PDA

View Full Version : Spartan ds760 mounting orientation


n8Leon
02-13-2011, 01:41 AM
I am switching out my JR G770 3D for a Spartan ds760 on my TRex 500,
and am wondering if people mount the gyro so the FlashLink / connectivity port on the gyro is still accessible?
e.g. is everything cool if I mount the gyro sideways in the usual place on the TRex 500 so the port is facing out the back?
or if I mount it so the main cable is going into the heli and the connectivity port is facing the side frame, will I be able to plug in the USB cable over / around the frame?

It sure seems like I will want to be able to access that port in the future (e.g. firmware upgrade, tweaking settings) but I haven't seen anybody with the port facing out the back, and am wondering if there is a reason.

Thanks,
Nate

lankey
02-13-2011, 01:47 AM
That's exactly what I do with my DS760- mount it so that the data port is accessible. If I took a photo the port would be pointing aft on the heli!

Being a single axis gyro, It doesn't matter which orientation you mount it, as long as it's square to the main shaft.

snjbird
02-13-2011, 07:23 AM
+1

That's how I have all of my 760s:thumbup:

http://www.helifreak.com/picture.php?albumid=4612&pictureid=35989

n8Leon
02-13-2011, 03:44 PM
Cool, thanks for the re-assurance, that's how I'll do it. :thumbup:

I think the trick will be to keep the main cable from hitting the frame right where it goes into the gyro, as the manual says to "not fix the cable to the helicopter for the first 2 inches from the gyro end to reduce transmission of vibrations through the cable."

Thanks,
n8

snjbird
02-13-2011, 07:02 PM
http://www.helifreak.com/picture.php?albumid=6401&pictureid=51015
I added a bit of Hot glue to keep it off the edge of the frame... I did sand my frames before I built the heli, but better safe than sorry!

maraispc
02-14-2011, 05:22 AM
As an alternative:

I mounted the DS760 on the bottom plate with the wires exiting the frame towards the rear. The dataport is accesible through the rear frame cutout on the RHS. The wires are passed under the bottom plate (the length of loop before the wires are tied to the bottom plate under the landing gear is 5cm). With this arrangement I have nothing mounted on the boom block, Rx on upper tray. Gyro on bottom plate. ESC under battery tray.

Not necessarily better, but an alternative.

DonDuc
02-14-2011, 08:28 AM
+1 on the wires exiting to the rear and looping forward. Keeps them clear of any parts that could transmit vibration.
I put the gyro below the (Tarot aluminum) receiver tray with the data port facing left. (Rx sitting on the bottom plate)
Alternatively, if you find you want to mount the gyro with the data port inacessable, you could run a short servo extension to some place easier accessed.

n8Leon
02-14-2011, 09:51 PM
Those are all good ideas...
I considered the bottom plate, but rotated w/ the data port to the back which would have pushed the harness against the frame so I dismissed it. I didn't think about lining up the data port w/ an existing frame cut out.
I also never thought of the servo extension, which is kinda' funny, cuz sometimes I do that for the Rx bind port so I don't have to pull it out of the model to rebind.

In the end, I realized I could keep the data port accessible if I kept it right on the rear of the boom block with the extra height from the foam tape. Of course, I'll have to redo it every time I change the belt so the bottom plate is better in that regard. Guess I'll move it there with a servo extension wire after my next crash. ;-)

For posterity here are a few pics:

DonDuc
02-15-2011, 02:00 AM
I found that the boom block transmits quite a bit of vibes of the TT but since you have a belt, that might not be a problem and the Spartan is not too sensitive anyway.

Here is my setup. To the left there are the access ports, one to the CC quick link and a second short extension to power the reciever with a Rx pack for setup.

The data port of the Spartan is under the velcro strap which can be shifted back a bit to access the port.
The wire bundle on top of the tray is the excess wiring of the gyro so that only two short leads run to the Rx on the bottom tray.

FWIW...

gfdimopo
02-15-2011, 02:26 AM
sorry for my question....

I have seen many people use a net for the wires (as the picture above). Where can found this net?

DonDuc
02-15-2011, 07:31 AM
I got this from Hobbyking (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=9551) (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=9551))

but you can get it from many different places either online (e.g. http://www.wirecare.com/) or you may be able to source it locally from a car audio specialist.

gfdimopo
02-16-2011, 12:45 AM
Nice....Thank you for the information!

ualdrivr
02-16-2011, 03:09 PM
I always had my Spartan and the RX on a Rick Lohr's tray. It works great.

Here is a recent pic:

208627

208628