Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 12:46 AM   #1
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 884
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taupo, New Zealand
Default Adjusting Governor High

Hey guys,

On Governor high the software gives 3 spaces to enter the headspeed and then tells me what throttle to set in my radio.

QUESTION:
Once I've set up can I go ahead and adjust my curves for IU1 and IU2 without going into the software and entering it in the 3 spaces every time? Does entering the head speed into the software do anything major on the ESC or is it just an equation to tell you what throttle to set?

rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:34 PM   #2
Trailryder42
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Default

After you set your desired headspeeds in the software, the software will let you know if they jive ok for the gearing and motor info you entered. Then you click the Update button and those settings are saved in the ESC.

So if your 3 boxes were, say, throttle curves of flat 30, 70 and 100%, the ESC would remember what the desired headspeed for each throttle curve is, until you went back into the software and changed your desired headspeeds and clicked Update again.

Any time you make any change within the software be sure to hit the Update button so the ESC will remember it.
__________________
T-rex 600E Pro
Futaba 8FGS
Trailryder42 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:25 PM   #3
RC Mike
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Illinois, USA
Default

Not sure what you are talking about by "Governor High"?
 
Are you talking about headspeed box number 3 or what?
 
 
?
RC Mike is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
nogrider
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nogales arizona
Default

Two things on castle esc you have governor high which the three headspeeds yoy put in the box are optional .If you put the desired headspesd in those boxes they will give an idea where to set your throtle at. It is only when you use the "set rpm " governor that those boxes will make a diffrence, every change you make is what the esc headspead it wants to maintain, so there you would have to reprogram the esc to the desired headspeed.
Look at castle esc setup videos on you tube,They are good and easy to follow.
Hope that helps
nogrider is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 884
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taupo, New Zealand
Default

Yeah I always hit the update button and always "read" the settings after too.

Nogrider: I think I explained pretty badly huh!
Governor High is the governor mode I selected in the castle software. Uou're saying that the values in the boxes are just there to tell what % to use in my radio?
Eg if I want to change the speed I'm governed to I can just bring that up/down a few % without going back into the castle software?

Cheers!
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:21 PM   #6
Trailryder42
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Default

Ok, I see what you're asking.

As far as I know, the ESC always suggests flat curves of 30,70,and 100%. Those are not adjustable like the desired headspeed boxes are. I don't know if the ESC is hard coded to look for those specific flat curves from the radio or not. Or how the ESC would react to not seeing them from the radio, even if they were tweaked by only a few %, say, instead of 30% you set 35% in the radio.
__________________
T-rex 600E Pro
Futaba 8FGS
Trailryder42 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:51 PM   #7
cbane
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
Default

There's a diagram on Castle's download page for the Castle Link software that shows how the throttle ranges interact with the set RPM governor mode. (PDFs: v3.22 and below, v3.23 and above) I'm pretty sure that if you don't have the autorotation mode enabled, the arming range extends up into the autorotation range.

The ESC selects which of the programmed head speeds to used based on which of the "Governor Fixed - Head-Speed #1/2/3" ranges the throttle signal is in. The 30/70/100% throttle values were then picked to reliably get your throttle signal in those ranges after calibrating your endpoints.
cbane is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 03:26 PM   #8
nogrider
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nogales arizona
Default

Were talking about two dif. things, one is "gov high" and the other is "gov high set rpm" In the set rpm is where they sug. 30 70 and 100 flat throttle curve in the gov high you use a % of throttle to set your desired headspeed by taching the blades and adjusting the radio to the desired headspeed..That is because in the gov high it gives a very wide range of rpm not a set rpm. as well as low gov. going to a lower range of rpms At least that is what is specified in the help section of the castle esc programing software. Try it and see the diff.
nogrider is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:53 PM   #9
hornet dave
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Default

For gov low and gov high, yep just adjust your throttle curve up or down until you get the headspeed you want. No need to use castle link. The usual caveats apply, you dont want to set a headspeed faster than the motor can spin, and you also dont want to govern at too slow of a headspeed, below about what you would get with 70% throtle if you were not using a gov mode.
hornet dave is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:34 AM   #10
Blackbird1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 120
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GREECE
Default

+1
Blackbird1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:19 AM   #11
RC Mike
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Illinois, USA
Default

I really don’t understand this thread. It’s very simple you just activate the Set RPM option, plug in the numbers and go fly. It’s always worked perfectly and easily for me doing it that way.
 
Why are you guys trying to make an easy task so hard?????????????
 
 
.
RC Mike is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:00 PM   #12
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 884
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taupo, New Zealand
Default

Because there is:
Simple (no options)
Governor low (Only low HS)
Governor High (High HS)
Set RPM (High HS)

There is no mention in the documentation as to whether once values are entered in the boxes of the castle software can you still get slightly different HS just by changing the curve.

