PDA

View Full Version : Which AC to DC Power Supply Brands work well?


jT415Gz
05-10-2007, 02:30 AM
Wassup all,

I have the TP1010C charger and want to use it at home.
So obviously I need to look for a efficient 12-13 Volt, 10-12 Amp AC-DC Power Supply. I noticed that AstroFlight makes one... but can anyone recommend some others to me with brand names included? Thanks!

spork
05-10-2007, 03:20 AM
I go the PC power supply route. Here in the S.F. bay area you should have no trouble getting one free. Makes a great supply.

jrohland
05-10-2007, 07:01 AM
I am charging 2 5s (4350 MAH) packs together with seperate TP1010 chanrgers. To do that, I need a hefty power supply. I got this (http://cgi.ebay.com/Tekpower-13-8V-12V-30A-Linear-DC-Regulated-Power-Supply_W0QQitemZ190047227879QQihZ009QQcategoryZ582 86QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) one. As you can see, that item has ended on ebay. I'm sure you can find it eleswhere or something similar.

Search ebay and craigslist for HAM radio power supplies. Those are great because they are 13.8 volts and high output current.

jrohland

Probedude
05-10-2007, 09:11 AM
You can get this for the starting price. About 1.5 weeks shipping time from China. It's made by MeanWell - a good quality switching power supply
http://cgi.ebay.com/12V-13-8VDC-12-Amp-Regulated-Switching-Power-Supply-new_W0QQitemZ230126242413

Dave

DebianDog
05-10-2007, 09:19 AM
If you want one today that will run (2) 1010's - Radioshack - 25 Amps - $99
Click me (http://www.radioshack.com/sm-25-amp-switching-dc-power-supply--pi-2103961.html)

http://www.helifreak.com/album_mod/upload/66729665148b049df9ae081efdead50f.jpg

Probedude
05-10-2007, 09:35 AM
I see these are still on sale too

http://www.circuitspecialists.com/prod.itml/icOid/9099

150W (12V 12.5A) ~$27

This company is in AZ.

Dave

Clintstone
05-10-2007, 10:43 AM
Jetstream and MFJ make a nice 40 amp switching power supply . I have been using one of each and they work great. These units go for 160 to 210.

stikflyer
05-10-2007, 03:48 PM
Debiandog, how do you like your superbrain? I am thinking about getting one myself, how mant lipo cell can you charge on it?
Kevin.

http://www.helifreak.com/album_mod/upload/66729665148b049df9ae081efdead50f.jpg[/img][/quote]

DebianDog
05-10-2007, 04:59 PM
I do not charge lipolys on it. Before I had a balancer I puffed a pack on it.

The warning
From MRC Super Brain 969 Pro AC/DC Delta Peak Charger with Dual Output and
Discharge Function Instruction Manual.

Model Rectifier Corporation
80 Newfield Avenue
Edison, NJ 08837-3817
732 225-6360
www.modelrectifier.com

B. CHARGING LITHIUM ION-POLYMER BATTERIES

Never leave batteries unattended when charging. Monitor the temperature of
the battery occasionally during the charge cycle. If batteries become hot,
disconnect immediately.

Because of the volatile nature of Lithium batteries, great care must be
taken when charging these cells. If improperly or over charged, the is the
risk that the battery will explode or catch fire. Please follow instructions
and/or recommendations from battery manufacturer when selecting proper
charge rate.

You should always select 5mV peak threshold for all Lithium Ion/Polymer
batteries. You should also start with a fully discharged battery and do a
"capacity" charge as stated above in step 8. However, do not enter a
capacity higher than the rated capacity of the battery or damage may occur.
If you do not begin with a fully discharged battery, then you will have to
estimate the remaining capacity in the battery. We recommend that you use a
charge rate at no higher than half (0.5 times) the rated capacity (example
for 6OOmAH battery the charge rate = 0.5 x 600 or 0.30 amps). Also, be
careful not to discharge the battery too low (3 volts per cell), or damage
to the battery may occur. We recommend that you use a discharge rate no
higher than 0.2 amps.


LITHIUM BATTERIES DO NOT HAVE A PEAK, IF THE CHARGE IS NOT TERMINATED THE
VOLTAGE JUST KEEPS RISING UNTIL THE BATTERY SELF DESTRUCTS IN MANNER THAT
COULD CAUSE A FIRE. IF THE USER DOES NOT CORRECTLY ESTIMATE THE AMOUNT OF
CAPACITY REMAINING IN THE BATTERY AT THE BEGINNING OF CHARGE OR THE CAPACITY
HAS DIMINISHED WITH USE, A SERIOUS AND HAZARDOUS SITUATION WILL EXIST.


I have not tried it with my V-Balancer. Maybe when the Ion is flying again I will do a test charge since each pack burns about the same amount of Ions (dual packs).

Have not tried the newer version (989) but hear it is better :dontknow

jT415Gz
05-12-2007, 01:33 PM
what about pro peak? http://grandrc.com/inc/sdetail/78012
good for using (2) TP1010C's?

jT415Gz
05-12-2007, 01:40 PM
ALSO, how the heck do you connect your alligator clips to the banana posts on most of these power supplies? Any modifications that you guys do? I don't wanna cut my alligators cuz i will charge off my 12V batt.
Right On

Probedude
05-12-2007, 05:02 PM
I cut mine off, but left ~ 3" of wire left on them, then installed banana jacks. If I need to use them I still can.

