PDA

View Full Version : Which Data logger? Eagle Tree? Others?


wren1702
11-28-2007, 08:51 AM
Thought I might drop a hint to Santa.....:YeaBaby:

Which Data Logger are you guys using?

catfight
11-28-2007, 09:05 AM
wren,

I use the Eagletree system with the builtin Dean's connectors. Makes it a breeze to move from heli to heli. Just plug and play all the way. I ShoeGoo the sensors (I like magnetic RPM sensors) into each heli and leave them there. Inexpensive and eliminates optical tach expense. Excellent

skeppley
11-28-2007, 09:34 AM
Eagletree here too!
Brushless RPM sensor and 2 temp sensors (lipo and motor) and all is well :)
I only use it to setup a new motor, pinion, headspeed, check the amps and temps are good, and then it's done until the next change.

wren1702
11-28-2007, 09:39 AM
What does it do when you peak over 100 amps? Does it go off scale or does it still record the peak amps?

skeppley
11-28-2007, 09:45 AM
It shows:

wren1702
11-28-2007, 10:04 AM
Thanks!

th3tick
11-28-2007, 02:06 PM
EagleTree E-Logger here as well, but with wire leads. For bigger helis, it just gives you more options on where to mount it. That's critical, since you have to plug the pack into it. The only one that I put the Dean's direct version on was my 450.

John

catfight
11-28-2007, 02:50 PM
I never had a problem mounting because just like skeppley its just for setup or testing. Move it from 600 to 450 as needed.

0636
11-28-2007, 06:00 PM
I have one with build-in deans. Well, couple days ago I have used it on my Trex 600 CF.

30 sec in flight on idle up 1... around 2000 rpm, 15 feet altitude... over sudden motor loosing power... I thought, oh well that might be 600XL infamous shaft (but there was no wining sound). I was able to auto heli more or less. It turns out that lipo connector come off from eagletree one.

I was lucky this time. Spring in dean connector become too flat (I fixed it back)... but I think I need to come up with some way to secure this for future.

flyingtanks
11-28-2007, 11:38 PM
I have the EagleTree with wire leads (added my own Deans). Love it. Don't bother with the PowerPanel. I thought it was cool but in practice I basically never actually use it.

DominicD
11-28-2007, 11:58 PM
The eagletree uses an Allegro hall sensor. It's not a shunt so if you go over 100A no damage is done.

xStatiCa
11-29-2007, 02:49 AM
Good info HFG. I was wondering about that myself. The only issue is the amp rating of the deans connector at some point.

bugdozer
11-30-2007, 01:04 PM
I have the EagleTree version 2 but they are coming out with a version 3 that has more inputs and more memory. They also have a 150AMP option if you need it.