Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #1
codfish124
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default help! i cant get the tail to hold

I just got the new FBL mini titan im useing the gt5 and savox servos.. after a hard learning curve im startting to figor this thing out....


cyclic seems to be ok now from what i can test on it since my tail keeps kicking. is there some way to ajust the gain of the tail?? or is it all done with the P and I thing cause on my 8fg it the same wether im at 0% or 100% nothings changeing. pleas help thanks
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:45 AM   #2
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,759
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

You just have to experiment, specific advise won't work cause they are all different. Ihad to change my tail settings just with different mains.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:07 PM   #3
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

is there to high of a p setting.... can i get it to wag then bring it down??? cause with 110 on the p setting it still very soft and seems to be hunting
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
mrultralite
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,759
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Abbotsford BC canada
Default

I dunno , just experiment, you can run the whole range and it stays flyable. I found i had to turn P down to 20- 30 , Zero 'I' made the tail drift.
mrultralite is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:40 PM   #5
ady
Registered Users
 
Posts: 858
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich , norfolk , uk
Default

you could try turning off the D-sense on the tail in the GT5 , i run mine at zero , with high P value , she be solid
ady is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:34 PM   #6
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

thanks gonna give it another go
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:19 PM   #7
Oilsands
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by codfish124 View Post
I just got the new FBL mini titan im useing the gt5 and savox servos.. after a hard learning curve im startting to figor this thing out....


cyclic seems to be ok now from what i can test on it since my tail keeps kicking. is there some way to ajust the gain of the tail?? or is it all done with the P and I thing cause on my 8fg it the same wether im at 0% or 100% nothings changeing. pleas help thanks
Yes there is a Total gain that you can adjust via your Tx (gyro gain) but the P and I for the tail also comes into play from what I understand about this unit.
Put the gain (gyro) setting on a switch set for 60 and 100 (numbers on the screen of the GT-5), that way while in the air you can switch to 100 and see if the heli starts swinging. If it does just flip it back to 60 and it should go back to the way it was flying before switching.
Another thing do is set the Tail stick dynamic (under Stick menu) to 50.
P/I menu, set both of your P,s (tail and swash to 70), then set the I's to 60. Put the D-Sens for the tail at 35 and I-dyn for the tail at 45-50.

Give that a try and let us know the results.
I am new to this unit as well, so all this info was taken off the manual but hope it helps you out.
I also read about the suggestion of putting the D-sens to 0 for the tail.
What is your Intensity of filter set at? The manual is wrong and should be 0=least filtering and 5=most filtering. You can try setting that up around 4 if not there alreay (found under the Sensor Menu).
Oilsands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:02 AM   #8
swalko
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovakia
Default

Sorry, but your answer is only shot in dark and probably it will make everything worse . Mess with more parameters at once and clearly without G-T5 knowledge will lead you only to bigger troubles ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by codfish124 View Post
the dead band is set at 5 seemed to help. and its not a slow piro it will just kick left and right at random
This seems like mechanical problem.
swalko is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 10:25 AM   #9
Oilsands
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilsands View Post
Yes there is a Total gain that you can adjust via your Tx (gyro gain) but the P and I for the tail also comes into play from what I understand about this unit.
Put the gain (gyro) setting on a switch set for 60 and 100 (numbers on the screen of the GT-5), that way while in the air you can switch to 100 and see if the heli starts swinging. If it does just flip it back to 60 and it should go back to the way it was flying before switching.
Another thing do is set the Tail stick dynamic (under Stick menu) to 50.
P/I menu, set both of your P,s (tail and swash to 70), then set the I's to 60. Put the D-Sens for the tail at 35 and I-dyn for the tail at 45-50.

