PDA

View Full Version : setting up a heli for f3c

xxxpongxxx
10-24-2010, 10:21 AM
hi there!

can anyone share how they set-up their heli for f3c?
throttle / pitch curves and whatever else i need to know?

thanks!

The Dude II
11-06-2010, 06:32 AM
Here's a list to get you started - each topic can be as deep a rabbit hole as you'd like.
I'm new to this part of the hobby, my first NATS was this summer - thought I had my setup "down" and just lacked practice - hindsight, still fine tuning things this week. I look at it as having ~ another 42 weeks of practice & more fine tuning!

CG
Typically a Contest model will have a neutral CG, balances on Main Shaft at take-off.
First maneuvers are Hovering - so the Heli should be as neutral as possible to help combat possible wind.
If Nitro, as your fuel buns off, it is usually preferred to have a further increasing nose-heavy model - as the "upstairs" portion of the aerobatics is largely in forward flight, certainly in Class 1 here in the US.
As your skills advance and you move higher in the Classes (2, 3 & F3C) - there is increasing backwards flight.
Electrics surely have an advantage here... as CG does not change as the electrons switch sides of the battery.

Pitch Curves
In General, for the Hovering portion, a Contest Model will have a relatively limited range as compared to a 3D setup...-3 to +8.
Depending on your personal preferences, you may choose to also have the Heli hovering at Center Stick - gives more resolution by increasing the stick travel form say 0 to 8 degrees.

Upstairs (aka Idle 1 or 2), a symmetrical pitch setup can be used - say +/- 10.

Throttle Curves
Though you certainly CAN fly using no governor...most of us still burning nitro run a governor. The crux of the game is consistency.
A rotorhead varying a few 10's of RPM will increase your pilot workload. Now - it's not just "easy-peasy, set & forget" with a gov. You'll be searching for that RPM (sweet spot) that yields the best hover.