PDA

View Full Version : Swash leveler still needed for FBL??

Pages : [1] 2

Ice93
01-20-2010, 08:37 PM
Just bit the bullet and got myself a 600 3G Kit yesterday for my T-Rex 600. (My 1st FBL kit, so a bit of a noob here)

I noticed that during setup (DIR) all subtrims and endpoints need to be at 0 and 100/100 respectively.

In my previous flybar setup up, I have been using a swash leveler to get my swash level before adjusting anything. Question is, do I still need to use a swash leveler on the FBL?

From what I can see, my swash is not fully level at midstick and it gets even worse on high and low stick.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated and thank in advance!!

Bob O
01-20-2010, 08:40 PM
That's a good question. I'm looking forward to hearing an answer. :)

Slyster
01-20-2010, 09:16 PM
since the FBL unit is correcting on the fly (pardon the pun) I am thinking swash leveling is pretty much a thing of the past??? I did it anyway since the Mikado allows it.

steph280
01-20-2010, 09:51 PM
yeah I think it's no longer needed as well.

The FBL system will correct the heli based on which way the heli is moving. It doesn't care where the swash is. It will tilt the swash until it senses the heli stopped drifting. That's the beauty of it.

Slyster
01-20-2010, 10:02 PM
Plus with autotuning (again Mikado does that not sure what others do) basically tunes out mechanical imperfections.. and also the optimizers etc.. I assume they all do this sort of thing.

Ice93
01-20-2010, 11:34 PM
Thanks for all the quick reply guys!!! Wow thats good to hear...really make setting up easier then!!

I'm starting to love flybarless!!!

Big Fil
01-21-2010, 01:40 AM
Good mechanical setup is still beneficial to any FBL system. The less the system has to do compensate for mechanical deficiencies the better.

OICU812
01-21-2010, 03:27 AM
Good mechanical setup is still beneficial to any FBL system. The less the system has to do compensate for mechanical deficiencies the better.