Davin 5
05-12-2007, 05:43 PM
what about pro peak? http://grandrc.com/inc/sdetail/78012
good for using (2) TP1010C's?

I bought this exact PS from GrandRC on Thursday. Less expensive than the Radio Shack PS, but still can support a solid 20A. I would have bought the Radio Shack one had I not went to the heli shop first!

jT415Gz
05-12-2007, 05:50 PM
what about pro peak? http://grandrc.com/inc/sdetail/78012
good for using (2) TP1010C's?

I bought this exact PS from GrandRC on Thursday. Less expensive than the Radio Shack PS, but still can support a solid 20A. I would have bought the Radio Shack one had I not went to the heli shop first!

Yeah, I was really close to getting RadioShack's PS... but they sell them expensive compared to other brands I've researched about.
Any problems with the Pro Peak so far Davin 5? What charger are you using? I may go down the Pro Peak road if I don't get a MFJ from eBay. Let me know how the PS works out! :mrgreen:

jT415Gz
05-12-2007, 05:55 PM
I cut mine off, but left ~ 3" of wire left on them, then installed banana jacks. If I need to use them I still can.

What charger are you using and do you charge at the field? If so, how would you charge at the field if you don't have the convenience of alligator clips to clip on to a batt? Unless, you use some other method of charging at the field.

Are banana plugs all standard sized?

I may get a Pro Peak.

Davin 5
05-12-2007, 05:57 PM
So far the Pro Peak has been great. I'm using it to power a Bantam 902 charger. The Radio Shack one is good too, I just went with Pro Peak cause it's 30 bucks less. Are you in SF? Where do you fly at by the way?

Davin 5
05-12-2007, 06:10 PM
I cut mine off, but left ~ 3" of wire left on them, then installed banana jacks. If I need to use them I still can.

What charger are you using and do you charge at the field? If so, how would you charge at the field if you don't have the convenience of alligator clips to clip on to a batt? Unless, you use some other method of charging at the field.

Are banana plugs all standard sized?

I may get a Pro Peak.

Cut the aligator clips off with some amount of wire still attached. Solder male banana plugs to wires running to the charger. Solder female banana plugs to the wire going to the alligator clips. I stayed in a holiday Inn Express last night.

Probedude
05-12-2007, 11:32 PM
I cut mine off, but left ~ 3" of wire left on them, then installed banana jacks. If I need to use them I still can.

What charger are you using and do you charge at the field? If so, how would you charge at the field if you don't have the convenience of alligator clips to clip on to a batt? Unless, you use some other method of charging at the field.

Are banana plugs all standard sized?

I may get a Pro Peak.

Cellpro is my charger. At the field I use a 33AH SLA battery that I have attached banana jacks to along with a 10A fuse in-line with one of the leads.

Because I soldered banana jacks to my battery clips onto the remaining 3" of wire, I can still use those if I want to by plugging them into my banana plugs on the charger. The 33AH SLA battery has been plenty big for me though.

There is a 'mini' banana plug, you don't want that. If it doesn't say 'mini' you should be safe. Some plugs and jacks are better than others. I've been using Pomona and Keystone brand for many years - they hold up well.

Dave

tcast305
05-13-2007, 12:21 AM
I went with IOTA 55amp power supply. Enough to power both of my TP 1010c chargers when charging 2 10s packs at the same time and plenty left over for my other smaller chargers too. I've had zero problems with it, and it always on too.

I got it for 135 brand new off ebay.

Thanks.

Probedude
05-13-2007, 12:23 PM
I went with IOTA 55amp power supply. Enough to power both of my TP 1010c chargers when charging 2 10s packs at the same time and plenty left over for my other smaller chargers too. I've had zero problems with it, and it always on too.

I got it for 135 brand new off ebay.

Thanks.

Great price! I bought 4 of these recently - still need to load test them.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260116997633

12V at 125A. I was told they were used for the LED signs around the perimeter of the Atlanta Braves stadium.

Overkill for my RC needs but I can see needing them for side business work in the future.

Dave

jT415Gz
05-13-2007, 09:27 PM
Well I just placed my order @ GrandRC for the Pro Peak 13.8V 20A.
Figured it will serve me well and is enough power for my one 1010C and 10S1P packs.

Also converting my charger input alligators over to bananas.

Thanks for all the help! :wink:

th3tick
05-13-2007, 11:27 PM
I'm hesitant to go over to banana plugs, even with them inline to the alligator clips because I can chain the alligator clips off to get my three chargers all attached at once. With just the banana plugs, it's one charger at a time attachment, which isn't why I bought a 30A PS.

Has anyone done any banana plug splitters (pun intended)?

PaulH
05-14-2007, 11:39 AM
You could always use something like this:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103797

Stackable plugs are just that: You can daisy-chain the plugs to get more than a single device connected to your power supply.

Another alternative would be to open up your power supply and drill holes above and below the existing banana plug sockets. You could then install a couple more sets directly in the power supply.

Just my two cents. :smokin:

th3tick
05-14-2007, 11:47 AM
Now that's timing. I just went to Radio Shack this morning and bought those exact plugs. Thanks!

John