Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Other R/C Flight Simulators


Other R/C Flight Simulators Other R/C Flight Simulators


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2012, 07:44 AM   #1
mhurst
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: belleville mi
Default flight sims

does anyone know if you can get a simulator compatable with mac osx.
mhurst is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,010
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Of course. Aerofly 5.7. It does not have the fancy features like RealFlight 6, but the physics are phenomenal, and it offers more T-Rex's than RF 6. It also offers the Blade 400 and several Logo's.

Check http://www.ikarus.net/index.php/de/ for more information.

However, eBay has several offerings at a substantially cheaper price with free shipping.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IKARUS-AEROF...ht_3931wt_1059
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-Aerof...#ht_2685wt_650

I originally purchased the version with the controller (GameCommander), but was very disappointed with how this controller worked. The controller would loose the trims after a few flights and required frequent calibrations during sessions. Ikarus replaced it with a brand new controller, but the new controller had the same issues.

With the DX8, it worked flawlessly, but it required several expensive attachments/connectors.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-AeroF...9#ht_953wt_650
and
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-Slave...ht_3090wt_1059
It also bothered me that I had to use the GameCommander as an interphase whenever I wanted to use my DX8. Like any other transmitter, the GameCommander is bulky, and I hated having to carry around both GameCommander and the DX8.

In my case, I sold the Mac version with the GameCommander and purchased the Mac version with just the interphase cable. I use it with the DX8, but I do not have to connect the bulky GameCommander anymore. If you go this last route using the DX8 or Futaba transmitter, you will still need the adapter http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-AeroF...9#ht_953wt_650
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:37 PM   #3
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,010
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

That Simulation X2 looks like something to consider once it becomes available. However, it did not seem to include a Mac OSX version.
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:20 PM   #4
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,010
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

My bad. You are right. At 1:45 into the video, it shows the OSX platform.
__________________
Whiplash E, Synergy's E7SE & E5, Goblin 570, Blade 300X
VBar Silverline x5, SK-540, AR7200BX
DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 5, ACCURC, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259

Last edited by curmudgeon; 03-07-2012 at 03:50 PM.. Reason: needed to make correction
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Other R/C Flight Simulators


Other R/C Flight Simulators Other R/C Flight Simulators

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com