Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 12:31 AM   #1
kayakboy69
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: sacramento ca
Default 8fgs or castle creatoion flame out ?

I did a test hop today ran a pack through the bird recharged the battery and this is what happend to me

when i move my throttle hold to HOLD then back to NORMAL my esc spools up if i move the stick up it speed up but when im at ZERO it still is aprox 40 percent

I re calabrated the esc Per castle it works fine untill i switch the Throttle hold. when i go from hold to NORMAL my motor spins up

i have moved all of the throttle points to ZERO on Normal and IDLE UP and it still does it

Any ideas ?

is it my radio or esc ?

thanks Bob

O yea this is a 450p ice 50 light on 3s 45 c 2200 hyperion battey
kayakboy69 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:43 AM   #2
kcordell
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

Did you do the throttle hold autorotation calibration?
__________________
Team Futaba, Team Miniature Aircraft, Team Flightpower, Radix Blades, VelTye, YS Engines
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:55 AM   #3
kayakboy69
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: sacramento ca
Default

no i did not it was working before . all i did was fix my pitch issue and moved the throttle hold switch .

the radio show it working corectly in the SERVO menue it work the first hop i did re charged the batteries and all haties broke loose
kayakboy69 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
Trailryder42
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Default

I think I would do the fixed end points calibration for the ESC and motor again per the Castle how-to or Youtube videos.
__________________
T-rex 600E Pro
Futaba 8FGS
Trailryder42 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:56 PM   #5
jombo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 588
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Trumbull ,CT
Default

i think its in throttle hold . in the menu , i forget which one , is the line set to 0 or at 17% .
jombo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:21 AM   #6
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

The 8FG hold function only works at low throttle stick
To cut the throttle from any stick position you need to use the throttle cut function

Re-calibrate the ESC in normal mode with linear throttle curve
(Also - disable the throttle trim for electric)
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 02:43 AM   #7
ziper_it
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,020
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Default

My understanding is that
- throttle cut works only below a th threshold.
- throttle hold works always.
ziper_it is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:38 AM   #8
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Wrong way around
-Hold works below stick position
-Cut will cut from any position
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:41 AM   #9
theColonel
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leeds
Default

Directly from the 8FG pdf manual I have:

"Throttle cut provides an easy way to stop the engine. Generally speaking, modelers will do so by flipping a switch with the throttle stick at idle. The action is not functional at high throttle to avoid accidental dead stick landings. The switch's location and direction must be chosen, as it defaults to NULL."

As per the manual, it makes no sense to allow you to cut your engine accidentally. Hitting throttle hold accidentally isn't a good idea, but you could recover, as your engine is still running.
theColonel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Watch the servo/channel monitor page while using cut/hold,
you will find that hold does not work at high throttle

It makes perfect sense to be able to deliberately cut the engine from any stick/throttle position
We need this when crashing to shut the engine down
If you shut down the engine before hitting the ground it can result in less damage
More importantly it can avoid a funkey chicken incident which really wrecks the heli
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:17 AM   #11
ziper_it
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,020
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Default

Please read the manual extract posted by the Colonel.
ziper_it is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com