PDA

View Full Version : Software Version Ice2


Ebartolome
09-25-2011, 04:39 PM
I just got an Ice2 120HV and plugged it to my Castle Link. The software reads flthe device name as: Phoenix ICE HV 120 (F367).

Shouldn't it read ICE2?

Plus I noticed that their is a firmware update for v 3.28, but my device only reads up to 3.27.

Anyone else see the same for their ICE2?

ahahn
09-25-2011, 09:00 PM
My guess is the fix has nothing to do with the Firmware.

Ebartolome
09-26-2011, 01:57 AM
I sent in an email to Castle support and they got back to me fairly quick. Here is their response.

"Software has not changed... The label is the only difference you can see."

bobbyhill4x4
10-02-2011, 06:46 AM
From what I understand is the HV and HV2 are the same except the HV2 are post recall.

pdelcast
10-05-2011, 06:56 PM
Yes, software did not change for the ICE HV2 -- it was entirely a hardware change.

Thanx!

Patrick

flerpie
10-06-2011, 02:11 PM
I just got an Ice2 120HV and plugged it to my Castle Link. The software reads flthe device name as: Phoenix ICE HV 120 (F367).

Shouldn't it read ICE2?

Plus I noticed that their is a firmware update for v 3.28, but my device only reads up to 3.27.

Anyone else see the same for their ICE2?

Nonetheless....nobody at CC is going to recommend that you continue to use
a crusty old version. Not unless there's an actual big problem with the new version
or perhaps a feature that doesn't exist in the new version, which is not known to
be the case in this instance.

So update to v3.28 or better as downloaded from the website.

pdelcast
10-07-2011, 05:37 PM
Nonetheless....nobody at CC is going to recommend that you continue to use
a crusty old version. Not unless there's an actual big problem with the new version
or perhaps a feature that doesn't exist in the new version, which is not known to
be the case in this instance.

So update to v3.28 or better as downloaded from the website.


LOL -- Crusty!!

BTW, we are in alpha testing on the newest software now.

flerpie
10-09-2011, 11:03 PM
Yep. Software gets crusty by virtue of the hardware advancing.
And it gets "stale" too, for the same reasons.
Sometimes, it's that the computer's OS has changed too
and it won't run anymore under the new OS.

The difference twixt stale and crusty is a matter of degree.

If it hasn't been updated in eons and will barely function anymore
then it's "moldy" software.

CC may have stated that the software hasn't changed.
No doubt they mean it's design, it's functionality, and
perhaps no new features added. However, there has been
a minor update according to the OP's posted versions.

flerpie
10-09-2011, 11:06 PM
LOL -- Crusty!!

BTW, we are in alpha testing on the newest software now.

Kool! I'm always game for an update. I hope it runs on our current
generation of ice controllers as opposed to running only on a yet
undisclosed product.

rapidgaz
10-30-2011, 04:30 PM
is 3.28 available yet folks or is the latest 3.27?. cheers folks

rapidgaz
11-04-2011, 04:16 PM
Any 1.


Sent from my iPhone using Internet.

diggyduo
11-07-2011, 01:53 AM
Any 1.


Sent from my iPhone using Internet.

I kinda hope no one replies for atleast 10 more bumps so can we get a whole page full of your profile piccie :smokin:

rapidgaz
11-08-2011, 07:08 AM
Glad u like. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Internet.