PDA

View Full Version : Head speed?


lewisflyboy8
02-18-2012, 11:02 PM
What head speed are you guys running with your 600 size scale copters?
Anybody using the 600M or 1220kv motors on 6cells? If so what pinion and throttle curve ?

Thanks

JoseReyes
02-19-2012, 12:12 AM
What head speed are you guys running with your 600 size scale copters?
Anybody using the 600M or 1220kv motors on 6cells? If so what pinion and throttle curve ?

Thanks

Normal 1500, st1 1550, st2 1600 on 12s setup with HS4035-560kv

weng
02-19-2012, 08:16 PM
I am running the 1220kv motor with a 13 tooth pinion on 6s. Using the Castle ESC on set RPM at 1670, 1720 and 1770 RPM. It kind of bobbles at 1670 but runs very smooth at 1770.
This is with an RCA MD500D fuse and 2 blade head.

JW

Andy01
02-20-2012, 04:06 AM
I run 1350rpm with 4 blades on a 600 - very smooth flying. This is on 12s with a 4025-550 motor, governed with Ice 2 80HV. IMO 1770rpm is nearing light 3D speeds, even with a 2 blade.

I run my Vario Long Ranger (12s, 2x 710mm blades) at 1350rpm as well - it is not much bigger than a 600.

Colin

ngin
02-20-2012, 01:09 PM
On my Swift 550 in an Augusta 109A fuselage, I currently run 560mm blades on a 5S/4000 pack at a 1550 rotor speed. I have even ran it lower at 1450 using 4S packs with the 520mm blades.

Rob43
02-20-2012, 02:27 PM
To piggyback on this...I am building the Align AH-1 Super Cobra. How slow of a headspeed can I expect to run with the stock 500M motor on 6 cells? I'd like to consider a slower headspeed, perhaps on 4S, with a bigger pinion....is this feasible?

lewisflyboy8
02-21-2012, 12:01 AM
Great info guys, thanks.

I just noticed my order for a 13 tooth helical pinion was cancelled. Seems that when a site shows something in stock it may not actually be..:arggg:

I have been searching for the ideal pinion to use with my 600m for days and finally thought I had a solution. Looks like a different motor may be in my future..
Does anybody know if I can run the motor at like 70-80% to achieve the head speed I'm looking for? Don't know if this is good to do for extended periods of time. Most of my pod and boom helis are set with a more typical throttle curve.

Andy01
02-21-2012, 03:39 AM
Perhaps better to get a motor with a more appropriate kV rating. It is not running the motor at 70% that is the problem, but rather an ESC that can do it without running hot - apparently Kontroniks can do it - at a price.

Colin