PDA

View Full Version : Motor upgrade problems. BANG!!!!!


Fazz
04-23-2007, 11:09 AM
Got a JGF 400DH and a Phoenix 25 fro my Zap.When i pluged the battery in the motor beeped so i disconnected it.Plugged it in again,it beeped again and then the connector (JST) blew itself apart and the wires from connector to battery melted.ESC didnt seem to be affected or get hot,hope i havent fryed it. Battery didnt get hot and seemed to take a charge OK.Red and Black wires were matched.What did i do wrong?Araid to try it again!!!!!!!!!

hueyman
04-24-2007, 08:09 PM
the motor should give a series of "beeps" to indicate how the ESC is programmed. The sequence of beeps depends on the ESC you are using. Get a manual for your esc and follow the instructions for setup. If the JST connector is the same one you used with brushed motor setup, it is probably too small to handle the amp draw of a brushless motor. However, just plugging in the esc should result in very little amp draw if all wiring is correct. my 400dh pulled a lot of amps and would not start when i had the esc programmed for the wrong number of poles. this maybe the case with your setup. did you have throttle fully closed when plugging in the battery?Are you using a lipo battery?

Fazz
04-25-2007, 11:05 PM
Throttle was off.Battery is eWatts 20c-30c 1700mAh 11.1V 3 cell,ithought it was a Li-Po but doesnt have it written anywhere on it,is it a LI-Po?
To program ESC you have to connect power and im affraid to do that again.Have some connectors that handle 100 amps,shall i put them on and see what happens?

hueyman
04-25-2007, 11:46 PM
11.1 volt is a lipo batt. I would double check polarity of batt wires with a volt meter and match with the esc. wires. If you have a watt meter you can check amp draw when connecting the batt to determine if you have a problem before something fries. That would be your safest bet. 100 amp connectors will work (probably too heavy) but thats way overkill for your setup. battery can't come close to producing 100 amps and the wires. esc, motor can't handle it.

mlmcquiggjr
04-29-2007, 12:46 AM
If you are using a Futaba TX, I had to reverse the throttle on the ESC I was using.