PDA

View Full Version : Help mounting tail servo


maineflyer
01-12-2010, 06:34 AM
Guys,
I am a new heli owner and I am doing my first 450 build and lovin it. Watched all of Bobs videos (Thanks a million Bob!!). But I am having a problem with the tail servo. I have an SE V2 clone and I bought a Hitec 5084MG servo for the tail. The issue I am having is with the mounting of the servo. I know on my planes I would use the grommit and mount it via the wood screw but on the tail of the heli the screw will slide right though the mounting hole w/o grommit. I mounted the 65mgs without grommits and they fit like a charm. I know this is a very basic question but can I use the robber grommit and the brass insert with a longer bolt? Or is there a better/different way to mount it to the metal servo holder?
Thanks
Jeff

Ozz58
01-12-2010, 10:45 AM
I just put a washer on the screws when this happens.
Some do use the rubber and brass insert. I would do the washer thing.

Craig

Bob O
01-12-2010, 10:52 AM
I just put a washer on the screws when this happens.
Some do use the rubber and brass insert. I would do the washer thing.

Craig+1

I mounted mine using the rubber grommets and brass inserts. But in order to get a good and tight squish on the rubber, you have to shorten the brass insert 2mm or so on the end without the flange. This will allow you to tighten the mounting screw more before the insert bottoms out mount. Make sure to use locktite on the servo mounting screws. :)

maineflyer
01-12-2010, 11:44 AM
Thanks guys. I would try to mount it rigid but the hole for the screw is huge. The servo came with some brackets that look like they would work good but they orient the servo in a different direction. I will try the grommits and cut them down some.
Thanks again,
Jeff

Bob O
01-12-2010, 06:03 PM
Jeff,

The hole in the brass insert is definitely big, just use a washer under the servo mounting screw that is the same size or larger than the flange on the insert.

maineflyer
01-12-2010, 08:43 PM
Bob,
I just finished remounting it rigid. I used a couple of washers and a nut to mount the servo. I would twist the tail trying to move it now. ;)
thanks for the help!
Jeff