PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal behavior

hal3146
05-07-2009, 08:07 PM
I am new to CP helis. Have had my blade for almost a week. Thanks to this board finally figured out how to switch the gyro between rate mode and heading hold.

So I set the gain to about 30% for rate and 65% for HH mode. With the heli in rate mode set it down spin it up and the tail want to spin around. Adjust the trim to compensate for it. No problem. So I get it off the ground and switch to HH mode and the heli spins the other way.

So basically it seems that the trim would need to be set differently for each gyro mode. Is this normal? Is there some way to adjust the trim separately for each gyro mode?

The electronics are all stock blade 400.

Thanks

edgee400
05-07-2009, 08:12 PM
From what ive read here is that you trim it mechanicaly in rate mode meaning twisting the links till you get her still in rate mode. Then when you switch to hh mode your supposed to trim it out with t5he trims . Some told me use the subtrims in hh others have told me use reg trims on hh mode. Some one will clear this up but with all that info i still have the same thing like yours . spins one way in rate opposite in hh and i have to trim for each.
ed

xspare
05-07-2009, 08:42 PM
Make sure to zero the TX sub-trim.
Let the heli sit outside for a while and come to a stable temperature.
Take off and use standard trim to stop the tail from spinning in a rate-mode hover.
Land and replace the TX trim with mechanical trim.

It should work fine now in rate mode or hh mode, but may require a few clicks of TX trim to zero out the tail drift.

Wolfpackin
05-07-2009, 09:55 PM
From what ive read here is that you trim it mechanicaly in rate mode meaning twisting the links till you get her still in rate mode. Then when you switch to hh mode your supposed to trim it out with t5he trims .

Short and sweet. +1

hal3146
05-08-2009, 06:28 AM
Thanks guys will try this tonight if it does not rain.

macel
05-08-2009, 06:49 AM