PDA

View Full Version : Couple more questions

jshultz78
06-16-2009, 11:54 PM
I've got a couple more questions for you guys. After my little incident with the "new revised for beginners" settings that horizon hobby had, (heli would lift off at about 80-85% or so throttle) I went back to the oem settings, it lifts off alot easier, but the right stick is too sensitive for me right now, I barely touch it and it shoots off one direction and I have to wrangle it back to where I was. Which settings do I need to change on the dx6i to tone down the right stick, Leaving the throttle and yaw alone? Also, What's the lowest I can set my throttle settings to before it starts hurting the esc? I want to lower the headspeed as much as I can while I'm still learning.
After I tore it down, lubed everything, and got the right tension in the belt, the boom still gets warm, but not near as warm as it did before, it's where I can live with it, But the battery gets very warm, almost hot just hovering. Even with the canopy off it gets very warm, is that going to be normal? Does it take more power to hover than FF?

blindpilot
06-17-2009, 12:14 AM
the battery is going to get a lil hot but you should still be able to hold it yes it takes more power to hover than ff so its gonna heat up and I woukd not drop the head speed till I could hover good the tail dosent hold as good but if you do wanna drop it do it in the pitch curve posion 3 and 4 drop it about 8 points or set it at +3 at mid stick hope this helps

fast400
06-17-2009, 12:16 AM
the horizon settings are ment to burn up your esc and motor, this is how they make their money.
add expo to the aile, elev, and rudd channels. say 20% this will deaden the center most point of the sticks.
throttle curves, 0, 45, 65, 85, 100
pitch curves, 25, 45, 65, 85, 100
this will give your esc a better chance at a long healthy life.
you have done the 0 pitch at half throttle with the pitch curves set at 0,25,50,75,100.

mvert
06-17-2009, 12:16 AM