Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters

450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Yet another question on swash plate leveling and head links length

Hi,

I own a TREX Sport. Yes I'm a kind of noob. Following a light crash (broken servo horn only), I set up again my head and spent again hours. I leveraged this thread https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=126947

1/ I don't own a swash plate leveling tool. Still, I don't really get its purpose as yes you can level your swash plate with but then you are not sure if the swash plate is at a correct height of the main shaft. How do you know when using a swash leveling tool that you level it as its correct position?
2/ Here is how I set up my head:
a/ After connecting all the fixed length links, I positioned all way down my swash plate, so I'm sure It's level, then I lift it up carefully and positioned it at the height that lined up the washout arm pivot points. This position is the mid travel point of the swash plate along the shaft.
b/ CP stick of my radio at 50%, I connected first the elevator link carefully without moving the swash plate and then the aileron and pitch links.
c/ Then I connected the long links, the ones between the mixing arms and the swash plate ensure I have a 0° pitch.
d/ Then used my pitch gauge to set up the pitch curve -10/0/+10 (idle up 2) and adjust again the length, at mid stick, of the long links, to ensure I have indeed 0°

This is a very very long and painful process (I'm very picky), is there better way to set up this? Manuel length where all wrong for me as I'm not using the de facto servo.
I have in order a TREX 500 ESP and would like to find a better way for it.