Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Other R/C Flight Simulators


Other R/C Flight Simulators Other R/C Flight Simulators


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
PassinThru
Registered Users
 
Posts: 190
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Angry Aerofly 5.7.1.1 for the Mac

I see that some of you have Aerofly 5 for the Mac and that it seems to work well for you.
I bought version 5.0.3.5 on DVD and fairly quickly updated when updates became available. Newer is not always better. The lates version 5.7.1.1 for the Mac rarely recognized my JR 9503. The Aerofly support people suggested it may be one of my components or a bad installation. Well, I deleted all the Ikarus stuff off my Mac and re-installed version 5.0.3.5. It has recognized my JR 9503 every time now for the last four days - several times a day. That never happened with 5.7.1.1. I'm convinced that it's the update and not the components. I'd be happy with 5.0.3.5 except that the throttle/pitch stick (and the heli model's behaviour) has a built-in jerkiness that detracts from the simulation experience.
Coincidentally (maybe), I just noticed that the US Ikarus web site now only offers Aerofly 5 for the Mac with their "new game commander". You can only get the USB interface version for a Windows PC. Makes me wonder...
Any of you have a similar experience?
__________________
Gaui FES X5, Trex 450 Pro FB, Blade mcpX BL (dry docked), Blade 130X blinged, Blade msr, JR 9503, Aerofly 5
PassinThru is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:56 AM   #2
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Jeez, sorry you are having so much trouble with your JR transmitter. I currently use the DX8 with the 5.7.1.1 Mac interphase version, and it works fine for me. However, I admit that my preferred simulator is the RF6, even though it means that I have to reboot my 17" MBP using Bootcamp.

For Aerofly 5.7, eBay has all 4 versions.
(1) Mac USB Interphase version http://www.ebay.com/itm/IKARUS-AEROF...ht_4455wt_1059

(2) Mac Game Commander version http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-Aerof...#ht_2403wt_650

(3) Windows USB Interphase version http://www.ebay.com/itm/IKARUS-AEROF...ht_4929wt_1059

(4) Windows Game Commander version http://www.ebay.com/itm/IKARUS-AEROF...ht_4522wt_1059

I use to own the Mac Game Commander version, but the Game Commander controller would need frequent trimming. I got a replacement Game Commander, and it also had similar issues. The Game Commander version worked very well whenever I used the DX8. However, I had to use the Game Commander as an interphase, which would take lots of desk space. Eventually, I sold the Mac Game Commander version, and purchased the Mac Interphase version instead. I also purchased the Window crossgrade version.

Mac to Windows Crossgrade http://www.ikarus.net/index.php/en/p.../shop-usa.html

Windows to Mac Crossgrade http://www.ikarus.net/index.php/en/p.../shop-usa.html
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
PassinThru
Registered Users
 
Posts: 190
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Is help on the way?

Good to see that someone is having success using Aerofly 5.7 and a controller with similar technology. I think Ikarus is trying to be helpful. They've asked me to send them my tm.log file. It may take a few more days for them to get back to me.

By the way, I was wrong about Ikarus no longer selling the USB interface version for the Mac. It was just not on the Ikarus web page that I was linked to that featured, among other things, the game commander version. I had to search for on their somewhat awkwardly organized (in my opinion) web site.

Before I got Aerofly, I considered getting Realflight, but the prospect of re-booting every time made me opt for a simulator that claimed to be designed to work with OSX.

When it's working for me, Aerofly 5.7 looks great, has lots of different models to choose from and behaves very much flying me Trex 450 and Gaui X5. I sure hope the fix is on the way because getting another simulator starts to defeat the purpose of having one.
__________________
Gaui FES X5, Trex 450 Pro FB, Blade mcpX BL (dry docked), Blade 130X blinged, Blade msr, JR 9503, Aerofly 5
PassinThru is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:59 PM   #4
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

I also find their website difficult to navigate.
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 04:19 PM   #5
PassinThru
Registered Users
 
Posts: 190
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default

Well, the Ikarus Support Team came to my rescue. They asked me to ship them my .tm long, which I did, upgrade to OSX Lion, which I did, and lastly when that didn't fix it, to delete my .main file to reset the software. That last item fixed everything. Jitters virtually (hehe) disappeared, says hello to my JR 9503 every time for over a week now. Am lovin' it. Camera settings allow me to keep the heli in sight so I don't lose it as often, which is really good for continuous learning. This simulator in Mac version rocks!
Kudos Ikarus.
__________________
Gaui FES X5, Trex 450 Pro FB, Blade mcpX BL (dry docked), Blade 130X blinged, Blade msr, JR 9503, Aerofly 5
PassinThru is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:07 PM   #6
scoti333
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: austin,TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PassinThru View Post
Well, the Ikarus Support Team came to my rescue. They asked me to ship them my .tm long, which I did, upgrade to OSX Lion, which I did, and lastly when that didn't fix it, to delete my .main file to reset the software. That last item fixed everything. Jitters virtually (hehe) disappeared, says hello to my JR 9503 every time for over a week now. Am lovin' it. Camera settings allow me to keep the heli in sight so I don't lose it as often, which is really good for continuous learning. This simulator in Mac version rocks!
Kudos Ikarus.
Have you flown Phoenix at all? If so, how does it compare to Aerofly? I used to fly phoenix until my gateway laptop crapped out, and then wanted try it using bootcamp but my mac (new MBP i7 with Lion) won't partition the disk correctly for it to work with bootcamp for some reason If Aerofly has good helicopter physics and does indeed work with mac, it may be a viable option for me.
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:30 AM   #7
PassinThru
Registered Users
 
