Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters

600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Another nitro newbie needs advice

I'm new with nitro helis. Just bought an almost new Trex 600N that had just been broke in. I'll have the heli stored for 3-4 months and I need some advise on:

1) should I drain the fuel from the tank or can I leave it there?.
2) Is there any storage procedure for the engine?
3) Any recommendationes from when I take the heli out from storage for my 1st flight?
3) Excuse my ignorance but, do these engines have an air filter or any other parts that require regular maintenance? I haven't seen any.
hs100 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2009, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

1: yes you should remove all the fuel after your done running it . It doesn't really matter how long your leaving it sit it can still fill the motor up with fuel and lock it up if there is any in it. Plus old fuel gets hard to clean out if it dries up.

2: Yes your should put a few drops after run oil or at least some ATF for any storage longer then a few days.

3: when you take a heli out after a storage time you should plan on retuning the engine. and if you did not store it right plan on cleaning out dried up fuel and rust.

4: there is no air cleaner but the whole heli should be gone over every few flights to check for worn parts and loose bolts. nitro heli's vibrate motor then electric heli's . everything tends to shake loose
tweav is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2009, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

1. Yes, the fuel might be flat by now.