PDA

View Full Version : Transmitters


Pages : [1] 2

Pfloyd
02-07-2011, 07:35 PM
Will the LP5DSM work with this heli?

SYMAWD
02-07-2011, 07:46 PM
All DSM2 TXs will bind with it, but you wouldn't have Idle Up/ Throttle hold with the LP5DSM or DX5e (but HH recommends it?) A DX4e, DX6i ,or higher is what I would recommend.

Maverick YOW
02-07-2011, 07:49 PM
Not supported; minimum is the new four channel and DX5e upwards...

Pfloyd
02-07-2011, 08:07 PM
Isn't the DX5e about the same as the LP5DSM?

SYMAWD
02-07-2011, 08:19 PM
Isn't the DX5e about the same as the LP5DSM?

I'm pretty sure you can get Idle Up with the DX5e. Technically an MLP4DSM will work, but what's the point if you don't have IU or TH? Just get the RTF or get a DX6i or higher so you can bind all of your DSM2 ultra micros to it:thumbup:

toys2cars2toys
02-08-2011, 03:12 PM
According to the manual you do get IU and TH with both the 4E and 5E

You bind the heli in a different way when using the non computer TX's
The throttle channel controls both motor and pitch, using pre-programmed (onboard) throttle and pitch curves

From what I can make out the fifth channel Hi/lo switches between Normal and IU modes
Even the DX4E has IU mode so it must have a fifth channel

Somehow the trainer switch is used to give TH mode and there is a reset procedure as it is a non latching switch

My guess is that as the LP5DSM has the same channels and switches then it may well work but to switch to IU, you would have to rotate the 5th channel dial..not sure about TH being the same but it should be


If using a computer TX, regular "big" heli pitch and throttle curves are programmed into the TX

Pfloyd
02-08-2011, 09:15 PM
Doesnt the LP5DSM have a fifth channel? The rotating knob on top? Also, I know TH is throttle hold, what is IU?

PittJitsu
02-08-2011, 09:19 PM
Doesnt the LP5DSM have a fifth channel? The rotating knob on top? Also, I know TH is throttle hold, what is IU?
Idle Up= IU

Mojappa
02-08-2011, 09:22 PM
Idle Up/ Stunt Mode- Usually 100% throttle throughout the entire stick range (flat throttle curve) and the collective stick is only changing the pitch of the blades. Pitch range is generally -10/0/10 give or take a couple of degrees. This is why chopping the throttle is a bad habit when moving up to CP's, it may save the MSR but it will only slam a CP heli harder.

dezrat27
02-08-2011, 10:15 PM
I'm excited about the new bird as I see many are, went ahead and programed by dx6i settings from the manual just now. My question is why is it running the swash setting at 1 servo 90 d. instead of 120 d. 3 servo like My SR? Just guessing but is it the FBL system? Whats up with not having trim? wierd

Mojappa
02-08-2011, 10:21 PM
The normal swash mixing is done in the 5-1 with this. Kinda bummed about that, it would be nice to be able to set min/max pitch and swash throw to my liking. I'll reserve judgement about the chosen preprogrammed settings for when I've flown one.

SYMAWD
02-08-2011, 10:22 PM
I'm excited about the new bird as I see many are, went ahead and programed by dx6i settings from the manual just now. My question is why is it running the swash setting at 1 servo 90 d. instead of 120 d. 3 servo like My SR? Just guessing but is it the FBL system? Whats up with not having trim? wierd

The swash mixing is all handled by the board, hence the 1 servo setting.

SYMAWD
02-08-2011, 10:26 PM
The normal swash mixing is done in the 5-1 with this. Kinda bummed about that, it would be nice to be able to set min/max pitch and swash throw to my liking. I'll reserve judgement about the chosen preprogrammed settings for when I've flown one.

They are only calling this a 3 in 1 board. RX, ESCs, and gyros.

Mojappa
02-08-2011, 10:38 PM
:thumbup: the board:)

dezrat27
02-08-2011, 10:46 PM
oh! thanks good responce time guys. so what about the trims not being used?

merlin3
02-09-2011, 01:41 AM
you can use the trims if you need to, to trim out the heli but its normally not needed.

Vinger
02-10-2011, 08:28 AM
you can use the trims if you need to, to trim out the heli but its normally not needed.
No trim on a FBL heli, as the 5(3)-1 unit will see it as an input and the heli will roll or pitch continuously...

merlin3
02-10-2011, 09:48 AM
you can trim it if need be

mediclavina
02-10-2011, 10:02 AM
No trim on a FBL heli, as the 5(3)-1 unit will see it as an input and the heli will roll or pitch continuously...
+1.
On my FBL GAUI 200, I did all the trimming on the SK-720. All transmitter trims are kept on neutral.

Mojappa
02-10-2011, 10:06 AM
you can trim it if need be

Besides knowing the designer and actually flying one, what makes you think you know what you're talking about. I speculate you're wrong.:) hehe

JAG1
02-10-2011, 10:35 AM
According to the manual you do get IU and TH with both the 4E and 5E

You bind the heli in a different way when using the non computer TX's
The throttle channel controls both motor and pitch, using pre-programmed (onboard) throttle and pitch curves

From what I can make out the fifth channel Hi/lo switches between Normal and IU modes
Even the DX4E has IU mode so it must have a fifth channel

Somehow the trainer switch is used to give TH mode and there is a reset procedure as it is a non latching switch

My guess is that as the LP5DSM has the same channels and switches then it may well work but to switch to IU, you would have to rotate the 5th channel dial..not sure about TH being the same but it should be


If using a computer TX, regular "big" heli pitch and throttle curves are programmed into the TX
Where did u see the manual mate?

Mojappa
02-10-2011, 10:40 AM
Horizon's site.

merlin3
02-10-2011, 10:48 AM
Besides knowing the designer and actually flying one, what makes you think you know what you're talking about. I speculate you're wrong.:) hehe

haha, the funny thing is i asked my friend this very same question last week but still no one listens.

Mojappa
02-10-2011, 11:03 AM
Ah, to be human. Reminds me of a joke that would take too long to type out regarding God being a fish.

toys2cars2toys
02-10-2011, 12:39 PM
Where did u see the manual mate?

Here's the link
http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo/Files/BLH3500-Manual_EN.pdf