PDA

View Full Version : what to consider


tommeke
06-01-2012, 01:02 PM
Well, sold my trex 500 to get this beaty. are there things that I need to consider before I fly it? It will be equiped with align servo's and an ar7200bx. Can I get the beastx settings around here somewhere and if not, can you post it please?
Thanks for your help!

realy looking forward to flying this bird :D

Chris Sexton
06-01-2012, 01:34 PM
First off, welcome to the Grin club. The first time you fly it, You will know what I mean.

The Align servos are no problem, although there have been reports they pull more power than the stock BEC can handle. You might think about a separate BEC if you weren't already.

As for the BeastX settings, those are hard to post for you. The beastx settings are Taylored to the the heli. It will have you measure servo travel, check orientation, measure cyclic throw. All things that are going to be different from one heli to another.

I recommend just following the manual step by step. The first time through will seem a little intimidating, but once you do it once, it will be a piece of cake.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 02:26 PM
First off, welcome to the Grin club. The first time you fly it, You will know what I mean.

The Align servos are no problem, although there have been reports they pull more power than the stock BEC can handle. You might think about a separate BEC if you weren't already.

As for the BeastX settings, those are hard to post for you. The beastx settings are Taylored to the the heli. It will have you measure servo travel, check orientation, measure cyclic throw. All things that are going to be different from one heli to another.

I recommend just following the manual step by step. The first time through will seem a little intimidating, but once you do it once, it will be a piece of cake.

what happens if the servos draw too much power?

Wh1teAfr1can
06-01-2012, 02:28 PM
you have a brown out and the heli will crash. or in the best case scenario it will just glitch but the long term effect will be burning out the esc eventually and causeing a fire and or a forced auto.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 02:46 PM
isn't there a switch on the besc to let through more power?

newbheliusr
06-01-2012, 02:53 PM
You can adjust voltage, but not amperage. So no, you can't change a switch and get more power. A separate BEC, or a more powerful ESC/BEC is your only choice.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 02:57 PM
have guys used them with succes?

Chris Sexton
06-01-2012, 02:58 PM
I used the stock ESC/BEC with the stock GAUI servos, and I still had a brown out. I am currently running a WR Mini BEC, problem solved.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 02:59 PM
damn, again extra costs :p

newbheliusr
06-01-2012, 03:04 PM
I use a CC BEC Pro on mine, along with a CC Ice 100. Separate BEC always adds a bit of security IMO

tommeke
06-01-2012, 03:25 PM
if you use a seperate bec, will you need a LiFe pack or can you run it fram the normal pack?

newbheliusr
06-01-2012, 03:56 PM
I run it right off the flight pack.

Chris Sexton
06-01-2012, 03:57 PM
That is up to you. I tied mine into the flight pack, less weight. No measurable decline in flight times.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 04:14 PM
are there cheaper bec's than WR?

Chris Sexton
06-01-2012, 04:25 PM
CC BEC Pro V3, 38.99, works great on 6S.

Just don't get the blue BEC by Castle, it's weaker than the stock ESC.

http://www.experiencerc.com/store/castle_switching_regulator_cseccbecpro-p-9891.html

helidude71
06-01-2012, 04:34 PM
are there cheaper bec's than WR?

Keep in mind what will happen if your BEC fails.

dodgeboy
06-01-2012, 04:46 PM
CC BEC Pro V3, 38.99, works great on 6S.

Just don't get the blue BEC by Castle, it's weaker than the stock ESC.

http://www.experiencerc.com/store/castle_switching_regulator_cseccbecpro-p-9891.html


+1
i have it on my 12s fusion 50 and it works just fine

newbheliusr
06-01-2012, 05:08 PM
Just don't run it off 12s. Run it off 6s max.

tommeke
06-01-2012, 05:14 PM
it's for an x5 so it will be 6s

newbheliusr
06-01-2012, 05:26 PM
I've got mine setup, and it works great.

mamartin
06-01-2012, 10:13 PM
Everyone that I know of here locally including myself use castle BEC's

I've got the 20amp CC BEC pro v2 on my X5 tied rite into the flight pack and I've had no issues to date with it