PDA

View Full Version : Does someone not have problems with 3G FBL??


Pages : [1] 2

airskipper
02-18-2010, 06:06 AM
I have heard so mutch bad about the 3G!!:--((??

I have mounted one in my 700 nitro ,but not tried it yet!
I have:
trx700LE
os91hz
Rapicon 30%fuel
hatori pipe
reactor x with outrage 3600mah batt
switch glo pro
8717 servoes
8900 tail servo
ds 610 on throttle
fuelmagnet
align 690 blade
Multigov
3G FBL align system!!

do someone have some good to say about it??
I am alittle sceptical to take off or shoud i not be sceptical??

Elgreco
02-18-2010, 06:13 AM
Obviously there are a lot of reports about it but a lot more successful stories. Many have had good results.
I suggest you take it slowly, take the precautionary steps like securing the connectors (maybe some hot glue ?) and maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.

Unless you try, you don't know. I am setting up my first, have another in the box and a 3rd coming.
I rather see myself, than buy into all this. I am however doing the 2 things I mentioned just in case. It seems that these may be the 2 main reasons for what's happening.

My thoughts only ...

aussiemick
02-18-2010, 08:03 AM
I have flown mine on my 600N for two days now, without any issues what so ever. I have watched EdvardR fly his 700 and 500 3G helis without problems of any kind, I have also flown his 500.

No reason for trepitation, fill er up and let it rip. Take the first flight a bit easy till you have the gains sorted, should only take 5 minutes. Then full steam ahead!!

I will be going out the next four days running and I reckon I will get at least 30 more flights on it by the end of the weekend.

For every bad story there are probably hundreds, if not thousands, of good stories.

Mick

heath9069
02-18-2010, 08:35 AM
I was a little worried after installing mine on my Trex 500, but after 5 flights and some fine tuning, I'm loving it.

Flips and rolls are quick, tight and locked in, not to mention the extra power from the reduced drag without the old flybar. On the whole the heli is a lot more nimble so its going to take a little time for me to adjust, but thats half the challenge/fun.

I'm just checking the plugs before every flight, but they seem pretty tight on my unit.

I get the occasion small oscialltion whilst hovering but I'm sure I'll tune it out eventually.

So far so good :)

airskipper
02-18-2010, 08:42 AM
what do you mine elgreco by( maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.)

emilware
02-18-2010, 09:28 AM
I love mine. I got about 12 flights on it , stil lgot some tweaking to do but so far is great.

chosen69
02-18-2010, 10:09 AM
what do you mine elgreco by( maybe powering the other 2 servos also from the rx, and you should be fine.)

He means to power the elevator and pitch servo via the receiver to take the load off the single power wire into the 3G.

http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=1849095&postcount=270

life2short1971
02-18-2010, 10:25 AM
I have a dozen flights on mine and no problems so far other than the tail kicks10 degrees and goes right back once every 5 flights for a split second.

ady
02-18-2010, 11:21 AM
had about 20 flights with my rappy 50 with no problem , slung it in and it flew :)

grahats
02-18-2010, 11:36 AM
10 flights so far on my 500 with no issues at all.

jetblue2135
02-18-2010, 12:32 PM
Just flew mine for the first time on my 700N, only had time for 6 flights but it was awesome. Didnt have to really do much in the way of adjustment, both aileron and elev are set to the 11 o'clock position and the gyro gain (futaba) settled in at 30%. Flies a bit different than the flybarred helis Im use to but man it is fun to fly.....love the extra power!

rubbersoul
02-18-2010, 12:41 PM
never had a problem since day 1 except for a bad crimp job on a single connector. gone thru 4 gallons already on my T700. i did my first lawnmower job on the 3G a few days ago. it hovers inverted wonderfully.

steph280
02-18-2010, 01:03 PM
Have over 40 flights on each of my 3 helis, not one problem since day one. With total of over 120 fligfhts, I think I am fairly confident of their reliability.

ForceFedDSM
02-18-2010, 01:42 PM
Running it in my 250 with no issues, haven't tried my 600 with it yet(snow), and I plan on finishing my 450 sport install tonight. Now I just need the funds to buy the 450 pro model or better yet the 700 3g combo.......anyone looking for a used gp750, and a new spartan quark(clear)?

Jared

CeeveeSiN
02-18-2010, 02:03 PM
I'm scared to even try either of mine again.

and a little jealous that so many people are having good luck with it..
yet noone can explain my issues with 2 units.

tried it with the 2in1 and a lipo.
tried it without a reg and a new 6.6 LiFePo.
sent in 1 unit to RMA. arrives back today.
second unit I'm scared to death to try again.
replaced RX, servos, and power system and afraid to try it again.

:(

Primus
02-18-2010, 02:18 PM
I have 2 units, tried the one on my 500, 5 flights only due to the bad weather, no issues so far.
9 sec hands off hover, no trim. Can't wait to try the 600 LE.

Keep an eye on Align website, they will release the programming interface in a short time...

grahats
02-18-2010, 05:05 PM
I just got back from 4 more flights with the 500. Really like how it tracks doing large fast circuits. Just goes where it is pointed with no ballooning or porpoising. Very much like flying a plane and closer to what the sim feels like. I am not getting any of the strange ocillations or bobbling some reported.

I am using 30c 2200 and 30c 2650 6S packs and flying for 6 minutes. Motor is the Align 500M. My 2200 are coming back at 3.8V per cell after 6 minutes of mixed flying in idle up. Have not measured how much capacity I am actually using. 6 minutes is plenty long for me even though I could go longer with the 2650's.

Anthony Herbert
02-18-2010, 05:16 PM
I've have had the 3g on my 700 now for about 15 flights, and have not had any problems. i got it dialed in in about four flights and i'm loving it! I feel very confident with the unit. As far as the set up goes it very fast and simple to set.

trainwreck
02-18-2010, 09:09 PM
about 9 gallons through mine on the 700 just under 70 flights.. no problems:thumbup:

layinitdown
02-18-2010, 09:30 PM
I don't have any problems at all,,, I sold mine last week and just got in my new VBAR 4.0,,,, :thumbup:

PlasticHead
02-18-2010, 09:55 PM
I'm glad to hear so many good stories, I went ahead and ordered a 3G for my 500. I have always thought flybarless electronics were too expensive but with the 3G if you calculate a GP780 gyro is $178, a typical FBL head for a 500 is about $65, retail for the 500 3G is $380, that means the electronic FBL component is $137. That's a good deal!

PH

Elgreco
02-18-2010, 10:10 PM
How many of you guys with successful stories, are running the 2 in 1 align regulator ?

Trying to decide if I should keep mine, or just use my perfect regulator...

tesa1
02-19-2010, 01:24 AM
18 fligths on my 600E and no problem, but will make the servo mod now for safety's sake

uses Hitec 6965 with aling 6a reg on cyclic

SpoonEK
02-19-2010, 06:06 AM
I always have problem initializing the fbl unit when powering up. About 5 times failure in initializing, i jus went through the setup procedure to get it initialize. This always happen to me. UNSOLVE...

rubbersoul
02-19-2010, 08:10 AM
I always have problem initializing the fbl unit when powering up. About 5 times failure in initializing, i jus went through the setup procedure to get it initialize. This always happen to me. UNSOLVE...
Inspect each and every pin of the sensor cable. It may be a poor crimp job.