Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2011, 06:52 PM   #1
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default Blinking Jazz esc - Help please

i had a question regarding my Jazz 55-10-32

it is for my swift with 10s setup, with scorpion motor. i have a separate BEC (Hercules HV - it has two leads going to the mikado minV, i plugged them into the RXb and RXc slots (throttle leads and BEC leads are connected using Y)

anyhow, when i power my heli, there is no initialization sound from the motor. then i noticed that the jazz55 is blinking - 1 time. i tried switching between the RXb and RXc - no change, the light on the Jazz keeps blinking.

i tried to reprogram/wipe out all my settings ... but i couldn't get into the programming mode (the motor doesn't make the beeping sound at all). BUT, the miniV is working fine, all cyclic servos are acting the way they are supposed to.

the instruction manual says that if the ESC blinks 1x, that means the voltage is too low. i checked the voltage - they are all at 6.02 volts. i tired taking both leads off from the RX a and b - so, no power is going to the miniV. i still get the 1x blinkings on the Jazz

any advice will be very much appreciated?
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 10:19 AM   #2
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Quote:
i checked the voltage - they are all at 6.02 volts

They're talking about the drive voltage, your big fat battery. Something seems to be wrong with her.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 04:57 PM   #3
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Um, I've probably misunderstood .. Blinking 1x if you turn on?

Power on self test failed. The Jazz has to be checked by Kontronik.

Sorry, no chance to fix that by yourself.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 05:10 PM   #4
Nko15
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,485
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hoorn (NL)
Default

Can also be a low voltage warning. if you operate the kontronik's below the rated voltages they will do weird things too.. I'd check the battery first. 6.02 volts doesnt sound right for a 10s Lipo.
__________________
Designing/Building the HEX Helicopters
Sponsored by Gens Ace Batteries, Gryphon Rotorblades, RCbearings.co.uk,
Nko15 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 05:52 PM   #5
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

You're right. The one-time blinking is a bit confusing with the Jazz. In fact it means if appearing in operation that a low voltage condition has occurred.

I talked about that earlier with K. They swear that if it happens when powering on, means a failed POST - only.
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:14 PM   #6
Nko15
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,485
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hoorn (NL)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl7uae View Post
You're right.
WOW!.

Sorry, couldnt resist it
__________________
Designing/Building the HEX Helicopters
Sponsored by Gens Ace Batteries, Gryphon Rotorblades, RCbearings.co.uk,
Nko15 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 07:21 PM   #7
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default

opps, i meant 6.02v going into the miniV

i should have been more clear, but 6.02v/cell for lipo is a bit high ... don't you think,
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 03:25 AM   #8
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Jazz's BEC voltage (5V) and that of the external BEC are separated? Did you pull the red wire?
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:18 AM   #9
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default

the Jazz 55-10-32 i have doesn't have built in BEC, there is no need to pull the Red wire

but yes, I have tried both ways (with and without pulling the red wire - the light still blinks on the Jazz)

thank you for all your posts !
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 05:14 PM   #10
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Well.., sorry, overseen it, 55-10-32, kinda special.

Returning to K, no other way.
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:19 PM   #11
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default

well for a long time, the 55-10-32 used to be the top of the line HV ESC Kontroniks used to produce. i hate to send it back in to Germany.

i recently did some other tests, and will have a full write up ... and also spoke to ReadyHeli since I just bought the high voltage BEC from them.

cheers, Khan
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:28 PM   #12
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,459
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

I have a similar setup, Jazz 55-10-32 on 8S with External BEC at 6V. I would try getting it to reset if possible.

Go into Vbar and make sure throttle endpoints are 100 in Vbar, means adjusting off of the normal 82% ATV's in the radio.

See if you can get it to reset in Mode 1.

I have a 55-10-32 in my Logo 500SE that is going to need to go as I just thermaled it on 8S. It's too hot in Houston 105F today so going to need to find another ESC if you are interested , PM me.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 02:29 AM   #13
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default

Just to keep you all updated, I finally figured out the issue with blinking Jazz – by accident.

You see, I was testing out a Hercules HV BEC (up to 14s) with the Jazz. As mentioned, when I would plug in the 10s lipo, the Jazz wouldn’t initialize – it would blink 2x. I got quite frustrated, and went ahead and plugged in my other Hercules BEC (up to 10s), and right away the Jazz initialized … woo hoo.

I went ahead and mounted the 10s BEC, and just for the hell of it … I tried plugging my other BEC (14s), this time around the motor also initialized. It dawned on me that the BEC was affecting ESC, since they were initially placed right next to each other. I am well aware of keeping BEC/ESCs away from the RX … but, I never knew that the BEC/ESC also have to be placed apart.

I test flew the heli 6 times, no issues what so ever !!!

Cheers, Khan
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 06:03 AM   #14
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,667
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Interesting.

The Hercules BEC has an inductance with a strong magnetic stray field at close range. The JAZZ 55 also has an inductance in his BEC. Yes, he has a BEC, but it only supplies inside.

You cannot magnetically shield the inductors, which wouldn't be economical. The Hercules BEC couples into the JAZZ, when the two inductors are very close.
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:58 AM   #15
wrathofkhan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Default

the blinking ESC is a recent event, i initially had problems with the pitch. i kept replacing a lot of things on the heli, trying to figure out why my pitch was not performing properly. here goes a link to my original problem: http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=318033

with my original BEC: WRL-HBECHC Western Robotics Hercules 5.0A Battery Eliminator Circuit ... the problem was i couldn't hold the heli at any specific altitude. it kept going up and down (please refer to other link for details). i thought the BEC was under powered, or defective ... so, i purchased a new BEC

with my new BEC: WRL-HBECS Western Robotics Hercules Super BEC (14S 10A/15A Peak)
it wouldn't even initialize. i thought the new BEC was defective

after moving the BEC, now 1. the Jazz initializes like it is supposed to, 2. no issues with pitch, heli stays where i put it
wrathofkhan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:40 PM   #16
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,459
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Wow. I bet it feels good to solve something so "Mysterious".
Glad you got it solved.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com