PDA

View Full Version : Stator Gator - 701 Update


carey shurley
02-23-2011, 07:31 PM
For you Stator Gator fans, I have a couple of updates in regards to using them with the Futaba GY701

if you have an existing stator gator, you will need a voltage jumper to make it work with the 701. Its a separate part available soon from Stator Gator.

there is a new version of SG that will work with the 701 without the jumper

http://helifreak.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=210312&stc=1&d=1298507240

whats shown here is the sensor for use with the RC motor. Its also available with a removeable plug end so you can remove the motor without removing the entire stator gator from your model. Contact stator gator for more info.

Deadeye
02-24-2011, 08:01 PM
Not knowing any better, I put and old style gator in my HB7 connected to 701 and it appears to work fine once I reversed the leads. Is there a chance mine crap out without the "converter"? So far it's worked very well with no issues. The 701 reports 98% SNR. Thats better then then I ever got with the hall effect transducer.

ocr231
02-24-2011, 08:21 PM
If it works your ok.You only need the converter if it don't work.There is no reason it should crap out.

carey shurley
02-24-2011, 09:54 PM
yup, if it works, then it works

kcflier
02-24-2011, 11:44 PM
Just wanted to claify a few things, there are not plans to include a "jumper plug" wire on any of the standard statorgators that we sell. That was done special order for Carey since he works on so many engine/gov combos he needed that, but the regular gators we sell will not have that option.

IF someone wanted that option of a removable plug specially made for them, then we could do it, but there will be an extra charge for it.

We hope to have a new stator gator design that will work with differant govenors besides the GV-1 and 701 released by this spring, but we will still have the standard PUH, RC, and Ei gators available at the current pricing. We will offer the "Y" adaptor converter for SGs that do not work with the 701 that will allow it to work with the 701. There is a certain amount of power required to make the SG work properly with the 701, the 701s are more regulated the the GV-1 was, meaning there is less output for the stator gator to use. It is such a fine line of power output from the 701 that some gators will work and some will need a "Y" connector to get power from the reciever. As was stated earlier, some will work just fine without the "Y" connector, and some will require it.

The new design SG when released will cost more as it will cost more to make. It will be designed to work with all the differant govenors out there like the Ei already does. Keep in mind the Ei will require the "Y" adaptor to work with the 701.

guitarherowanab
02-28-2011, 12:47 PM
deadeye, what leads did you reverse? im getting 77% with my setup right now.

thanks


rob

carey shurley
03-04-2011, 08:46 PM
on the RC format motor, you may or may not have to plug the red coil wire into the non-red pole on the SG sensor pickup (which its says in the instructions). But this is a binary, either it works or it doesn't. If its not working, it won't even register an idle rpm.

I've had motors where it worked fine plugging the red coil wire into the side of the sensor pickup with the red dot on it and others where I had to reverse it and plug the black coil wire into that side. Dunno why.

if the sensor is picking up properly on the 701 you should have a max sensor reading of about 97%

guitarherowanab
03-05-2011, 12:13 AM
i called heliproz about this and they said that the 77% im getting should be fine.....:dontknow


rob

Rototerrier
03-05-2011, 07:05 AM
Is there anything special needs to be done to make our own quick disconnect? It appears from this photo to just be some standard futaba servo connections.

Can we cut the wires and make up our own connections without messing up the operation of these units?

Edit: After thinking about it I realized just how dumb this question was. I suppose you can cut it and add any connection you would want. Would just be like splitting any other 2 wire connection. I haven't had enough coffee this morning.

carey shurley
03-11-2011, 04:48 PM
don't think so

if you want SG will sell you one pre-configured, just contact Chris

Its made my helibug setups much more manageable, I'm always pulling the motor out for one reason or another.

Rototerrier
03-11-2011, 05:14 PM
Unless there is something special in the plug where it connects to the engine, then it seems doable. I would assume this wire is just an extension and all the magic happens inside the rubber case.

carey shurley
03-11-2011, 08:55 PM
so what I meant was I don't think that theres anything special. It is using Futaba connectors.

my point was they can make it for you but I don't see why you can't attach them yourselves. Maybe Chris or Adam will chime in

Rototerrier
03-12-2011, 06:17 AM
Oh..gotcha gotcha. I misread it. Sorry bout that.

kcflier
04-21-2011, 06:52 PM
You can contact ocr450@charterinternet.com for a special modified "Y" harness that he makes and will sell cheap that will allow the 701 to work with the RC or PUH stator gator if your having an issue. You will need an open slot on your receiver to use it. basically it is a low voltage issue why the gators sometimes will not work with the 701.

carey shurley
06-08-2011, 10:26 PM
So looks like the final word on this from Chris is the same as it was in April

if you have a PUH format motor/ignition, the Stator Gator should work as is with the GY701/GY750 Governors

if you have an RC format motor/ignition, the Stator Gator will likely require a voltage jumper for it to work with a GY701/GY750 governors. You can order one of these jumpers by emailing: adam@outofcontrolracing.net

if you have an EI format motor, the voltage jumper is probably required as well. Contact the email address above to confirm your exact configuration.

This is really quite simple to connect and once in place your Stator Gator will work perfectly with the new Futaba gyros!

Hollywood Jorge
08-29-2011, 11:23 AM
Is that right --- I have a 260 PUH motor and a brand new Stator from the company's web site. Will this work without issue on a 701 and/or 750?

The problem is just with the RC engines?

carey shurley
08-29-2011, 02:10 PM
if you have the latest version it should work on the PUH and RC motors as is. The EI version still requires a jumper.

check the max sensor percentage, if it is NOT 99%, get the jumper from them.