PDA

View Full Version : No head button on the Xxtreme.......any reason why??


PHANTMXR6
02-22-2012, 08:47 AM
As the title suggests, would there be any reason Mikado didn't opt for a head button?

Would it be possible to fit a head button to the rotor head?

Edit: thanks for the edit tip. :thumbup:

GimpyGolden
02-22-2012, 09:10 AM
Maybe because it'd be the size of a small saucer:dontknow

BTW too edit title go to Edit then Advanced or double tap Edit to bring you to Advanced.
All within 14 days of post ofcourse.

BrainDrain_dx
02-22-2012, 09:52 AM
If they put a head button on there what you would have is a bunch of people with banged up shins trying to use the silly thing. Them blades are LONG....

dahld
02-22-2012, 10:17 AM
I'm pretty sure not providing a head button is to prevent guys from the temptation of trying to use it. I'm 6'-3" tall, and I can barely reach the head without the blades smacking my shins...and even at that, I have to "sneak-up" on the disc, in order to get close enough to make the reach.

(-: Dave

MrMel
02-22-2012, 11:18 AM
I put on a Logo 600 button, but yes, I agree with Dave, I already got a bruise on my leg because of it..

PHANTMXR6
02-22-2012, 11:19 AM
Thanks Dave. Thought this might be the case.
I like the look of a head with a button on it though. Gives it that more complete look.

heli21
02-22-2012, 11:34 AM
There is a hole drilled and tapped for a 3mm bolt, so it should not be too hard to install a head button. Personally I've never used one on any machines in years...

Rob

dahld
02-22-2012, 12:37 PM
I'm like MrMel, and installed a standard Logo head button, since the threaded hole is there, and it gives a bit of a finished look to it.

Never thought we'd get to the point where we need rotor brakes on our models, like the real ones have (-:

(-: Dave

DominicD
02-22-2012, 12:41 PM
I am sure you can use a headbutton to stop a 800mm heli .... BUT there is no way to look cool doing it :P

Jays200
02-22-2012, 05:17 PM
Like Mr Mel and Dave, I too have put on the standard black head button. I am 6'7" though so my reach is a little longer than most. Shin damage "should" be minimal.

As for a rotor break, my blades took 56 secs to come to a standstill yesterday. That was from only 1200HS with neutral pitch. Full negative does slow it down a little or you could auto it all the time.

KnifeEdgeUk
02-22-2012, 06:08 PM
If they put a head button on there what you would have is a bunch of people with banged up shins trying to use the silly thing. Them blades are LONG....

Just what i was thinking!

Madryan
03-27-2012, 09:30 AM
I have to admit...i looked for a head button in my kit. ( didnt find it funny enough) ... theres a hole for one though ...but I like the look of them ...but in all honestly theres no real need , it looks bruit without it anyway. and I don't mind waiting to spool it down.. other than that i guess for the $2736AUD price tag i paid they could just chuck a token a button in for the hell of it...all good ...

Cheers

Mercuriell
04-04-2012, 09:47 PM
Probably left off to cut down on drag, always thought the L600 head button butt ugly and wouldnt dream of using it. Must be a nice petite little head button out there somehere, preferably with red or blue anodising.

rcmarty
04-04-2012, 11:48 PM
glad it threaded myself.

I use an align FBL pitch guage threaded into it :)

Martin

MrMel
04-05-2012, 03:27 AM
I actually removed the L600 button I put there, having one there you automatically reach for it, and twice I have bruises on my leg.

I agree with Mikado and not having one there...

and I'm 1.83 long