PDA

View Full Version : Wire Management (can they be shortened?)


nexgen
05-29-2009, 01:28 AM
I am a soon to be Spartan owner (it's on the way!!). I will be installing it in my Gaui 200. To save weight, and make for a cleaner install, it'd be nice if the wires could be shorter. We have all seen many posts where folks shorten servo wires with no adverse effects to performance. I have also seen posts where folks have shortened the wires on other gyros, but have not heard if there are any adverse effects from doing that.

What (if any) would be the drawbacks, aside from voiding the warranty, of shortening the wires?

Is there a way I could send it back to Spartan RC to have them shortened there?


For others that have one in there Gaui 200, how/where are you mounting it, and managing the wiring?

nexgen
05-29-2009, 11:02 PM
came to my senses and decided not to mess with the wires.

any advice from G200 owners on a good mounting location?

duceduc
06-03-2009, 03:54 AM
Would this void the warranty??

povern
06-03-2009, 06:42 AM
nexgen,

I have shortened wires on my 401 with no issues. I used a crimper and shortened from the plug end. Makes the wiring look clean and neat.

You can also shorten them from the gyro side, (finless recommended this) but it will void the warranty, and you need to be good at soldering, I'm not.

If you need to borrow my crimper, give me a yell.

povern

Airscrew
06-04-2009, 02:42 AM
Wouldn't it be nice if the ds760 had an option for cable length? That extra chunk of cable on a small heli kind of kills the clean install look....

nexgen
06-04-2009, 02:47 PM
I mounted the Gyro right where I had my G401b, on the front motor mount. This gave me a spot to tuck the wires out of the way. :thumbup:
Still would be nice to save that weight tho.

http://i452.photobucket.com/albums/qq250/RCnexgen/Gaui%20200/IMG_7160.jpg
http://i452.photobucket.com/albums/qq250/RCnexgen/Gaui%20200/IMG_7161.jpg

02deuce
06-05-2009, 03:44 AM
I have shortened wire on servos, gyros, FBL sensors, motors and Lipos without any issues. If you have the right tools its a piece of cake. Here is the link to show what the Spartan harness looks like exposed, its very easy to shorten.
Shortening Gyro Wires - HeliFreak

cation3
06-05-2009, 10:21 AM
Screw it. Shorten the wires if you want to. I did on my T-Rex 600 NSP. Nitro, as in high vibration. I cut and soldered the wires, I did not re-pin them. Yes, this does create an extra (multiples) failure point, but 344 flights strong and counting with no issues....

http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/36648/2161701610101695256S600x600Q85.jpg

-Drew

JJ101
06-10-2009, 12:50 AM
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/36648/2161701610101695256S600x600Q85.jpg

-Drew



Hey Drew, love the braided servo wire covers :thumbup: - where could I get some for my new T600esp? - thanks -





JJ :)

ken22golf
06-23-2009, 08:02 PM
I shortened mine for my 450 Pro. I used a crimping tool. The cable is now the same length as the cable on the GP750 and it looks professionally done. I took my time with the crimping, and I have no worries about connection problems. I've always hated trying to stuff a foot and a half of gyro cable somewhere on my 450-sized helis. I wish I would've taken a picture before I installed it.