PDA

View Full Version : Align 3G - Hot off the press...


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18

raptorheli2
01-18-2010, 07:09 PM
looking for some help folks regarding the subtrim/swash level setup.

the manual states the setup should be done with no subtrim, yet 2 pages later right in the middle of setup it makes mention of subtrim.

at what point can i subtrim my swash?

cheers

steph280
01-18-2010, 07:29 PM
You can use trim/subtrim, but need to go back and redo the DIR setting so it recognizes the "new center."

rollinsr99
01-18-2010, 07:35 PM
are the servos that come with the 700 Le good enought to run this FBL system?

TheBillMan
01-18-2010, 07:55 PM
Thanks again for all your replies concerning servo speed for cyclic… Anyhow, I have another question concerning servo horns for my HiTec HS-6635HB digital servos. Currently I’m using the Align servo horn wheels that I bought for the HiTec’s for my fly-barred T600 NSP machine. Could I still use these same servo horn wheels, or will I need to get some with less throw in them like the ones that come in the Align 3G conversion kit? I believe the ones that come in the kit are spaced at 24.4 mm on the lower hole on the wheels for (Futaba/Align and JR) servos. If not.. Has anybody seen where they can buy these Align servo horn wheels with (24.4 mm) hole spacing made for HiTec servos?? I know the manual says that they are optional!

Thanks,
-Bill

aussiemick
01-18-2010, 08:04 PM
Thanks again for all your replies concerning servo speed for cyclic… Anyhow, I have another question concerning servo horns for my HiTec HS-6635HB digital servos. Currently I’m using the Align servo horn wheels that I bought for the HiTec’s for my fly-barred T600 NSP machine. Could I still use these same servo horn wheels, or will I need to get some with less throw in them like the ones that come in the Align 3G conversion kit? I believe the ones that come in the kit are spaced at 24.4 mm on the lower hole on the wheels for (Futaba/Align and JR) servos. If not.. Has anybody seen where they can buy these Align servo horn wheels with (24.4 mm) hole spacing made for HiTec servos?? I know the manual says that they are optional!

Thanks,
-Bill

QuickUK sell a set of alloy 28mm wheels (http://www.quickuk.eu/products/579/general_parts/servo_arms___wheels/28mm_servo_wheel_-_hitec_h1082.html) with hole spacing of 24mm to suit all the favoured servos.

I don't reckon the 0.4mm will cause any disastrous side effects.

Here they are on my VBar equipped 600N
http://helifreak.com/picture.php?albumid=1876&pictureid=24487

http://helifreak.com/picture.php?albumid=1876&pictureid=24488
Mick

BeenHereB4
01-18-2010, 08:58 PM
Edvard V,

Are you using the Align DS610 servos? If so how are they holding up?

TheBillMan
01-18-2010, 09:03 PM
Great! Thanks aussiemick, I didn't see these ones before under the "General Parts" section on the QuickUK site.

-Bill :YeaBaby:

steph280
01-18-2010, 09:10 PM
are the servos that come with the 700 Le good enought to run this FBL system?

DS610's? Certainly.

Edvard R
01-18-2010, 09:52 PM
Edvard V,

Are you using the Align DS610 servos? If so how are they holding up?

They are perfect for the job - I run them on 7V.

BeenHereB4
01-18-2010, 10:09 PM
Thanks!

Edvard R
01-18-2010, 10:11 PM
Here's the 3G on my Kasama Srimok - should be interesting to give it a whirl...

I used the same setup procedure as on my 700.

http://www.helifreak.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=134856&stc=1&d=1263870517

http://www.helifreak.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=134857&stc=1&d=1263870517

http://www.helifreak.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=134858&stc=1&d=1263870517

Edvard R
01-19-2010, 05:21 AM
Got flights in on both the Srimok and the 500 today.

The 500 flew as expected. Not much drama on this. Hover, roll down the gain a tiny bit, and away it goes.

