Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Miniature Aircraft Helicopters > MA Electric


MA Electric IonX2, Razor and Furion Support forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #1
dpelletier
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,315
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South of the Border, Maynard, Massachusetts
Default Furion 6 went in...

Furion 6 went in this afternoon.
Was just coming out of a loop and everything stopped. I mean I think the head stopped turning... not sure, it all happened so fast. It dropped like a rock into a muddy area from maybe 200 feet up.
Damaged Canopy, tail boom and that's all I see for now.
I actually spooled it up (low rpm) after and everything looks ok.

Is it possible the one-way seized up in flight?
Not sure where to start?
__________________
Futaba 14SG, Goblin 500, Synergy E5, Furion 6, Beam E4(v1) FBL, Skookum
dpelletier is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 02:57 PM   #2
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,903
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

Ouch. Sorry to hear about the crash.

When you say the blades stopped. Did they stop all at once or by the time the bird hit the ground they were stopped?

I would think that if the owb had locked up you wouldn't know it until you tried to shut it down.

If the electronics lost power or the RX had a signal loss the heli could have gone into fail safe and that could be power down if you haven't set it up otherwise.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Team Synergy/Team Scorpion/Team iKon
Chris Sexton is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 11:52 PM   #3
Corvette & Copter Guy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,961
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesota City, MN
Default

Sorry to hear.
__________________
LOGO XXTREME 480, 700, 800
ASSAULT 700 (BEATER)
TREX 150
JR XG-14, MKS, OUTRAGE, PL8, SCORPION, VBAR, YGE
Corvette & Copter Guy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:41 AM   #4
spootman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,826
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Worcester, MA
Default

Sorry to hear the bad news Danny. Did you forget to switch out of normal mode (if you still use it) before the loop? I agree, if the one way seized you wouldn't notice until you spooled down or tried to auto.
spootman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:59 AM   #5
jadams
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Broome Co. NY
Default

A seized one way would not stop the blades unless the belt broke and wrapped up the main gear too. Just sounds like you stalled the blades and it fell from the sky....things happen quick.
__________________
~Miniature Aircraft USA~Scorpion Power Systems~
~Team BART~FASST Equipped
jadams is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:39 AM   #6
ahahn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Default

Just from the size of these blades, it would be amazing that they could just "stop"without completely wrapping up the head. There is a lot of stored rotational energy in the blades.

Must be one of those "slow motion" like feelings you can get when something like this happens.

Sorry to hear about it though.
ahahn is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:13 PM   #7
edsel.labao
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,312
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern CA
Default

That could happen. Do you know what is the peak power the yge can handle?
__________________
TEAM HORIZON HOBBY
Blade Helicopters - Spektrum


My RC facebook and Youtube Page (please subscribe to get latest news and video):

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
edsel.labao is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:17 PM   #8
dpelletier
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,315
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South of the Border, Maynard, Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomtt View Post
That could happen. Do you know what is the peak power the yge can handle?
I've been looking and can't find anything.
__________________
Futaba 14SG, Goblin 500, Synergy E5, Furion 6, Beam E4(v1) FBL, Skookum
dpelletier is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:05 PM   #9
ahahn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Default

Just because a motor/esc is rated at 100 amps doesn't mean that you will actually pull that much.

That is entirely dependent on how much you are loading things.

In fact you can pull an arbitrary number of amps, at least for a short time , limited only by the coil resistance of the motor. Likewise with a low loading you can pull just a few amps.

The best way to see what is going on is to use a datalogger. Another option is to look at what other Furion6 setups are getting.

If you are flying a particular style, you will need a number of watts going into the rotor. This is independent of whether you have a 6s, 10s, or 12s setup. Of course the amps will scale inversely with the pack voltage. This at least will get you in the ballpark.

Last edited by ahahn; 04-03-2012 at 02:06 PM.. Reason: typos
ahahn is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 03:59 PM   #10
dpelletier
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,315
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South of the Border, Maynard, Massachusetts
Default Found the cause...

Finally got my boom replacement, so I started my tear-down today.

Not pilot error - pitt crew error (same guy though)

Pinion was loose on the motor shaft and one of the two grub screws was missing, other almost out... no indication of any thread locker anywhere

Oh well... just about ready to get back up... not quite sure what to do about the canopy or how to patch it while I wait for a replacement.

I'm thinking tape and epoxy?
__________________
Futaba 14SG, Goblin 500, Synergy E5, Furion 6, Beam E4(v1) FBL, Skookum
dpelletier is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:25 PM   #11
spootman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,826
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Worcester, MA
Default

Glad to hear you figured out the problem. Stinks when that happens, but at least you know what the problem was. I'm sure the epoxy would do the trick or if you have a scrap canopy, you could epoxy a patch to the inside of it.
spootman is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Miniature Aircraft Helicopters > MA Electric


MA Electric IonX2, Razor and Furion Support forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com