PDA

View Full Version : extension on 401 gyro


blakka_1
04-06-2004, 05:50 PM
i have a 401 gyro, and basically the wires coming from the gyro arent long enough to reach my receiver. is it ok to use an extension wire? will it affect my gyro performance in anyway??


plz help :cry:

WillJames
04-06-2004, 06:04 PM
I can't tell you 100% but I have used a short, I think 6" extension with one of my 401's and it worked better than I could fly. :)

HTH,

Hotshot Charlie
04-06-2004, 07:06 PM
I had five 12" extensions in my Ultra Stick plank, no problems. I know heli's are different, but I would think it would work with no problems.

blakka_1
04-06-2004, 08:15 PM
thanx alot guys

ImRich
04-19-2004, 08:43 PM
I'll advise that you be sure to use the newer 'heavy duty' extensions. Don't just pick up any old wire.

Hotshot Charlie
04-19-2004, 10:40 PM
I agree, I used the Heavy Duty Extensions. They were $9.95 at my local hobby store.

Have fun and stay safe !

Clintstone
04-19-2004, 10:45 PM
Futaba says not to but I have done it with Heavy Duty ext. and I was very carefull and used the ext. secure fasteners. It will work but you may loose so voltage but it will work as mine did on my other 90 machine which had the servo on the boom.

Sar
04-20-2004, 12:46 AM
You can also find 'buffered' extensions if your worried about signal loss. They basically include a schmitt trigger(do a google search if you want a detailed explanation). The chip basically takes a noisy or soft-edged signal and puts out a a clean square wave.

There are companies that make multichannel buffers for use in large RC planes where the servo runs are pretty long.

ImRich
04-20-2004, 07:06 AM
Just so you understand why I said 'heavy duty' extensions. It's not 'signal loss' that is the issue here. It's the heavy current draw of the digital servos when it needs to move fast. Lighter wire means more voltage drop due to I2R losses (that's amps squared multiplied by the resistance of the wire).

So signal buffering may help some issues, but it wont fix the voltage drop issue. Also, adding additional connectors makes this worse. So if you want minimal voltage drop, cut off the connector to your servo and one end of the extension and solder the wires together properly.