PDA

View Full Version : Close Call!

romulus
03-31-2008, 08:18 AM
First of all, I want to thank you all the great information on this forum. As a newbie, I am now able to hover tail-in in an area of about 4 x 4 feet while my driveway is 15 x 15 feet with my E-flite Blade CP+ ( with or without wind).
Yesterday, I was practicing my hover in my driveway and suddenly I heard a loud bang in my garage door. When that happened, my heli started to shake like crazy so I landed. Luckily I was about 2 feet above the ground. I powered down and checked my heli. I couldn’t find anything that was missing, so I started to spool up but it started to shake again. :confused:
So, I checked my garage door to see if I kicked a rock or something, but it did not made any sense since the heli was in the air.
Upon checking, I was surprised to find a steel rod of about 2 1/2 inch long stuck on the garage door! :shock: Oh my…. It was just a few feet away where I was standing! :shock:
I looked closely at my main wood blades and I found a hole poked through the tape I put to add a bit of strength on the tips since there are times that I ended up scraping the blades. Overall the blades are in good shape but it got a bit softer with all the banging I had from time to time. I am guessing that E-flite adds these rods to balance the blades since I found a rod in the other blade as well.
So, the moral of the story is change your blades if becomes too damaged to fly! Wear your safety glasses just in case. :thumbup:

xeispen
03-31-2008, 08:46 AM
Holy S*** man. That's hella scary. Your heli shooting projectiles at you:bawl

Skarn
03-31-2008, 08:59 AM
Yeah bro, every blade I've ever seen has the lead weights in them. Never heard of them coming out like that though!

Damn, that was a close call!

Skarn

romulus
03-31-2008, 09:01 AM
Yep, it was scary when I found out what happened. I changed a new set of blades to finish up my packs and this time I was wearing my safety glasses..

forjer