PDA

View Full Version : Spektrum modules dont work with align 3GX


Mxracer3651
07-29-2011, 08:33 AM
the 3gx will bind with spektrum but the servos are either erratic or dont work at all... 3-4 people already having the same issue. im not sure if the signal that the 3gx receives is the same coming from a module as it is with a spektrum controller. Hopefully it is only a software issue align could correct.. Anyone know alot about PPM? or how it could be fixed?

TXoutlaw
07-29-2011, 08:52 AM
How are you powering it?

Mxracer3651
07-29-2011, 09:15 AM
With life 2200 mah and tried 2000 nimh. No difference with different voltages. 3gx works If ran through the 7100r receiver and only using the signal wires for aiel. Elev.. Etc.. It's the 3gx that isn't translating the signal coming from the satelites / spektrum module ..

CeeveeSiN
07-29-2011, 09:18 AM
RMA it then.. mine works perfectly with 2 SATs.
used older DSM2 sats from AR7000s

both lock in and bind perfectly and been flying them for over a month
prolly 40 flights and 1 crash.

takasan
07-30-2011, 02:32 AM
i think he is talking about 2.4ghz conversion modules for formerly crystaled radios

matchbox
08-03-2011, 12:24 AM
Hey guys, i found the same issue with my 3GX and module as well. After a huge amount of testing i found the issue.
Align has been telling us to bind the external receivers to the 3GX and this is also the method that sets the fail safe. But in the case of the DM9 module, the external receiver is only half binding to the 3GX.
What i did is rebind the external receivers to another 'quick start' receiver (AR7000 e.g.) and then disconnect it and plug it into the 3GX. Have done this now 3 times with 3 different external receiver and they all drive the 3GX fine. Hope it work for you too.
Not sure what to do with the fail safe though. The 3GX has a built in hold function that will keep the cyclic and tail servos at the last position and the throttle shuts down. But you can no longer set the preset failsafe on the 3GX if the external receivers can not be bound to it.
Hold should be good enough if your ESC has a fast spool up.

Lower!
08-05-2011, 03:35 AM
Would changing to different (older) sattilites fix this?

matchbox
08-05-2011, 03:39 AM
It would allow the system to work, but it then would be likely to have brown-out issues.

OYLORE
08-05-2011, 06:30 AM
http://www.helifreak.com/images/icons/icon1.gif AR9010 DSMX not comp. with Align 3GS

I've set up my Trex 500 with Spektrum AR9010 DSMX RX and Align 3GS FBL. No servos move with sticks. The AR9010 seems to bind ok. The servo moves when I move the Heli so I think the 3GS work ok.

Compatibility issues?

I switched to a Yellow 9-ch DSM2 RX, and everything was ok.

Have others experienced this?

dct
08-05-2011, 10:17 AM
You have to bind with the 3gx for it to work..... And my DSMX satellites work great.... Plugged into the 3gx gyro only.... Oh I'm using a DX7 transmitter ..

matchbox
08-05-2011, 02:25 PM
You should not have any trouble with a dx7. This is only if you are using a dm9 spektrum module.

takasan
08-05-2011, 03:31 PM
this kinda makes sence being that the sats worked for me for a while but it lost its bind so it was very confusing for me.
the time I got it to work was when i pulled out an old sat from a plane of mine that was alreaedy bound and used it. im going to try this even though i already bought another receiver :(

Vinh1981
11-09-2011, 05:18 AM
Has there been any update on this? Has a workaround been found yet?

brandon113
11-09-2011, 06:32 AM
Same problem here! I am using a 10x with a dsm2 9 Channel module it binds to the 3gx with the dsmx sat but the servoes move the the end points and lock the motor chatters looks ugly. I have a spectrum 6 that is dsmx it binds and works fine with the 3gx and the dsmx sats. I hate to give up my 10x :bawl as I think it is the best radio that JR has produced. So much for dsmx being backward compatable:face

Brandon