PDA

View Full Version : Pro torque tube on an SE


slcrcflyer
10-13-2009, 02:59 PM
Hey all has ayone tried installing the torque tube from the new pro kit on an older SE kit? I want to do it but I'm afraid the mod will change the length of the boom

seanh
10-13-2009, 03:22 PM
I've heard of it being done on the v2 450's. I don't know of the standard v1. Boom length? would it matter?

TomRex
10-13-2009, 06:23 PM
The SE V3 tail boom mount is drilled different than the Pro's bolt pattern also, I think the gears and boom are the same possibly. I saw different mounts listed lately.

Winfred
10-13-2009, 06:54 PM
The pro TT is a bit different. Why not go for the V3 TT upgrade. It's made for the 450 S/GF/SE/SEV2. Do not confuse the Pro with V3. The term V3 is used for the latest option parts for the V2.

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product_info.php?cPath=22_72_78&products_id=2726

Bob O
10-13-2009, 07:28 PM
The SE V3 tail boom mount is drilled different than the Pro's bolt pattern also, I think the gears and boom are the same possibly. I saw different mounts listed lately.Correct, the boom blocks are all different between the V3 TT upgrade, Sport, and Pro. Aside from that, the only difference between the parts of the V3 TT upgrade and the Pro, is the drive gear.

slcrcflyer
10-19-2009, 12:46 PM
The pro TT is a bit different. Why not go for the V3 TT upgrade. It's made for the 450 S/GF/SE/SEV2. Do not confuse the Pro with V3. The term V3 is used for the latest option parts for the V2.

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product_info.php?cPath=22_72_78&products_id=2726

oh?? I didn't know there was an upgrade for the V1 I thought people were just using the V2 torque tube

RyuuChi
10-19-2009, 02:45 PM
nah, technically its called the v3 tt upgrade. i know for a fact that that upgrade kit will fit the se as well as the v2 and the sport. also, the booms are the same length. the difference between the pro and the v3 tt is the boom block, counter gear/input shaft and color of the tail case that comes with the kit. when you're looking for parts for this, all of the pro TT parts and booms are the same, but you just have to make sure you get the V3 counter gear/input shaft guy. also, when doing this kit, you should have your elevator(rear) servo on the outside of the frame and sometimes shave the servo horn, otherwise the horn will contact the pyramid gear and cause binding.


on the whole, it's an awesome upgrade, you'll get nearly a full minute more of flight time out of it, as well as consistent sharper tail control. i love mine.

johnnychimpo
10-19-2009, 04:46 PM
Do you have to use the boom in the kit or can you use a carbon boom with the upgrade?

Winfred
10-19-2009, 05:58 PM
Do you have to use the boom in the kit or can you use a carbon boom with the upgrade?

http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=136249&highlight=torque+tube+mod