PDA

View Full Version : Separate BEC


sniky
04-18-2007, 04:22 AM
Hi All! I'm planning to get a Trex SE V2, HS-65MG for cyclic, 9650 for tail, and Gyro 401. I think I read somewhere that you need a separate BEC/UBEC in this kind of setup since sometimes the ESC cannot supply enough power to the receiver. Is this true? Can the standard ESC that is included in the kit supply enough power to the receiver? If I need one which UBEC do you recommend? Thanks in advance.

Pinecone
04-18-2007, 05:34 AM
You don't need one, but many people run one. I use a ParkBEC 6V. The volts speeds up the servos at the expensive of possibly shorter servo life.

kgfly
04-18-2007, 05:35 AM
You only need a separate BEC if:

* You run a 4S setup
* You run digital swash servos

otherwise the BEC in the Align 35A ESC will be just fine. If you want an external BEC for the T450 then the DimensionEngineering ones are very good and very simple to use: http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC.htm or http://www.dimensionengineering.com/SportBEC.htm

Otherwise there are lots of sub-$20 switched-mode BECs around these days, eg http://wattsuprc.com.au/product_detail.asp?pid=EW-UBEC

sniky
04-18-2007, 08:19 AM
Thanks. I guess my setup will do while I'm learning. So if I understood you correctly, it is ok to fly the trex without the separate BEC. And it won't contribute to it crashing or glitching just because the power to the receiver/servo is not enough.

kgfly
04-18-2007, 08:32 AM
If you are running a 3S (11.1V) lipo with this: Trex SE V2, HS-65MG for cyclic, 9650 for tail, and Gyro 401 then that's right, the built-in BEC will be just fine.