PDA

View Full Version : power or watt formula

needlenoses
01-21-2011, 09:18 PM
I am about to replace the 6-pole motor in my aging Stryker F27C; the old motor was 1850kv 11 volt; the replacement is 2000kv (not a big difference; should I use my existing 25amp speed controller, or use a 33.3amp controller sitting in a drawer,; and batteries; I was using a 2600ma 20C, have used an 1850ma 20C when running low on batteries; but I also have a 2600ma 30C. I just don't know how to figure out what is good, and bad. I have another flyer with a Watt meter, but I wouldn't know a good reading or a bad reading; there must be a relatively easy way of figuring this out. I won't be in the air again until next week, but would apreciate any help. Waiting for new motor mount. I have four iarcraft flying, but I always go back to the stryker for just pure high speed fun. TKS.

marcoeldragon
01-22-2011, 07:57 AM
I'm still pretty new at this plank game but huge amounts of info at http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/index.php and at http://www.rcuniverse.com/ . What I can tell you is this, the 30c battery and new motor will most likely fry that 25 amp controller especially if you use a decent sized prop with a lot of pitch say a 6x4 or 6x5.5. The c rating on the battery is how many amps it can supply steady. You might get by with it for a while if you only use full power for a few seconds at a time. The current cold weather would help the controller survive a bit longer too. My Stryker is an EDF, and I have a 30 amp el cheepo ESC and only use 20c batteries in it. I have 25 or so flights and no problems the ESC, motor and batteries are barely warm after a flight. So yes use the 33 amp if it is just lying around or stay away from the 30 c batteries. Hope this helps.

the collective
01-22-2011, 08:49 AM
The Kv rating of the motor has essentially NOTHING to do with the speed control requirement. You can't determine amp draw from Kv.