PDA

View Full Version : How to - 12s T-Rex 600 Setup On A Budget.


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

strokermtr
07-02-2010, 12:27 AM
The motor is definitely not seized as I can turn it by hand. When I tries the Align motor with my ESC I only used one battery 6s. The proposed idea of the ESC not being set for 12s is very possible as I have no idea whY you're referring to. Please explain how to set the ESC for 12s.

strokermtr
07-02-2010, 12:29 AM
Yes. My packs are definitely wired in series.

caralmar
07-02-2010, 12:39 AM
Yes. My packs are definitely wired in series.

Ok, cool, just checking! The ESC doesn't really have a "12s" setting. The only battery section I've found is under the governor settings in the Throttle tab. If you set up your battery info there, it will show up in the settings page when you print the settings from the menu. You can then go back to fixed endpoints and the battery settings are kept. I'm not sure that you need to fill this out if you're running on fixed endpoints.

If the motor isn't seized up and your ESC is good, and your packs are in series and outputting 50v or so freshly charged, then I dunno man, does sound like your motor may be toast. Anyone in your club fly the same motor? Might be a good test to see if it spools up fine with your ESC, just to rule out the ESC... as they're easier to source locally than the motor.

Good luck!

SkinWalk3r
07-02-2010, 03:04 PM
my aileron rolls feel anaemic. I even have the KBdd paddles.

strokermtr
07-03-2010, 03:33 AM
After several calls to Inno8ative (Scorpion Motors) and Castle Creations, my problem has been tied down to the ESC. Their customer service is great. Castle shipped out an ESC to me immediately with return packaging for the bad ESC included. No expense to me at all! Gil at Castle went over all my ESC settings and thoroughly check my ESC over the phone.

meatbob
07-03-2010, 01:12 PM
my aileron rolls feel anaemic. I even have the KBdd paddles.

How much aileron throw do you have (pitch wise?)

SkinWalk3r
07-03-2010, 06:58 PM
How much aileron throw do you have (pitch wise?)
how do I measure it ..I do have a pitch gauge but dont know how to measure the aileron and elevator throw

SkinWalk3r
07-03-2010, 07:34 PM
btw - is 2350 rpm high for my stock Align ESP blades ?:oops: I coult only find the 14t in 6mm

climbing-n-flying
07-03-2010, 07:59 PM
how do I measure it ..I do have a pitch gauge but dont know how to measure the aileron and elevator throw

First line up the main blades in line with the tail boom, then make sure your flybar is 90 degrees to the main shaft. Next you need to be at center stick, then give left or right aliron and use you pitch gage to see how much throw you have( you should be about 6-8 degrees, some use as much as twelve). Then move the main blades 90 degrees to the tail boom so that your flybar is in line with the boom, then check the elevator throw. I hope this helps......

meatbob
07-03-2010, 09:50 PM
btw - is 2350 rpm high for my stock Align ESP blades ?:oops: I coult only find the 14t in 6mm

If you are running 2350 RPM, even 4 degrees of cyclic pitch will spin the heli right around. What are you comparing the roll rate to? A Trex 450? The Trex 600 is larger and suffers from the very real inertia that makes it precise and manageable for me.

I'm running a Revco 13T 6mm pinion from ReadyHeli.

SkinWalk3r
07-04-2010, 09:07 AM
climbing-n-flying (http://www.helifreak.com/member.php?u=66249) - yes it does thank you .

meatbob - yes I was comparing it to my 450 Pro.:YeaBaby: and another guy that flies that 600 with 6s !..maybe I am just being sloppy with management...BTw I mentioned the rpm to make sure I wasnt going past a safe limit.

rubbersoul
07-08-2010, 02:31 AM
Almost done with my 12S build.

There is one little problem. With CC HV85 version 3.2 firmware and VBAR with satellite RX, I cannot set low and high throttle end points with auto-rotation activated on the ESC. Has anyone encountered this problem? What was your solution?

