Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Dipweed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 806
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Tennessee, Memphis
Default DX7 BACKUP ERROR Fix

DX7 BACKUP ERROR display Fix
Temporary fix for DX7 BACKUP ERROR display
1. Enter into the DX7 Service Menu
2. Calibrate the Stick Throws
3. Press and hold CLEAR button

DX7 LCD screen now will display the standard screen (pg 33 pdf man)
but
When CLEAR button is released the DX7 reverts back to displaying the BACUP ERROR
Switching off/on the DX7 results in the same BACUP ERROR display.
Help! Help! Help!

Again I can get rid of the BACUP ERROR dispaly
Only
As long as the CLEAR button is held down.
I can program move trim tabs everything.
But
When that CLEAR button is released.
DX7 reverts back to the same BACUP ERROR display
Help!!
__________________
Align&HK450 Pro/150 DFC/Blade stuff
AR Drone
Dipweed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:19 AM   #2
aerocal
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,864
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

Box it up and send it back to Horizon for service.Did you by any chance leave the radio on and have the battery run down? Or have the battery get disconnected while the radio was turned on?
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:45 AM   #3
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,269
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

Sorry to hear dude.
I've been pretty lackadaisical sending mine back as my DX8 is working fine for me right now.
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:40 AM   #4
aerocal
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,864
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

Yes its always kind of a PITA to have to send something back for service.The bright side is that right now it should get fixed and returned in a very reasonable amount of time.
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:14 AM   #5
Dipweed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 806
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Tennessee, Memphis
Default CA glue my paws

Have talked with HH on repair
and
They will do reprogram and ship back.
but
As you can tell I get in and get rid of the BACUP ERROR lock out
but
only as long as I hold that friggen CLEAR button down!

I know
I will CA my paws to the CLEAR button.
It will be a little hard to take a wiz but its worth it!
__________________
Align&HK450 Pro/150 DFC/Blade stuff
AR Drone
Dipweed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:55 PM   #6
Dipweed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 806
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Tennessee, Memphis
Default It is getting close!

Ok
Now I don't have to calibrate the sticks
and
Can release the CLEAR button!!!!

I get to the start up screen!
I can program!
I can save the program!
but
When I turn off the DX7 and turn it back on
I get the BACKUP ERROR screen.

Its getting close
I am getting there but still need:
Help!
__________________
Align&HK450 Pro/150 DFC/Blade stuff
AR Drone

Last edited by Dipweed; 03-09-2012 at 04:28 PM..
Dipweed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:10 AM   #7
Dipweed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 806
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Tennessee, Memphis
Default Update

Update
Even though I found out how to reset the Tx CPU it was to high of risk. If you touch the wrong legs on the CPU you could blow the CPU or the board.
Just call me chicken
So to decrease shipping weight I pulled the battery and shipped in a small box with news paper.
As you have heard before HH service is outstanding!
Not only did they rest the Tx CPU but found and replaced the damaged DX7 antenna housing. How in the fuc@ that got damaged I will never know Shipping??
This is HH recommendation:
Make sure the tx battery pack does not fall below operation conditions or the plug does not get yank fast from the tx while powered up. Any kind of voltage shock to the tx could cause this problem to occur again. Another issue that could cause this problem to occurred again voltage shock is if the battery is not supplying above 80% capacity.
Well now for the fix after I got back the tx back from HH:
I charged the OEM battery on my charger
Bad Tx battery!!! NO
Checked the OEM Tx battery output 11.6v but when I turned on the Tx the battery dropped to 8V. What the Fuc@!!! It seems the volts on the battery check out but under load the pac died.
Then checked the OEM Tx charger output 9.6v dc
Bad Tx charger!!!
DX7 charger should be 11.6V dc output and charges a NimH battery pack to ~12V in 16 hours.
Now I know why my Tx when into that error mode.
So
Check the battery voltage drop and check your charger output or death due us part for a DX7.
Now I am using my LiPo charger and built a 2500mA 8 cell NimH battery pack.
I was torn between using my 2650 Tx Lipo and installing diods or making a 2500mA NimH pack.
Well
When I saw HH selling 2500mA Nimh for 63$. That pushed my over the edge. For 12$ I made a 2500 NimH pac. I now have 4 chargers that I can use.
I have the Turnigy Acucell 6 (best) and 3 12V 1A, 150mA, 250mA chargers.
Charged the pack with the 12v 1A and found caused excessive heat generated.
Charged the pack with the 12v 250mA still found no excessive heat.
Charged the pack with the 12V 150mA charger for 1 day found no excessive heat.
So
The moral of this Story:
Check the Tx battery output.
Check the Tx charger output.
In HH we trust.
__________________
Align&HK450 Pro/150 DFC/Blade stuff
AR Drone

Last edited by Dipweed; 04-27-2012 at 12:46 AM.. Reason: changed word above to bellow
Dipweed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 01:46 PM   #8
rayafdaly
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ireland
Default Backup Error on a Spectrum DX7i

This will work, it worked for me.

With the TX off

Put the stix in the middle (yes thats the throttle!)
Flt Mode N (Normal)
Hold-Rudder D/R on 1
Elevator D/R on 1
Gear on 0
Aux2 on 1
Aileron D/R on 0

Now press the UP scroll while powering ON the TX

Happy Flying:-)
rayafdaly is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com