PDA

View Full Version : Rotor Concept HPQ1 Rx Swap


SCVJeff
01-09-2012, 10:50 PM
Hola!. Longtime reader, extreme poster..

I bought an HPQ1 at the AMA show this weekend because I am looking for a platform to carry my GoPro (and it's cheap), but I really don't like the included transmitter.I have a DSM2 Rx and my trusty DX7se xmtr and would like to swap the receivers out in this Quad.

Has anyone done this? Are there any special mixing settings I need to do, or does anyone have any Tx settings to share? This is a 1st for me and I have no clue what this thing wants to fly.

Thanks

Tomstoy2
01-10-2012, 01:52 PM
Set it up in acft mode. Don't know what the controller is, but make damn sure you have the correct motor orentation, and rotation direction set up, along with the correct cw & ccw props mounted on the motors.

It's pretty simple, really.

More than happy to help out with questions,,,,

mike1730
01-15-2012, 08:59 AM
Tomstoy...

I just got one, too. There isn't much documentation as to what channels 1 through 4 are on the radio supplied. I set mine up with 1->thro; 2->ail; 3->ele; 4->rud but when power is applied it goes through a series of beeps, then lights up blue with a repeating series of 2 long beeps. For most ESCs this means that the throttle is not closed. What channel sequence did you set up in yours?

...mike

mike1730
01-15-2012, 09:34 AM
Found the channel assignments on youtube. Very helpful video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=U8lVLIErHJQ

Assignments are:
1->Aileron
2->Elevator
3->Throttle
4->Rudder

Controller comes up, beeps appropriately, and motors run exactly right.
Hope this helps others with this quad.

Tomstoy2
01-15-2012, 10:38 AM
:thumbup:

DesertJim
01-15-2012, 05:40 PM
Does anybody know what system the HP Q1 comes with. I bought the rtf at the AMA convention in Ontario, but really don't like the transmitter. Seems everyone is switching theirs too, but if it's already a "spectrum" receiver, perhaps it could just be bound to a DX-8. If not I'll change out the receiver too, just lazy I guess.
Jim

SCVJeff
01-17-2012, 02:34 AM
Does anybody know what system the HP Q1 comes with. I bought the rtf at the AMA convention in Ontario, but really don't like the transmitter. Seems everyone is switching theirs too, but if it's already a "spectrum" receiver, perhaps it could just be bound to a DX-8. If not I'll change out the receiver too, just lazy I guess.
JimTry it and let us know how it goes..

Update on mine.. I'm running an AR600 full-range rx. Good thing too... The wind came up and blew it across a canyon to where I almost couldn't see it, and sure couldn't see orientation. Once I figured out it's rotation it took awhile to get it back. The fun news is that the GoPro was mounted and running.. :)

Points:
-Props need balancing
-cam mount needs to get stiffened up as the cam seems to oscillate.I thing think this can be fixed with a seam of epoxy.
-Tri-Lube smooths out the motors nicely

mike1730
01-21-2012, 03:56 PM
Got mine up into the air today, some wind. Fairly stable. Needs at least 20% expo, maybe more. It looks like there is some coupling between yaw and roll. Has anybody else experienced this? The plastic prop nuts are lame. I'm going to try to find some metric nuts to replace them, but they are reported to be 3.5mm.

This is going to be a really neat platform.

Z06 Tony
01-22-2012, 07:52 AM
You guys should do a little more research before purchasing something like this. I assume all who buy are new to multirotors. These models are way overpriced. You can get so much more for your money. Also all the vids I seen the model wobbles. The HQ-2 looks like a rebranded LotusRc T580P to me and does not cost $1800. It should be illegal for them to charge that much. Just google Alishamo T580P for more info.
BTW that is not me.

SCVJeff
01-23-2012, 03:23 AM
You guys should do a little more research before purchasing something like this. I assume all who buy are new to multirotors. These models are way overpriced. You can get so much more for your money. Also all the vids I seen the model wobbles. The HQ-2 looks like a rebranded LotusRc T580P to me and does not cost $1800. It should be illegal for them to charge that much. Just google Alishamo T580P for more info.
BTW that is not me.You need to read the model #'s a little closer before commenting. What is under discussion is an HPQ-1, not the HPQ-2, and it was $289 RTF with case. Priced considerably lower than anything in this payload class. I might agree with the HPQ-2, but not this one.

Z06 Tony
01-25-2012, 04:26 PM
You need to read the model #'s a little closer before commenting. What is under discussion is an HPQ-1, not the HPQ-2, and it was $289 RTF with case. Priced considerably lower than anything in this payload class. I might agree with the HPQ-2, but not this one.
I most certainly did read-> http://rotorconcept.com/heli1.asp
Says $899 right there and HPQ-1 and I even added to cart and it was $899. If you paid $289 then thats not bad but I was only going by what I seen.

SCVJeff
01-31-2012, 12:09 AM
I think this is one of those "$899.00, but today only it's on sale for $....."

I'm out here in Quartzsite for 2 weeks attending the Rv Show, flying all our gadgets, and have sent the Quad up with the GoPro almost out of site, and far higher than it can be heard to do some photo pans (I need to learn patience when descending tho). Not having had anything like this I'm impressed at what it can do. If this is a beginner level Quad, I'll be looking forward to building the next one :)

SCVJeff
02-03-2012, 04:17 AM
Here's a few shots from an HD GoPro mounted on the HPQ1 while out in Quartzsite, AZ. last week:

Takeoff Silhouette:
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r192/SCVJeff/GOPR1521.jpg

A few air shots from the cam:
http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r192/SCVJeff/GOPR0958.jpg


http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r192/SCVJeff/GOPR0675.jpg


http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r192/SCVJeff/GOPR0972.jpg

n0kjf
04-16-2012, 08:01 PM
Hi guys, I picked one up at Toledo and I am trying to set up my Spektrum enabled Futaba 8U. I have not been able to make it work, I can occasionally get the motors to very briefly spool, but that is it. I have tried to set the transimtter in heli and airplane modes but still no joy. Can anyone please give me some pointers?

Thanks,

Lew Heifner

tsmalls3
05-06-2012, 11:51 AM
Did some research and Rotor Concept uses a radio transmitter under their own brand, with programming capablities, nice LCD screen, more functions, etc.
Buying a quad from some of these other websites for $300-$400 will give you a pretty basic transmitter. In addition, it does not come with the camera mount or an additional battery.
Obviously this doesn't make up for the $900 price tag, but its important to note if you were looking through the Rotor Concept videos and were expecting everything in the box.