PDA

View Full Version : can I swing 600mm CF blades with the OS37?


phantom1500
03-13-2009, 06:33 PM
In the Hirobo Sceadu Evo running the OS 37 engine, can I also swing 600mm CF blades? I corrently swing 550mm CF blades. Looking at sport flying more than 3d for now.

mydartswinger
03-14-2009, 09:46 AM
I would think that the OS .37 has the power to swing the 600mm blades. I would be cautious of swinging the 600s on a 30 size heli. You may run into clearance issues with the tail rotor. 600mm blades are usually used on 50 sized birds. Look into using the tail boom and belt from a Sceadu EVO 50 to provide the extra clearance. I'm not positive that it would fit, just throwing it out there as something to look into if you really want to go that far to use the 600mm blades.

Be interesting to find out, though. Keep us posted on the results.

VinceY
03-14-2009, 10:32 AM
The boom is the same length on the 30 and 50. When you upgrade to the 50 the only thing that changes is the motor mount,muffler, clutch bell-pinion.

phantom1500
03-14-2009, 05:49 PM
I was more concerned about the engine in relation to blades, all I have left to do is get a 50 engine and the hub, clutch bell and motor mount...the muffler from Hirobo is the same on 30 and 50, it jusst says to remove the baffle.

tater312
03-21-2009, 12:55 PM
I did it with the os 32 and it worked fine or non 3d, increased throttle curves a little. Get rid of stock muffler it robs alot of the power. revolution makes a decent pipe for around 35-40 dollars. or convert to 50, heliproz offers a conversion kit w/ motor mount, clutch bell,and muffler for around 70-80 dollars. you will also need a clutch also.

phantom1500
03-22-2009, 12:41 AM
yeh, saw the Heliproz kit, the muffler is the exact same one that is fitted to the 30, so it's just the new clutch bell, hub and engine mount. I am saving for that stuff now but I want to get new blades so instead of buying new 550 cf I will spend it on 600 cf instead and contimue flying as is for now till more funds are made ready....or thats the plan anyway.

tater312
03-23-2009, 11:27 AM
you will need a new clutch also when you order the clutch bell. because the original clutch will be expanded and your head will turn on idle.

Andy Thomas
04-01-2009, 11:11 PM
I am building the exact same setup, numerous flyers have told me the 37 will swing 600's.

richardshakan
04-11-2009, 11:25 AM
The 37 has plenty of power to swing them. 550's work just as well + they are usually a few bucks cheaper.

phantom1500
04-16-2009, 09:29 AM
cool...I have to go back to my old woodies as I trashed the heli on the weekend, got too far out and lost sight of the tail and down she went. $51 bucks and she will fly again. New blades now on hold again.

Why do I never break the cheap blades?