PDA

View Full Version : mQX - DX6i Settings


Pages : 1 [2]

Nytflyer
01-24-2012, 06:43 PM
I understand that. But what I mean is....why would the manual recommend acro mode? Like I said, I'm flying in heli mode, but I just want to make sure I'm not missing something.

Sorry I guess I misunderstood you at first. I have now flown a bunch of flights and you are definitely not missing anything using heli mode. As a matter of fact if you are more of a heli guy like me I think heli mode is better.

As I said before you can assign all your DR to one switch and you can make your throttle hold work. TH was killing me in acro mode because I am so used to helis I instantly hit TH when crashing or in trouble. Made my Q do the chicken dance a couple of times and just stood there like "wtf why is it doing that". Then I realized I needed to lower the throttle stick.

Now I am flying in heli mode and it flies the same but I have TH back which is easier for my brain and the DR are on a simple switch.

Nytflyer
01-24-2012, 06:45 PM
In their podcast they mention that the 4-in-1 board is pre-programmed with 40% expo: http://horizonhobby.cachefly.net/podcasts/RCast_010512.mp3 (about 11 minutes in)

It can be counteracted with - 40% expo settings in you transmitter.

That is great info to know ty for sharing:thumbup:

gooberguz
01-25-2012, 12:05 AM
i had no idea that they had a PodCast it was kinda cool to listen to it!!! but on it the mention that the mQX already has a 40% Expo.....

What does that mean?

f.a.r.m.e.r
01-25-2012, 12:06 AM
:rotflmfao dude!!! Check out this video it is my maiden flight. You here me in the beginning blaming my buddy Farmer Dave for the purchase. I think I said "next time you put a gun to my head shoot me!" because that is what the wife is gonna do when she finds out I put $140 bucks on the discover card.:face

Funny thing is she has walked past this thing for 3 days now and watched some video of me flying and still hasn't questioned it lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwqK7Zl4iZo&feature=g-upl&context=G2204124AUAAAAAAAEAA

Here is one I just did of my attempt to show stability lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5P1CIehtNzk&feature=g-upl&context=G279ee5aAUAAAAAAAAAA

Lmao Leo stop blaming me :bawl:rotf

ok maybe i did kinda bug you to get one for a few days :D

im almost done with my fpv setup, when im done i'll post a instructional video on my fpv setup, i bought another mqx to fly and bash and flip out in the front yard, and one for strictly fpv..

i know your dying to see a vid by now i been so lazy about flying and videos hav'nt even been flying my genius either just working on my compass 7hv and mqx fpv system lol

will give you a sneak peak tomorrow:thumbup:


ttyl bud

sold my trex 550 today btw, i kinda regret it :arggg: but i needed those extra batteries lol

Sweaty Palms
01-25-2012, 06:59 AM
Sorry I guess I misunderstood you at first. I have now flown a bunch of flights and you are definitely not missing anything using heli mode. As a matter of fact if you are more of a heli guy like me I think heli mode is better.

As I said before you can assign all your DR to one switch and you can make your throttle hold work. TH was killing me in acro mode because I am so used to helis I instantly hit TH when crashing or in trouble. Made my Q do the chicken dance a couple of times and just stood there like "wtf why is it doing that". Then I realized I needed to lower the throttle stick.

Now I am flying in heli mode and it flies the same but I have TH back which is easier for my brain and the DR are on a simple switch.

Ah ok. That explains it perfectly! Thanks! Could you tell me what Throttle Hold does? I have a couple of heli's, but have never messed with this button.

Nytflyer
01-25-2012, 01:36 PM
Ah ok. That explains it perfectly! Thanks! Could you tell me what Throttle Hold does? I have a couple of heli's, but have never messed with this button.

Throttle hold just kills the motor/motors instantly. Not needed with a FP heli but you can't fly a CP heli without it. Well I guess you could if you only fly in normal mode but what fun would that be.:D

nick_onelove
01-25-2012, 02:47 PM
i had no idea that they had a PodCast it was kinda cool to listen to it!!! but on it the mention that the mQX already has a 40% Expo.....

What does that mean?

It means its as if you programmed 40% expo on your transmitter. Except its all taking place in the 4-in-1 board. It can be counteracted by programming negative - 40% expo into your transmitter.

The mQX is a little twitchy, but IMO 40% is way too much. The stick is practically dead in the center, then if you really throw the stick it suddenly flips over. I decided to negate half of the built-in expo by programmed in negative - 20% expo. So that makes it like 20% positive expo, if that makes sense.