Thank you for your input.

meatbob
07-08-2010, 08:05 AM
If you try to run Auto Rotation Enable, you will need to adjust the subtrim on the throttle channel - here's what I did:

http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?p=2045746

rubbersoul
07-08-2010, 10:07 AM
If you try to run Auto Rotation Enable, you will need to adjust the subtrim on the throttle channel - here's what I did:

http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?p=2045746
When you say throttle subtrim, are you referring to the TX throttle slider trim or the software subtrim?

Thanks.

rubbersoul
07-08-2010, 12:00 PM
I called castle this morning and they are coming out with a firmware update within a week to solve this problem.

meatbob
07-08-2010, 12:01 PM
When you say throttle subtrim, are you referring to the TX throttle slider trim or the software subtrim?

Thanks.

Software subtrim - this is designed to shift the center point of the throttle channel up to give the ESC some room at the bottom of the travel range so that the ARE window has some room.

rubbersoul
07-09-2010, 01:30 AM
12S VBAR maiden tomorrow:)

rbgrn
07-09-2010, 01:51 AM
12S VBAR maiden tomorrow:)

Have fun! Once you get it dialed in, it's pretty much unlimited power.

rubbersoul
07-09-2010, 05:21 PM
Have fun! Once you get it dialed in, it's pretty much unlimited power.
It flew! VBAR needs a little tweaking, but that would be in another forum. Important thing is it flies like it is supposed to. Being accustomed to nitro, I was looking and expecting for smoke and muffler noise from this big bird. Never flew an electric bigger than a 500 before. I will have to get used to the quiet but big size.:thumbup:

rceccleston
07-09-2010, 05:27 PM
It flew! VBAR needs a little tweaking, but that would be in another forum. Important thing is it flies like it is supposed to. Being accustomed to nitro, I was looking and expecting for smoke and muffler noise from this big bird. Never flew an electric bigger than a 500 before. I will have to get used to the quiet but big size.:thumbup:
Well done, enjoy. :thumbup:

brian94066
07-09-2010, 11:27 PM
It flew! VBAR needs a little tweaking, but that would be in another forum. Important thing is it flies like it is supposed to. Being accustomed to nitro, I was looking and expecting for smoke and muffler noise from this big bird. Never flew an electric bigger than a 500 before. I will have to get used to the quiet but big size.:thumbup:

you flew my 6HV before, so how was the power compared to it :YeaBaby:

jacobmarble
07-10-2010, 09:39 PM
Here is my 12s T-Rex 600E flying with the DJI WayPoint system. Look ma, no hands!
Just want to say thanks for this thread!

Scorpion 4025-550, boca bearings, 6mm output shaft
CC ICE HV 80
Turnigy 6s 40C 3000mAh
14T pinion, 1700 RPM, governor with low gain
80% battery capacity consumed after 11 minutes

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=227627

meatbob
07-10-2010, 10:43 PM
Wow - what are you using for dampeners and blades?

Alloybender
07-11-2010, 04:31 AM
Here is my 12s T-Rex 600E flying with the DJI WayPoint system. Look ma, no hands!
Just want to say thanks for this thread!

Scorpion 4025-550, boca bearings, 6mm output shaft
CC ICE HV 80
Turnigy 6s 40C 3000mAh
14T pinion, 1700 RPM, governor with low gain
80% battery capacity consumed after 11 minutes

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=227627

Exactly the same as my setup. Not sure if I would push it to 11 minutes though.:)
It truly makes the 600 come alive! I love showing it to 6s 600 users, they want one straight away!:)

Steve

jacobmarble
07-11-2010, 05:03 PM
Wow - what are you using for dampeners and blades?
Stock blades, I'm not sure if they're CF or what, they're white-with-one-diagonal-black-stripe. It took a lot of trim tape to balance them, but it paid off in low vibration. This is an old, stock, T-Rex 600 E with plastic head and belt-driven plastic tail. The dampers are stock Align, the softer ones (grey?). I got it used and rebuilt everything. At first I thought it was a big mistake, but I think the plastic and belt are good for vibration.

FYI, the camera is just a cheap thing for testing, mounted directly to the frame under the lower battery tray.