The Srimok was another story. It somehow seems that the modulation of the cyber head doesn't play nice with the 3G. The heli was crazy stable, but could hardly move. I think I will need to play around some more with the cyclic pitch. Should be an easy fix for the next time out.

lindahl
01-19-2010, 05:32 AM
Here is another manual
http://www.*******************/received-today-align-fl760-3g-flybarless-conversion-kit-for-t-rex-700/#more-7054

I have also printed that as a pdf file and changed picture size and quality to pass the 2mb file limit.

rickn816
01-19-2010, 07:42 AM
Got flights in on both the Srimok and the 500 today.

The 500 flew as expected. Not much drama on this. Hover, roll down the gain a tiny bit, and away it goes.

The Srimok was another story. It somehow seems that the modulation of the cyber head doesn't play nice with the 3G. The heli was crazy stable, but could hardly move. I think I will need to play around some more with the cyclic pitch. Should be an easy fix for the next time out.

I would switch to a "standard" FBL head. Yours has too many links, etc. Keep it simple.

Rick

Primus
01-19-2010, 07:52 AM
Is there anyone using Align FBL with stock servo horns? I see on the FBL unit that they recommend to use ones with another length (24.4)

I have just upgraded mines few months a go to Quick UK ones for Trex 600 & 700, they are quite lightweight comparing with the stock Align, and don't want to switch so soon.
It should be any issue keep using them?

https://www.quickuk.eu/thumb_300_0_L2hvbWUvaHR0cGQvdmhvc3RzL3F1aWNrdWsuZX UvaHR0cGRvY3MvZ2Z4L3VzZXJpbWcvaXByb2Ntc19wcm9kdWN0 LmZpbGVuYW1lLjczNS5qcGVn.jpg

Quick UK also offer servo wheels with 24mm, and 25mm, but no 24.4mm

helicraze
01-19-2010, 04:16 PM
The only thing that Srimok head has is the extra linkage so you can retain the normal spacing on the servo horns etc where as normally when going flybarless you move your balls in.

BeenHereB4
01-19-2010, 05:51 PM
Edvard,

You state that the Align FBL system should be set to 120 degree. How did you obtain that information? I don't see any reference to it in the manual that a few of the guys posted. I'm not discounting what you posted I just wanted to make sure.

Thanks!

aussiemick
01-19-2010, 06:47 PM
BHB4

The Tx must be set the same as if you still have the flybar, ie. 120' for most of the TRex's (there was a mechanical mixed 450 years ago).

The swash mix values in the Tx are what you use to set pitch range, same as with a flybarred heli.

In step 2 of the E.LIM setup is when the 3G learns what type of mixing you are using.

Mick

BeenHereB4
01-19-2010, 07:14 PM
Thanks aussiemick,

That makes sense.

syn90
01-20-2010, 09:29 AM
Oops, sorry guys, wrong forum.

syn90
01-20-2010, 09:30 AM
Sorry guys, got my forums mixed up.

BlackTitanium
01-20-2010, 10:27 AM
Shouldn't that sensor be mounted perpendicular to the main mast, in the same horizontal plane of the main rotors?
You wouldn't mount the tail Gyro that way, why would you mount the Pitch/Roll axis gyro that way?

Edit: Never mind! I just looked at the manual, all 3-axis of the gyro are in the gyro sensor. The other unit is just a control unit.


http://www.helifreak.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=134856&stc=1&d=1263870517

hurricane.br
01-20-2010, 10:31 AM
That is not the sensor, that is the control box.

seemore74
01-20-2010, 12:17 PM
Edvard, i'm curious to know how would one level the swash at hi stick and low stick during setup? I have'nt seen anything about this on Bert's video or seen it documented anywhere :confused:

Primus
01-20-2010, 12:24 PM
You use the servo travel limit. If you had setup the unit before, then you have to start DIR procedure once again.

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/4174/61116175.png