I've also found increasing servo travel to the max helps with flips and rolls, and I figure it's alright since there's no actual servos to risk binding.

Sweaty Palms
01-26-2012, 06:37 AM
Throttle hold just kills the motor/motors instantly. Not needed with a FP heli but you can't fly a CP heli without it. Well I guess you could if you only fly in normal mode but what fun would that be.:D

So would TH simple have the same effect as pulling the left stick all the way down? And what other mode is there besides normal mode? Thanks.

skipper1
01-26-2012, 10:01 AM
I finally got to fly mine last night at the complex raquet ball quart, it's still a small area but not nearly as small as my apartment. Wow, this mqx is like a rocket. I had a hard time keeping it under control. I backed my expo off to 50% just to be able to fly a little.

On my next flight, I think I'll set it up in heli mode. I have a DX7s and maybe some of the more experienced pilots could share their settings in heli mode for the mqx

Nytflyer
01-26-2012, 05:43 PM
So would TH simple have the same effect as pulling the left stick all the way down? And what other mode is there besides normal mode? Thanks.

Yes throttle hold has exactly the same effect as just pulling the left stick all the way down. It just cuts everything instantly with the flick of a switch.

There is no other mode but normal mode with the mQx but with a CP heli you have idle up or stunt mode as it is called sometimes. When in that mode your motor runs at max throttle setting and you just control the pitch of the blades.

If you pull the left stick down when in idle up/stunt mode on a CP heli it will PLOW it into the pavement!

Have fun :peace

Nytflyer
01-26-2012, 05:48 PM
I finally got to fly mine last night at the complex raquet ball quart, it's still a small area but not nearly as small as my apartment. Wow, this mqx is like a rocket. I had a hard time keeping it under control. I backed my expo off to 50% just to be able to fly a little.

On my next flight, I think I'll set it up in heli mode. I have a DX7s and maybe some of the more experienced pilots could share their settings in heli mode for the mqx

I don't claim to be experienced by any means but I will tell you what I have noticed. Inside I like at least 20% expo with 75% dual rates.

I was flying with 100% rates and 20% expo outside but it seemed like the copter was fighting me in any kind of fast flight. Lots of "dead" area at center stick. Then you finnally hit the spot on the stick where the thing moves and it is just to much and the gyros take over.

Today I upped my travel adjust to 120% dual rates at 100% and set expo to Inhibit. Was kind of touchy but Iam going to try this outside for awhile.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmWDIkvkGBQ

nick_onelove
01-26-2012, 05:53 PM
Lots of "dead" area at center stick. Then you finnally hit the spot on the stick where the thing moves and it is just to much and the gyros take over.

It's because there's 40% expo pre-programmed into the 4-in-1 board. Like I said I programmed in negative - 20% expo to counteract some of it and make control more consistent throughout the entire stick range.

Nytflyer
01-26-2012, 06:07 PM
It's because there's 40% expo pre-programmed into the 4-in-1 board. Like I said I programmed in negative - 20% expo to counteract some of it and make control more consistent throughout the entire stick range.

I'm with ya bro:thumbup:

Why I set up the way I did today and thank you. I just set my expo to Inhibit so I guess I am still getting the programmed in 40%. Seems a little twitchy but outside it is tollerable.

I really hate that dead center stick and then all of the sudden BOOM! Then I am out of control and so are the gyros. Gonna try to get used to this first then maybe will start cancelling out the built in expo.

Sweaty Palms
01-28-2012, 09:59 AM
Took my MQX outside for the first time this morning in about 10mph winds. It handled the winds impressively well, and we were doing flips and rolls with ease. My DX6I settings are as follows:

Low Rate:
50% on all D/R and INH expo

High Rate:
100% on all D/R and -20% on expo

Flying in Heli mode

Nytflyer
01-28-2012, 06:43 PM
Took my MQX outside for the first time this morning in about 10mph winds. It handled the winds impressively well, and we were doing flips and rolls with ease. My DX6I settings are as follows:

Low Rate:
50% on all D/R and INH expo

High Rate:
100% on all D/R and -20% on expo

Flying in Heli mode

I am now comfortably using :

Low rate: 75% ail/ele 100% rud 20% expo

High rate : 100% ail/ele/rud 10% expo

Papa Tom
01-28-2012, 07:49 PM
I understand the MQX has build in dual rates and that on the RTF tx you just push down on the right stick to enter the preprogramed mode. Is this possible on the DX6i?

If changes are programed into the DX6i can one switch activitate (switch between) the two settings.

I am sure this has been answered but I am having a problem understand.

