PDA

View Full Version : 700 elec conversion scorpion 500 or 560kv ??


HeLiJerSey
06-06-2009, 11:38 PM
i bought the scorpion hk 4035-500 i called a few people and i dont do hard 3D now is the 500 kv motor perfect for my application. the 560kv might be too aggressive. i see alot of HF`s use the 560kv. should i bring back my motor and get the 560kv instead?:hug: i use a 12s and i have 10s would it make sense to go with 560kv and stick with the 10s?

cbdane
06-06-2009, 11:57 PM
The 500 is great for long flights with good performance. In my flybarless setup, it maxed out at about 2150 on a fresh pack running curves at 100%, 115T maingear, and 11T pinion. While I ran this motor, I adjusted my curves for head speeds that dropped from 1950 to about 1800 over an 8 minute flight. Unless you're looking for mind warping head speeds of over 2200 (you know who you are GenReaper :thumbup:), this motor is fine.

I've now replaced this motor with the Pyro 30-12 (more efficient, doesn't get so hot) and I govern at 1850 (idle 1) and 1950 (idle 2).

Hope that this is helpful. Have you decided to keep the electric kit?

HeLiJerSey
06-07-2009, 12:56 AM
yes that was helpful. the 500 kv will give me a better run time it seems which is what im looking for being i just do normal flights nothing crazy. as far as keeping my kit nobody wants to buy it. i would say i possibly will keep it but not build it until my mind is made up.

GenReaper
06-07-2009, 03:07 AM
Either is fine but if you intend to load it up the 560 is a better option with pinion size and more mesh contact with the gear which = less main gear stripping.

HeLiJerSey
06-07-2009, 07:22 AM
Either is fine but if you intend to load it up the 560 is a better option with pinion size and more mesh contact with the gear which = less main gear stripping.

what does that mean if i load the heli up? does it mean if i use it hard?
now the 500kv, how will i strip the main gear more if using 500kv oppose to 560kv?

GenReaper
06-07-2009, 07:29 AM
Yes i mean if you fly it hard.

Because you will need to run a pinion with lower tooth count on a 500KV hence lees tooth contact area, more strain on the main gear.

stevehonn
06-07-2009, 11:04 AM
Yes i mean if you fly it hard.

Because you will need to run a pinion with lower tooth count on a 500KV hence lees tooth contact area, more strain on the main gear.

Surely that's the wrong way around, for the same cell count and head speed, a higher kv motor will need a smaller pinion than a lower kv motor?

HeLiJerSey
06-07-2009, 11:53 AM
im confused...i just need to know what is the difference from a 500 and 560kv motor its only 60kv`s difference. does it have to do with cell counts. when you get a higher kv motor will need 10s per say oppose to 500kv 12s being motor have morepower or possibly compansate???? im confused. thanks guys

also at normal mode what headspeed should i be looking at normal idle1 idle 2 ???

cbdane
06-07-2009, 04:03 PM
Yes i mean if you fly it hard.

Because you will need to run a pinion with lower tooth count on a 500KV hence lees tooth contact area, more strain on the main gear.

Lower KV means you need a larger pinion for the same head speed. That's why I originally chose the 500 since the M1.0 gear set wasn't available yet.

cbdane
06-07-2009, 04:04 PM
im confused...i just need to know what is the difference from a 500 and 560kv motor its only 60kv`s difference. does it have to do with cell counts. when you get a higher kv motor will need 10s per say oppose to 500kv 12s being motor have morepower or possibly compansate???? im confused. thanks guys

also at normal mode what headspeed should i be looking at normal idle1 idle 2 ???

There's a recent thread in the T700 forum on head speed. Lot's of opinions but the most common range was 1850-1950.

cbdane
06-07-2009, 04:07 PM
Yes i mean if you fly it hard.

Because you will need to run a pinion with lower tooth count on a 500KV hence lees tooth contact area, more strain on the main gear.

Must be reversed in the southern hemisphere? ;)

BTW: All in good fun Reaper! :P

npap
06-07-2009, 05:18 PM
Hey

I have a T700E on the way with ray nemovi kit.
With ray nemovi kit you can use the clutch gear of the nitro because there is an adaptator to mount it on electric motor shaft, so you can use the 20 T standard pinion!!!! WOW but I think you will have too many RPM for sure
But...
Concidering that, I wonder which one is the best: Scorpion 500 or 560 kv?
I would like to have a T700E with great power for 3D flight, could you give me an hand for choosing?

Regards

norbert

helibrick
06-07-2009, 08:50 PM
There's a recent thread in the T700 forum on head speed. Lot's of opinions but the most common range was 1850-1950.

That's for those low power nitro setups. If you have power to burn, what's wrong with 2200rpm?

HeLiJerSey
06-07-2009, 09:05 PM
CBDANE im just a normal flyer can you just tell me if the 500kv w/ 14 and 15T is good enough for me to do normal flights i would sport flying? thanks

GenReaper
06-07-2009, 11:45 PM
Must be reversed in the southern hemisphere? ;)

BTW: All in good fun Reaper! :P

I always wondered why the water spins the other way, hehe.

Yeah mate all in good fun, your right, i am a clutz.

Either way using the more teeth you can on the pinion is always better for main gear stress and not breaking.

If hes not a stick banger he should be fine anyway.

HeLiJerSey
06-08-2009, 12:10 AM
I always wondered why the water spins the other way, hehe.

Yeah mate all in good fun, your right, i am a clutz.

Either way using the more teeth you can on the pinion is always better for main gear stress and not breaking.

If hes not a stick banger he should be fine anyway.


im not a stick banger i cant even do figure 8`s right...lol

5exi
06-08-2009, 03:19 PM
Hi HeLiJerSey

You'll be fine with a 500KV motor with a 15 pinion.

Thats what i'm running on my T700 12S with a flat curve of 90%

My flight times are 10mins putting 3000 back into each 5350 pack :clappp

Hope it helps

Paul

HeLiJerSey
06-08-2009, 03:29 PM
Hi HeLiJerSey

You'll be fine with a 500KV motor with a 15 pinion.

Thats what i'm running on my T700 12S with a flat curve of 90%

My flight times are 10mins putting 3000 back into each 5350 pack :clappp

Hope it helps

Paul


niceeee.. i might just keep my 700 E and just buy like 6 6s 5350 packs
what brand do you use??? i will buy them today.
thats more than what i need im happy flying for 8 min hovering...

5exi
06-08-2009, 05:32 PM
I've just gone and put a order in for 4 of these see below. for the money i had too 200 uk pounds posted:)

Have a look at this thread http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=143443

The other packs are FLIGHTPOWER EVOLITE-5350 6S which work really well on the 700E but i only have 3 packs = one flight.????? 700 need 12S

This is ok when you have just a 600 but not good when your running both. :arggg:

One thing is you will have to remember is if you only going to be hovering you going to pull alot more out of the packs.:confused: