PDA

View Full Version : SETUP of Spartan DS760 Gyro & Logictech 3100G servo


Pages : [1] 2

MonsterMaxx
07-08-2008, 02:08 PM
The servo finally showed up today (4 days late.)

When I try to center the servo, it only moves in one direction. It only responds to left rudder, when I give right rudder it does nothing. This withOUT the gyro being hooked up at all. When I hook up the gyro, it does the same thing.

I know this servo has some funky settings, is this normal or do I have a defective servo?

Is there a setup guide for the 760 and this servo?

Jetleaf
07-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Yeah that servo has a different start point than most. I don't mean where the servo starts moving from, but the digital start point. You'll have to go into the servo configuration mode on the Spartan and select the correct frame width/frequency. Spartans website should be your destination if you don't have a manual.

Buzzkill
07-08-2008, 07:53 PM
In my opinion you should install the servo without the horn hooked up to the gyro just like your going to place it for final installation. Another word's hook everything up like normal except the servo horns. Power up the Rx and allow the tail servo to activate. Unplug the power and that's where your tail servo wants to center. Attach the servo horn as close to 90 degrees to the tail servo as possible. Set the screw and enter setup on the 760.

The basic functions of the Spartan are as follows. While toggling your gyro switch the Spartan will blink and the tail servo will move letting you know it's in setup mode. The first thing you do is set the direction. Next you set the limits. After seting the limits the servo will center itself right in the middle of the limits you set.

I know this is way over simplified but you should get the basic idea.

I have the USB cable so I don't know how to select the servo type without it. If you don't have the cable I recommend it.

Angelos
07-08-2008, 07:54 PM
Set the ds760 to 760uSec/333Hz

-Angelos

MonsterMaxx
07-08-2008, 08:25 PM
The concern for me is that it doesn't operate correctly even WITHOUT the gyro.

Just hooked to the rx left rudder works perfectly normally, right rudder does nothing. Another servo works fine. When I put it on another channel it does the same thing.

I think it's a bad servo.

Angelos
07-08-2008, 08:35 PM
The signal is different. The mid-point is shifted and this this is why it operates on one side and stops on the other as the signal goes out of spec. This servo can only be used through a gyro set at the correct mode.

-Angelos

Buzzkill
07-08-2008, 09:21 PM
The signal is different. The mid-point is shifted and this this is why it operates on one side and stops on the other as the signal goes out of spec. This servo can only be used through a gyro set at the correct mode.

-Angelos

A little off topic so I appologize but, if the shear performance of the Spartan 760 isn't enough of a reason to buy this exceptional product we get this, a direct response from the people that make it. It is my personal opinion that replies like this (of which I've seen many from Spartan in several forums) in the Helista infested, often neglected and certainly abused Gaui 200 forum direct from the designer (take note Align, Futaba,Spektrum, Hitech, E-flite, Logitech, JR, Gaui and the rest of the invisible people) is more than enough reason to support Spartan.

I'm not kissing butt here so don't take it that way. I'm simply voicing my opinion and in my opinion, Spartan deserves the "Spartan kicks ass" comment more than any company that I've seen on HeliFreak. Not only for an outstanding, top of the line product but for standing out and standing up and backing their product directly with the people that use it.

I say we make Spartan an official Helista sponsered Company. I know I have.:clappp

GreenCello
07-08-2008, 09:40 PM
Huzzah! Angelos designed a superior product and gives personal support. What more can you ask for? (except that they be in stock but that will change, glad I got mine)

Jetleaf
07-08-2008, 10:16 PM
Angelos you the man. :noteworthy And your gyro is the shizzle.:thumbup:

MonsterMaxx
07-08-2008, 11:50 PM
Set the ds760 to 760uSec/333Hz. The signal is different. The mid-point is shifted and this this is why it operates on one side and stops on the other as the signal goes out of spec. This servo can only be used through a gyro set at the correct mode.
-Angelos
Cool! That's fixed it. Y'all might want to correct your instructions, it has the 3100G listed under the 1520uSec 333Hz (default.) [Doc. V1.2]

Next issue is that I've gone thru the endpoint setting part and it seems I've got the endpoints set right - getting full travel out of the tail, but it appears only about 60% of the tx's stick travel = 100% of the servo travel. The last 30-40% of stick movement does nothing. I've checked the travel adjustment in the TX and it's 100%.
Checking in rate mode.
That's not normal is it? If not, what do I do?

Jetleaf
07-09-2008, 02:21 AM
Try maxing out the endpoints/ATV's in the transmitter.

MonsterMaxx
07-09-2008, 09:46 AM
Try maxing out the endpoints/ATV's in the transmitter.