Thanks

Nytflyer
01-28-2012, 08:09 PM
I understand the MQX has build in dual rates and that on the RTF tx you just push down on the right stick to enter the preprogramed mode. Is this possible on the DX6i?

If changes are programed into the DX6i can one switch activitate (switch between) the two settings.

I am sure this has been answered but I am having a problem understand.

Thanks

If you are using the dx6i just back up to the beginning of this thread. We have pretty much covered it. If you are still having problems PM me and I will help you out.

gooberguz
02-04-2012, 06:12 PM
Has anyone else out there found any better settings?

Jakk
02-04-2012, 09:29 PM
Has anyone else out there found any better settings?

It comes down to personal preference really, what do you want to change?
I'm using a DX7s with current settings in heli mode;

D/R ele 70%
ail 65%
rudd 100%
EXPO ele -5%
ail -5%
rudd -20%

Throttle curve 0 30 60 80 100

brettskermetzger
02-05-2012, 10:30 PM
It comes down to personal preference really, what do you want to change?
I'm using a DX7s with current settings in heli mode;

D/R ele 70%
ail 65%
rudd 100%
EXPO ele -5%
ail -5%
rudd -20%

Throttle curve 0 30 60 80 100

I'm using the DX7s also...

If you set the ele/ail/rudd to f-mode switch will that act like the RTF receiver when you press the right stick down? (if you have the correct settings?)

I'm really struggling with this whole set up...I've never used such a piece of equipment...I'd like to set everything to 50% say and have it take place when i switch the FM to 1...

I've read the rest of the post but i'm still having troubles :/ sorry...any help is appreciated

Jakk
02-06-2012, 07:06 PM
I'm using the DX7s also...

If you set the ele/ail/rudd to f-mode switch will that act like the RTF receiver when you press the right stick down? (if you have the correct settings?)

I'm really struggling with this whole set up...I've never used such a piece of equipment...I'd like to set everything to 50% say and have it take place when i switch the FM to 1...

I've read the rest of the post but i'm still having troubles :/ sorry...any help is appreciated

You can do that, go into dual rates and set each % you want on ail, ele, rudd and then at the bottom of each in the switch setting choose f mode for all so you can have the reduced rates in 0- f mode and 100% position 1 f mode. That should change all from low to high rates with one switch. You can also add some + expo to soften the stick response around center if you need that....

brettskermetzger
02-06-2012, 09:21 PM
Man this makes one hell of a difference!! Finally got everything to work with some help from some great people in this thread ^^^^ (Jakk & Nytflyer)

Running ele/ail at 50 on my FM0

I changed my FM1 settings to 125 on ele/ail...and this thing is quick!! I'm getting flips on a full charge at around a 6 foot hover...amazing what a real TX can do...

If anyone needs help with a DX7s I've got it down just PM me...

Thanks thread!!!

Nytflyer
02-07-2012, 05:44 AM
Man this makes one hell of a difference!! Finally got everything to work with some help from some great people in this thread ^^^^ (Jakk & Nytflyer)

Running ele/ail at 50 on my FM0

I changed my FM1 settings to 125 on ele/ail...and this thing is quick!! I'm getting flips on a full charge at around a 6 foot hover...amazing what a real TX can do...

If anyone needs help with a DX7s I've got it down just PM me...

Thanks thread!!!

Glad you got it all working bud have fun!:D

puggster
05-04-2012, 04:02 AM
Ive had about10 flights with this bird, about 5 indoors and 5 out, been messing with the settings and settled for these,

indoors..
i use 75% dualrates on ail - elev, with 25% expo, rudder is left alone. i have set the travel to 125% on everything.

outdoors..
i use 100% throws, and 20% expo on everything exept rudder. also with travel at 125%

To speed up rudder/yaw you can apply negative expo, 100% neg expo makes it spin almost double as quick, you do loose some stability, but pirros are much snappier.

Just be aware, that on 2 occasions my copter dropped out of the sky within 8 seconds of take off, dunno why this is but to avoid this happening put the copter in full throttle whilst holding it, without swaying it around, for around 10 seconds, seems to resolve this issue, i belive the eflite geebee micro had this issue too.

may save your brand new mqx dropping out of the sky, luckily i was over grass, no damage :)

otherwise a very cool quad copter. loving how easy it is to flip :D :wow2:

theRASTAFeARIAN
11-25-2012, 11:54 AM
The "1" refers to the switch positions on ur dx6. Go into the settings and flip your 3 switches that correspond with what ur seeing on screen (not the dual rate switch) te 1 will change to a 0 and vise versa.