PDA

View Full Version : Need a new esc !! wich one??


Pages : [1] 2

pugdavey
06-25-2010, 04:37 PM
Right just had my second align esc go pop :arggg:
Got a hyperion 80a but the gov just isnt adjustable..
I'am running a hyperion 880kv motor now and liking it :) but also waiting for the total G come out over here to make it ggoooooo:smokin:

What esc are fitting well, was thinking cc 75 or 100 lite?

alexf1852
06-25-2010, 05:11 PM
You should also consider the YGE 60A which is the new stock ESC that comes with the Protos kits.

terrabit
06-25-2010, 05:25 PM
As a close second to the YGE, consider the ICE series. Mine has worked well for me. I say this after having spent literally thousands on Kontronik ESC's (I've popped a few Align ESC's too.). If you are sticking with 425mm blades the 75A will work. The 100A might be a better fit for the 470mm stretch kit.

pugdavey
06-25-2010, 05:38 PM
Well the YGE isnt in the uk yet. I use the red devils 430mm (like the rotor disc in the air)
Think i might go for the 100lite as it only 10 more :) Iam after a decent gov as it running about 2800 - 3000 on a 13t with the hyperion !!

terrabit
06-25-2010, 05:52 PM
Oh, if you're gonna do the ICE series I would definately opt for the lite version.

pugdavey
06-25-2010, 06:10 PM
Is the lite version upto the job?? or theres the scopion esc but think they have a bad rep?

rablett
06-25-2010, 07:10 PM
I'm running the ICE Lite 75 in mine with a Scorpion 3026-1000 and no problems. Mine is pretty new and am still running the SAB 425 blades but I can't get it to draw over 50a, so plenty of reserve with the 75a ESC. The governor mode has performed flawlessly. So much so that I have converted all 5 of my helis to ICE ESC's.

whisperdancer
06-25-2010, 07:54 PM
Is the lite version upto the job?? or theres the scopion esc but think they have a bad rep?

If you are going to throw your money on a new ESC, buy something on which everybody says good things.
Therefore, the most praised ESC's are the Kontronik, YGE and CC ICE. I also read good things about the JETI SPIN, but they are more focused to the domestic market (but hey, that's how kontronik and now YGE started...).

Melly
06-26-2010, 05:29 PM
I was using Jeti SPIN 66, problems with overheating else the governor is very good...
No problems with CC ICE 75 now, very cool after flight, good governor, nice logger and very good customer support.

pugdavey
06-26-2010, 05:55 PM
Right guys thanks for the replies.
Its going to be a cc100 ice lite or a 75ice but think it will fit as i have the carbon one??
would much appreciate if some one could just guide me to the right one before it click that button :)

Bit-Man
06-26-2010, 06:58 PM
The ICE "LITE" 75 and 100 will both fit fine,,

terrabit
06-26-2010, 11:18 PM
I don't believe the ICE w/heatsink will fit. It would have to be the ICE lite.

markb
06-28-2010, 09:00 PM
Have you guys with the ice lites got data logger numbers for temperature that you could share? If so, please also indicate ambient.

I'm basically planning to get a protos, and really like my ice50 lite, so I'm definitely looking at the 75 or 100 lite. But CC literature says the lites are not for low airflow applications like helis... My 50 has been trouble free, but their application recommendation still makes me nervous.

rablett
06-28-2010, 09:07 PM
I am running an ICE Lite 75 w/ Scorpion 3026-1000 on a 6S 2600. After 8 minutes of aggressive airplane style flying and aerobatics the highest ESC temp I have seen has been 160F. That was on a sunny day with an ambient temp in the very high 80's.

alexf1852
06-28-2010, 11:40 PM
My Jive 60+ LV was running at 65% throttle on 15T (about 2650 rpms) in 94 F ambient. The Jive never got hotter than 135F but the stock Lipotech motor was searing hot at 200 F at the copper wires. I am switching back to 14T and run a higher throttle maybe 80%.

markb
06-29-2010, 08:54 AM
thanks rablett... that's what I wanted to hear.

anyone else looking at the temp figures; be aware that the ICE temperature reporting is from a sensor thats very close to the output transistors. So, it reads higher than you would with a heat gun looking at shrink wrap. My 50 has come down reading 140F, and I could barely feel it was warm on the outside.

popokatepetl
06-29-2010, 09:33 AM
I know Kontronik's JIVE is quite expensive but I think you all look at it from the wrong perspective.