That's a little worse, trying 75% didn't help either. (watching the DX7's monitor screen it the servo stops moving just past the 50% mark)

Something doesn't seem right.

I've got a few days to sort this out before the replacement blade grip shows up and the pins & crimps from hanson get here. Hopefully we'll get this sorted out by then - I'm very much ready to fly this little bird.

Buzzkill
07-09-2008, 10:01 AM
Mine doesn't do that. Weird. I have a 760 installed and it's nice and smooth throughout the stick travel.

Jetleaf
07-09-2008, 11:10 AM
I had the same thing happen with a different gyro. I set the L and R rudder ATVs to 150 and then reset them to 100 by pressing the "clear" button and that fixed mine.

MonsterMaxx
07-09-2008, 02:08 PM
I had the same thing happen with a different gyro. I set the L and R rudder ATVs to 150 and then reset them to 100 by pressing the "clear" button and that fixed mine.

no joy

Hopefully the Spartan guy will chime in with an answer...

Jetleaf
07-09-2008, 02:18 PM
Is your gyro assigned to the gear channel or the rudder channel? Try switching to the other and see if that has any affect. I would max out the ATV's on the Aux channel as well. You might want to reset the model data in the Tx.

MonsterMaxx
07-09-2008, 03:04 PM
no joy.

I do notice that it's better w/ left stick than it is with right stick.

That is, it continues to move for about 75% of the left stick, but is 50-60% of right stick.

I've cleared the atvs on rudder and gear. gyro is plugged in as instructed in the manual.
Black -> rudder
red ->gear (gain)
atvs on both set to 100%
tx is a DX7, rx is a 6100
input select: aux2->aux2, gear->gear (if I set gear->gyro the gyro will not arm)

Hopefully the Spartan guy will chime in with an answer...

Angelos
07-09-2008, 07:51 PM
The gyro is in charge of the servo, not the pilot. The rudder position is just a command for the gyro selling it how fast to yaw. The gyro then devices where to move the servo to archive that. Make sure the gyro revering is ok and gyro endpoints are set for the maximum available travel. Set your radio's rudder endpoints to 100% and go fly.

-Angelos

MonsterMaxx
07-09-2008, 10:59 PM
The gyro is in charge of the servo, not the pilot. The rudder position is just a command for the gyro selling it how fast to yaw. The gyro then devices where to move the servo to archive that. Make sure the gyro revering is ok and gyro endpoints are set for the maximum available travel. Set your radio's rudder endpoints to 100% and go fly.

-Angelos
So you are saying what I'm seeing is normal and it is operating properly?

Cool, then all I need to do is wait for a blade grip (one of them was defective) and I'm RTF. :)

MonsterMaxx
07-10-2008, 12:39 AM
And while you are answering that question...

Suggested setting (I assume to mean ATV on the gear channel) for this little heli and servo combo?

I tried holding it in my hand and spinning it up a little (no main blades, but the tail is in place) I got the ATVs down to 30% and it's still wagging on both modes.

I realize I'm not a very experience pilot and even more inexperience with setup. Had help with the Rex, it's got a 401 and the atv on gear channel is 80% & 85%

Can you please suggest some settings to start off with?

piper
07-10-2008, 01:37 AM
You can't tell anything about the gain without the blades on and actually hovering. Then see if it wags.

Angelos
07-10-2008, 11:32 AM
> Can you please suggest some settings to start off with?

A recommendation is made in the user guide.

-Angelos

stoatnchips
07-10-2008, 03:07 PM
The gyro is in charge of the servo, not the pilot. The rudder position is just a command for the gyro selling it how fast to yaw. The gyro then devices where to move the servo to archive that. Make sure the gyro revering is ok and gyro endpoints are set for the maximum available travel. Set your radio's rudder endpoints to 100% and go fly.

-Angelos

Angelos.... you can tell its a 1:15AM post but i guess we can forgive you; this new Spartan 24x7 support needs to be taken up by Gaui and the the others;)

Angelos
07-10-2008, 03:19 PM
LOL... 1.51AM actually! The wonderful work of the spell checker... maybe some wrong words but not a single spelling mistake ;)

-Angelos

OICU812
08-20-2008, 10:53 PM
Well I got a 3100 in today. I have a weird issue, seems related. I changed to the recommended 760/333 etc.... no matter where I set my limit on my Spartan I can not acheive more throw clockwise rotation on the servo?? I tried everything and lots of throw that can be increased in counterclockwise rotation from servo, but limited on clockwise throw... VERY bizzare. I have 6 of these gyros, very familiar with all that can be done with them. Either this gyro is picky with this servo, or I got a bad servo.... ANY ideas Angelos???