PDA

View Full Version : Vbar Velocity


derelict
09-14-2009, 05:26 PM
Hi All

This is my vbar'ed Velocity 50 including the config file and some pictures

Please be aware... that i haven't flown it YET with these settings!

Maybe it's of use for anyone.

some other pictures here: http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=1544247&postcount=39

setup:
- vbar 4.0
- jr8717 on cyclic (6.8V regulated)
- scottgray reactorX regulator
- western robotics lipo monitor
- jr8900 on tail
- novarossi 57 engine and pipe
- futaba 9257 on throttle
- multigov pro
- switchglo
- rotortech 610 blades
- radix tail blades
- outrage flybarless head
- futaba 6008 receiver

Cheers

Marcel

derelict
09-15-2009, 04:44 PM
I've got the TX matching wrong... and therefore the swashsetup.

here is the updated config.... i'll post another version... once maiden flights and engine breakin are finished.... and everything is dialed in.

cheers

marcel

watso
09-16-2009, 09:15 PM
how is the flybarless working on the velo?

derelict
09-17-2009, 02:36 AM
lol.... if you could see the weather in switzerland for the past few days... you wouldn't ask that :-)

I did not have the chance to maiden it yet... due to rainy weather :-(

I'll let you know... and post the updated config files!

Marcel

supa koopa
09-26-2009, 12:46 PM
Hi Derelict,

how the hell did you manage to get 0 degree pitch at mid stick? The rods that came in my 575-9 kit are just too long. I've screwed the links all the way in, in fact too far on two of them, and I still have 3 degrees of pitch. If I drop the swash to 0 degrees the swash fouls on the collar. I have the balls all the way out on the blade grip arms and the head block on the bottom hole to the head is at it's highest. I lost count how many hours I've spent trying to sort this out. I may end up trimming the rods to get it to work.....!

Can anyone help a stressed out individual?

supa koopa
09-26-2009, 12:53 PM
Well I think I've just answered my own question. After looking on helidirect it states they should be 61mm, well mine are 72mm and do not look anything like the attached image. That puts an end to me flying it this weekend. Now I am annoyed...!

manos
09-26-2009, 08:45 PM
http://www.helidirect.com/r50n901ss-outrage-linkage-rod-set-head-assembly-velocity-p-13989.hdx

they got 72mm also

Foxden
09-26-2009, 09:45 PM
Well I think I've just answered my own question. After looking on helidirect it states they should be 61mm, well mine are 72mm and do not look anything like the attached image. That puts an end to me flying it this weekend. Now I am annoyed...!


Try part # R50N575-9 the description say this


2 x M2x61mm Linkage Rod
4 x Plastic Ball Linkage

ChrisH
09-26-2009, 10:18 PM
Nice work! What radio is that?

derelict
09-27-2009, 11:38 AM
ok.... maiden flight done today.... the novarossi glowplug almost got me in thinking that the engine is running to rich so i leaned it out until the motor got too hot during breakin.

The problem i had with the glowplug was, that the engine just died suddenly on hovering throttle.... replaced it with an enya 3 and all is fine.

well... after motor breakin... and a short trim flight, all i can say is:

WOW!.... massive power.... stable flight.. fast and precise cyclic.

So my (second) setup i've posted worked out fine.... i might increase the rudder gain a bit.

@trexflyer02: it's a futaba 12fg

Greets

Marcel

supa koopa
09-27-2009, 05:14 PM
Foxden - that is the part number I bought and it had 72mm rods instead of the correct ones. In the end I had to cut the links down to get 0 degrees. I'm off to the lhs tomorrow to try and get some more correctly sized links.

I maidened my today also. Everything seemed pretty good apart from the damn wind which put a real downer on everything. I do have to say I was very nervous before the first lift off, but the vbar performed flawlessly.

Foxden
09-27-2009, 05:19 PM
Hmm, Call HD and let them know that the link size was wrong as they were made specifically for the FBL head

ChrisH
09-27-2009, 11:29 PM
@trexflyer02: it's a futaba 12fg
Ah, ok, cool. Looked like the new 8ch ... :)

beans07
03-30-2010, 09:10 AM
Just starting my conversion to vbar.

Which hole did you use on the main grips? Looks like the middle one?

desert_flyer
03-31-2010, 12:03 AM
Make sure that your sensor connector is secured with hotglue and it helps to add a dummy connector below to provide additional support...