1) How much is you heli in the air?
2) How many times you've crashed just because of malfunctioning electronics?
3) Is everything working 100% after many hours of tweeking it?

Do you still think JIVE is way too expensive? I don't! Just think about it.

On the other hand you just plug it in set the throttle and up to the sky.... everything works just perfect. You don't have to think about timing and such silly stuff :tongue ever...

rablett
06-29-2010, 10:22 AM
I have no experience with the JIVE ESC so I can't express any opinions about them, but the CC ICE is a "no brainer" to set up for a heli and takes just a few minutes with the computer to have it performing perfectly. Governor mode is flawless. Soft start, auto rotation enable, spool up rate are all easily set from the computer and after just a few minutes set up, I have never touched it again other than - did I forget to mention it does data logging? I don't know how anyone can properly set up a heli without it and no need for an Eagle Tree anymore. I have over 100 flights on one of them without ever readjusting it. I never touch it unless I plug it into the computer to have a look at data after chaning blades and so on. With the new Quick Connect I find myself looking at data with more regularity than before.
Roger

wespen
06-29-2010, 10:58 AM
I wouldnt call buying USB dongle and fiddling with settings for 10 flights to get rid of governor wag plug and play.

CC governor is good, but you have to play with settings to get it right.
Logging in new ICE line sure helps.

Kontronik and YGE are just one step above, depends on your credit card limit if its worth it :)

rablett
06-29-2010, 11:10 AM
USB dongle is free, at least here in the USA. Took me exactly 2 flights to get it right, not 10 and haven't touched it since. If it took you 10 flights, I cannot understand why. No wag, no RPM variation. How much more does the Kontronik cost?

popokatepetl
06-29-2010, 11:31 AM
I do like the data logging on CC ICE but I still prefer function against features.

Kontronik is far away from the competitors when you talk about function. YGE is getting closer and the CC ICE is just behind the YGE :)

Kontronik know it and therefore their price is where it is. Bit high but ....

whisperdancer
06-29-2010, 11:47 AM
YGE is between a Jazz and a Jive.
It does have the governor store the Jive also has (mode 11, I believe), which lacks on the Jazz controller.
The Jive has an excelent BEC with selectable voltage.

tcprogrammer
06-29-2010, 12:09 PM
The MSH-branded version of the YGE 60A controller is less than $20 more than the castle creations 75A. If the governor and part-load features work as well as folks here have stated than I think that makes YGE a no-brainer. I think this will be my next choice if my current stock one (MSH-80A) fails.

alexf1852
06-29-2010, 12:47 PM
The MSH-branded version of the YGE 60A controller is less than $20 more than the castle creations 75A. If the governor and part-load features work as well as folks here have stated than I think that makes YGE a no-brainer. I think this will be my next choice if my current stock one (MSH-80A) fails.

This is exactly why I decided to buy the YGE for $119 at Ready Heli. It's going in my 2nd Protos (w/ flybar).

I also bought an Eagle Tree data logger with rpm sensor to test the Jive vs. the YGE. The YGE is pretty small compared to the Jive and stock Lipotech ESC.

whisperdancer
06-29-2010, 01:31 PM
This is exactly why I decided to buy the YGE for $119 at Ready Heli. It's going in my 2nd Protos (w/ flybar).

I also bought an Eagle Tree data logger with rpm sensor to test the Jive vs. the YGE. The YGE is pretty small compared to the Jive and stock Lipotech ESC.

After testing, please post your results.
I will put the 80A on the flybar heli and get a 60A for the flybarless one.