Give that a try and let us know the results.
I am new to this unit as well, so all this info was taken off the manual but hope it helps you out.
I also read about the suggestion of putting the D-sens to 0 for the tail.
What is your Intensity of filter set at? The manual is wrong and should be 0=least filtering and 5=most filtering. You can try setting that up around 4 if not there alreay (found under the Sensor Menu).
I got the filtering incorrect, 0 is most filtering and 5 is least filtering.
I got all the info off the manual and they are the suggested starting settings. It was just suggestions.
Oilsands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:59 PM   #10
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

What happens if I set the d-sen to high..... Also the pitch seems to nevertheless soft..... Like there's some sort of EXPO in it that's makeing this hole thing much worse to fly
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:29 PM   #11
Oilsands
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by codfish124 View Post
What happens if I set the d-sen to high..... Also the pitch seems to nevertheless soft..... Like there's some sort of EXPO in it that's makeing this hole thing much worse to fly
What is your Pitch & Agility settings at for the Elevator and Aileron? If they are not at 100, that may help setting them to that.

What is your total gain at (number on the GT-5 unit)?
Oilsands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:05 AM   #12
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

Total gain is like 97 and i havent had a chance to change any of the other settings just need the tail to hold so i can get a feel for it
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:50 AM   #13
Falcorma
Registered Users
 
Posts: 401
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Floral City, FL
Default

Make sure your tail assembly is absolutely 100% tight and together. One loose hex bolt caused my to to was on any setting I tried. Lock tight is your friend here

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
PRTOS....a better way to fly
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcorma is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:50 AM   #14
Falcorma
Registered Users
 
Posts: 401
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Floral City, FL
Default

Wag***

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
PRTOS....a better way to fly
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcorma is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:58 PM   #15
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

thanks for all the help... did it with the beastx so im thinking the servo is bad or i need to run a seraperat bec
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:46 PM   #16
Reever45
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Grand Junction, Co
Default

Just finishing up my Mint Titan with the GT5,curious to see how it goes with it. I have used and we still have a fellow flying my Old Trex 550 with a GT5 and its great on it.
Reever45 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 11:50 AM   #17
syberbruno
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: germany,Nidderau
Default setup MT e325S GT5.1

Hi
Ute this setup and it will fly....

AKTUELLES Setting MT E325S

Swashplate
P 89
I 77
I D-stick 81
D-sense 25
Feed Foreward 92
I-lim 18
Hover 5

Tail

P 75
I 70
D-sense 22
Tail-D-DB 25
Tail Assym 0
Tail-Dyn 50
DMA -Pitch 0
DMA-cyclic 0
Smmoth stop 0


Pitch 100
Ail 90
Elev 90

Servo

Tail typ 1500 (Hitec HSG5084MG)
Tail sek 0,051
Tail-Freq 333
Sw-Plate 120
SW sek 0,051(Turnigy S306G)
SW-freq 200

greetings from merry old germany
syberbruno is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:50 PM   #18
Falcorma
Registered Users
 
Posts: 401
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Floral City, FL
Default

I am beyond happy with my mini titan and gt5. Finally am getting it tuned. Just got to fine tune the tail settings a little more. All in all I absolutely love this gyro. Wery very stable in hover and it flips and rolls so fast. Like I said before your tail has to be perfectly put together with nothing loose. Fixed all my issues

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
PRTOS....a better way to fly
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcorma is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:44 PM   #19
salmans21
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA, CT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by codfish124 View Post
thanks for all the help... did it with the beastx so im thinking the servo is bad or i need to run a seraperat bec

I have the same heli and gt5 gyro. I was planning on ordering savox servos for cyclic but I don't want to have to use a separate BEC. Which ESC are you using? I am going to use the stock Ace one that came with the kit, do u think it will need a BEC with savox servos?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
T-Rex 500, DFC, BeastX FBL
T-Rex 450, DFC 7200BX
130x HP08s, mCPx BL
Nano CPx Mild Brushless
salmans21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:48 PM   #20
codfish124
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US colorado lakewood
Default

I'm thinking a sbec will do it I'm running the ace esc I haven't tryed to do any thing with esc programing yet ether
codfish124 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com