PDA

View Full Version : Are FBL blades really needed?

twentyafter
11-08-2011, 02:41 PM
I have seen a few threads on this and to me it seems like they would be needed more on larger heli's, but I'm relatively new to heli's so I could very well be completely wrong.

I am new to FBL as well, just converted my 450 Pro. I have not had it out for a flight yet, only a test hover. Right away I noticed how much more responsive it was. I currently have some cheap CF blades that came with my friends Chaos 450 Pro kit, and was wondering it FBL blades would really make that much of a difference on a 450 size bird, and what differences might I experience.

I'm sure this is a controversial subject and it's all going to come down to personal preference, but what have you guys experienced?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: If anyone has a link to some cheap CF FBL blades that perform well post it up! I might just want to see the difference (if any) myself.

65L88
11-08-2011, 05:13 PM
I have two flybarless helis, a 450 and a 500. I did the conversion and kept the original blades. I've never seen a reason to go to the so-called flybarless blades. Just my personal experience, I'm sure others will ring in.

jetblue2135
11-08-2011, 07:06 PM
I have two 450 pro's, both FBL, right now one has align 3G fbl blades the other has just the regular align 325's. I have also used the edge fbl blades and to be perfectly honest I don't really see the need for them. I pretty much just fly whatever blades I have laying around, including the cheap HK fg and cf blades. They all work just fine.

Harbormaster
11-08-2011, 07:19 PM
I'm sure this is a controversial subject

Uh, yeah:

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=303502&highlight=snake+oil

Ah Clem
11-08-2011, 07:27 PM
I have had both the regular and FBL blades on my 450.

You can tell a very small amount of difference. Not really worth it, IMHO.

Cullen Colapietro
11-08-2011, 07:52 PM