I have to admit I've just opted for Set RPM, seems fine!
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 07:41 PM   #13
hornet dave
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Default

Ive been using gov high lately. It makes it easy to change headspeeds at the field to suit my mood.
hornet dave is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:52 PM   #14
Bruno28
Registered Users
 
Posts: 646
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

i have never understood Gov High.

If have set like this on Set rpm
1 - 1900 0,30,30,30,30 --------> I get 1900
2 - 2100 70,70,70,70,70 --------> I get 2100
3 - 2150 100,100,100,100,100 --------> I get 2150

But if i use the same on gov high
1 - 1900 0,30,30,30,30 --------> I get 1900
2 - 2100 70,70,70,70,70 --------> I get 2600
3 - 2200 100,100,100,100,100 --------> I get 2600

The weird thing is that in set RPM i can go max of 2250rpm. With the 10.625 ratio.
But in Gov high with the throttle curve i use (70%), it passes the max 2150 said by the software up to 2600rpm (measured with tachometer)
What does the ms mean in Gov High?

Now that makes no sense. I just fly now all the with 2600rpm
__________________
- Goblin 700, Sk540, ICE2 HV160, Quantum 4530-500, MKS Tail, Outrage Torq Cyclics
- Kasama Srimok Faifa 90e, VBar 5.3 Pro, ICE2 HV120, Scorpion 4035-500kv
- Gaui X5, mini vbar
- Trex 250 se
Bruno28 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:19 PM   #15
hornet dave
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Default

In this case, 70 and 100 throttle curves are way too high for your heli when running gov high. 34% would probably be close to 2150. Remember, its an entirely different scheme compared to set rpm or simple gov, and that means different tx settings need to be used.

Right now you just have it cranked up so fast that the esc is simply at full throttle. You are not governing at all.
hornet dave is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:57 PM   #16
Bruno28
Registered Users
 
Posts: 646
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornet dave View Post
In this case, 70 and 100 throttle curves are way too high for your heli when running gov high. 34% would probably be close to 2150. Remember, its an entirely different scheme compared to set rpm or simple gov, and that means different tx settings need to be used.

Right now you just have it cranked up so fast that the esc is simply at full throttle. You are not governing at all.
So if its saying:
1-1900 about 32.3%
2-2100 about 41.3%
3-2150 about 43.5%

So i have to set the curves to
1- 0,32.3,32.3,32.3,32.3
2- 41.3,41.3,41.3,41.3,41.3
3- 43.5,43.5,43.5,43.5,43.5

????? is that it?
__________________
- Goblin 700, Sk540, ICE2 HV160, Quantum 4530-500, MKS Tail, Outrage Torq Cyclics
- Kasama Srimok Faifa 90e, VBar 5.3 Pro, ICE2 HV120, Scorpion 4035-500kv
- Gaui X5, mini vbar
- Trex 250 se
Bruno28 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:02 AM   #17
Blackbird1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 120
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GREECE
Default

Yes.
Blackbird1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:07 AM   #18
Bruno28
Registered Users
 
Posts: 646
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbird1 View Post
Yes.
thanks!
__________________
- Goblin 700, Sk540, ICE2 HV160, Quantum 4530-500, MKS Tail, Outrage Torq Cyclics
- Kasama Srimok Faifa 90e, VBar 5.3 Pro, ICE2 HV120, Scorpion 4035-500kv
- Gaui X5, mini vbar
- Trex 250 se
Bruno28 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:56 PM   #19
McCollister911
Registered Users
 
Posts: 968
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bossier City LA
Default

with the gov high setting will it still hold the rpm as well as the set rpm? so with the say, 43% TC it is saying that to get the 2150 the gov has to be at 43% output when the lipos are closer 3.7v/cell? so the output will be closer to 30 somthing for first few minutes?
__________________
Diabolo~Logo 700XXtreme~700dfcPRO~HDcell500
Futaba FASSTest+Vbar+Kontronik+MKS+Gens Ace
McCollister911 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:09 AM   #20
360Wings
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Both methods i.e. Gov. High or set RPM use exactly the same gov. routine.

The setRPM mode assigns a RPM to fixed throttle values i.e. 30%, 70% and 100% and the software translates them into a % throttle/power to send to the motor.. Using this method requires you to use castlelink to change the rpms.

Gov High/Low mode when you enter the 1,2,3, rpm values gives you an indication of the throttle % to use for the h/s entered.. You can tweak the h/s in your radio without using the castle link... Whether you use setrpm (30% = 2000rpm) or gov high (46.5% = 2000rpm) the value that gets passed to the gov. algorithm is the same.

I initially used setrpm as I didnt understand gov high. After discovering that gov. high mode allowed for the h/s to be set via the throttle % i switched over.. No difference in the governing, just saves me dragging my laptop to the field..
360Wings is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com