walkera only make low end electric helis but they are widely available.....check em out on ebay or at walkera.com