Posts: 190
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Good Physics

Scott, I can only compare with my actual flying experience, which admittedly is not a lot. I'm still working on upright flying. However, I think it's enough to say that the physics are very similar to the real thing. For example, even in "no wind" conditions, you can't let your fingers off the controls. The inherent instability of helicopters is well represented, thank you very much. You can also set wind conditions to a vast number of combinations to match actual conditions. I am very satisfied with the physics, and the graphics are adjustable to suit the capabilities of your MBP, which I expect are very good. The variety of sceneries and models is impressive. I am confident Aerofly 5 has the potential to be an excellent trainer for you.
__________________
Gaui FES X5, Trex 450 Pro FB, Blade mcpX BL (dry docked), Blade 130X blinged, Blade msr, JR 9503, Aerofly 5
PassinThru is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 02:40 PM   #8
scoti333
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: austin,TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PassinThru View Post
Scott, I can only compare with my actual flying experience, which admittedly is not a lot. I'm still working on upright flying. However, I think it's enough to say that the physics are very similar to the real thing. For example, even in "no wind" conditions, you can't let your fingers off the controls. The inherent instability of helicopters is well represented, thank you very much. You can also set wind conditions to a vast number of combinations to match actual conditions. I am very satisfied with the physics, and the graphics are adjustable to suit the capabilities of your MBP, which I expect are very good. The variety of sceneries and models is impressive. I am confident Aerofly 5 has the potential to be an excellent trainer for you.
Thanks. Do u know if it will work on OS 10.7? I have a DX8 radio, what do I need to get to hook it up? I looked on their website for answers to these q's but I could'nt find anything definitive...
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 06:54 PM   #9
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

I can confirm that AeroFly 5.7 works on my MBP running OSX 10.7 Lion. I also use the DX8 with AeroFly 5.7. However, you need to purchase a special adaptor to connect to the DX8 or Futaba radio. The adaptor is only about $18, but I wish that AeroFly would already include it with the software, especially with the non USB GameCommander version.
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:26 PM   #10
scoti333
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: austin,TX
Default

So the futaba adaptor works with the DX8?
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 04:39 PM   #11
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoti333 View Post
So the futaba adaptor works with the DX8?
The adapter is Ikarus part number 31036, http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ikarus-AeroF...item3371e77369. It is not just a Futaba adapter, is also works for Spektrum, JR, and Hitec. Ebay has the best price as shipping is included here in the States.



However, if you purchase the Aerofly 5.7 version with the USB GameCommander controller, you will also need Ikarus part 3036010 to be able to use your own controller. http://shop.ikarus-usa.com/Slave-Interface-Cable or http://www.ikarus.net/index.php/en/p.../shop-usa.html.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ikarus Adapter.JPG
Views:	1211
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	309979  
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:54 PM   #12
scoti333
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: austin,TX
Default

Thanx
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:28 PM   #13
bilemshious
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Btown
Default

Just to be clear, if I get Aerofly 5.7 with the USB interface only (no Gamecommander) I will only need this $18 interface part as well?
__________________
Blade mSR, mCP X v2, mSR X, Nano CP X
Parkzone Pole Cat, E-Flite UMX Gee Bee R2
Spektrum DX8
bilemshious is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:42 PM   #14
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilemshious View Post
Just to be clear, if I get Aerofly 5.7 with the USB interface only (no Gamecommander) I will only need this $18 interface part as well?
Yes. That is correct. Whether you purchase the GameCommander version (Mac or Win) or the USB Interface version (Mac or Win), you will still need to purchase the 31036 adapter separately if you intend to use your own controller (DX8 in my case). Considering that both RF6 and Phoenix4 come with all the necessary adapters for modern Futaba and Spektrum radios, the higher priced Aerofly 5.7 gets another ding on this.
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:44 PM   #15
bilemshious
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Btown
Default

Yeah - it's a doozy. I think the high price is actually keeping me from pulling the trigger on any of them... any way to get them used or anything??
__________________
Blade mSR, mCP X v2, mSR X, Nano CP X
Parkzone Pole Cat, E-Flite UMX Gee Bee R2
Spektrum DX8
bilemshious is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:54 PM   #16
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Both the RF6 and Phoenix4 are awesome. Even when you account for the expense of an extra copy of Windows to run BootCamp on my Mac, and needing to restart my Mac on BootCamp every time I want to use RF6 or Phoenix4, I still prefer RF6 and/or Phoenix4 over Aerofly 5.7.

ReadyHeli has a 20% off sale that expires tonight on all its items, including simulators. HeliDirect has a 15% off sale on all items, and expires on 26 Nov 2012, so gives you a few days to consider.
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:01 PM   #17
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,821
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Garrett Park, Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilemshious View Post
any way to get them used or anything??
There are plenty of sales for the Phoenix sim. Follow the HeliFreak "for sale" forum. As long as it is a Phoenix 2.5 or above, you can always upgrade for free to the latest version. RealFlight6/6.5 sales are less plentiful.
__________________
Whiplash E, Goblin 570, Synergy's E7SE & E5, T-Rex 550, B300X, B130X
VBar Silverline x6, DX18, Sims on Mac: RF6/7, Phoenix 4, AeroFly 5.7 & RC7 Ultimate, neXt
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Other R/C Flight Simulators


Other R/C Flight Simulators Other R/C Flight Simulators

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com