PDA

View Full Version : When Should I upgrade

DumbDawg
03-14-2008, 11:34 AM
I'm a noob to RC and helo's so I'm try'n to ask before I get into to much trouble. I KNOW that 'accidents' are an inevitable part of flying.

I'm going to stay with the wooden main blades as I can see smack'n them a few times and have to replace'm. My first question is this... Should I upgrade the broken bits from plastic or stick to the plastic until I'm not really breaking them anymore. Then go to cnc after??

I am upgrading the motor ans esc right away as it died already almost out of the box. So I have on order 2 different motor... 1 to use and a backup. I have a 3900 and a 4200kv motors and 30A esc(programmable) coming. Someone suggested putting a 15A mini fuse inline power to the esc to spare the esc from ever being cooked... Good idea maybe someone here can say otherwise and why not??

I also am looking at two other upgrades and want to know whether they will work or not. One is a 72mhz, Corona 6ch dual conversion receiver, RD62011.... will this work and is it a simple re&re. Comes with an RX crystal.

The other is an Orange Futaba GY401 gyro or a Black Futaba GY401(settings on top of gyro) Gyro. Will these simple pop onto the bird, plug'm in and go like stank or some mods necessary or straight up not at all???

Thats all I want for christmas.... that and another bird... a gasser... vroom vroom vrrooomm http://image2-0.rcuniverse.com/e1/forum/image/s4.gif

JustPlaneChris
03-15-2008, 10:08 PM