Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization

Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Old 06-09-2009, 06:40 AM   #1
Guntars
Registered Users

Default Helicommand vs Copilot II

Hallo!
I am new to helicopters, but not to RC planes. I have ordered T-Rex 600 ESP for AP. Since I do not have experience in real flying (just Simulator) what do you suggest will be better? I had experience with FMA Copilot FS8 on my planes and it works great when there is good whether (temperature difference), but not in cloudy days.
How is Copilot II in cloudy days or just after rain?

I have additional questions:
- Is it correct that Helicommand in horizontal mode (letís say 300 ft in sky) without constant stick input will dive? (Of course it will drift, but two persons in forum mentioned that it will uncontrollably dive and crush).
- How is Helicommand internal gyro for tail? Is it good for just AP work? (no 3d of course).
Guntars is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:17 AM   #2
jrohland
HF Support

My HF Map location
Default What's you budget?

Since you said you are getting a T-Rex I assume you have a limited budget for this AP project. Otherwise the http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=114855 would be your better choice.

I can't speak to the HeliCommand but the CPII has a vertical sensor option which can continuously calibrate to the current conditions. It still cannot activate in heavy overcast. You can use the Preflight menu to check the temp difference.
jrohland is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:38 AM   #3
Guntars
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter

Bugged is limited! So...I want to focus on Helicommand or FMA Copilot II. Well, I had some thoughts about Gyrobot 900 also, but perhaps in future.
Guntars is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 08:03 AM   #4
Mr Boombastic
Registered Users

I am using the Helicommand.