Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G6 / V120 Series


4G6 / V120 Series Walkera 4G6 / V120 Series Helicopter Support


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 07:36 AM   #1
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Arrow video of my bird freaking out..

Here is my novus 125CP 3axis.. It started acting funny and would not bind to the 2801 I just received, Bummed out. I finally got it to bind and it just did not want to fly. It tilted the swash with only 1 servo instead of 1 going up, and the other side pulling down, wasn't right.
So I go back to the helimax tx and here's what I get...



Any one have any ideas? As I am just getting frustrated with this heli!!! as soon as I spooled it down and quit filming it would not start up again till I played with it. Seems ta fly ok once in the air>>>....
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 09:37 AM   #2
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

cmon, no one, out of 20sum looks! LOL Any ideas???
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 09:40 AM   #3
raptorddd
Registered Users
 
Posts: 423
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: culiacan sinaloa mexico
Default

wrong thread sorry
raptorddd is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorddd View Post
wrong thread sorry
Damn it! I was hoping I might have an answer! lol
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 11:10 AM   #5
Benvk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Default

Have you checked your Battery to ESC to RX connection? seems like it's getting intermittent power.

Interesting method of fault finding in your video, what was the next step, hitting it with a hammer?
Benvk is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 11:29 AM   #6
gabeoravitz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 863
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

Make sure all 3 pins for the motor power cable are connected. I had this problem when I accidentally plugged it in so that only 2 were connected

I also had this problem when I was using an ESC that was not powerful enough for the motor (V120D02S with the ESC from 4G6S). I put the correct ESC in and it worked right away. It looks like the stock motor in your video, so maybe your ESC is failing.

Finally, make sure the motor isn't up against the main gear too tightly. If it's too tight, it binds.
gabeoravitz is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 11:52 AM   #7
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabeoravitz View Post
Make sure all 3 pins for the motor power cable are connected. I had this problem when I accidentally plugged it in so that only 2 were connected

I also had this problem when I was using an ESC that was not powerful enough for the motor (V120D02S with the ESC from 4G6S). I put the correct ESC in and it worked right away. It looks like the stock motor in your video, so maybe your ESC is failing.

Finally, make sure the motor isn't up against the main gear too tightly. If it's too tight, it binds.
Thanks guys. I have a feeling it's the esc. It only has , not even 10 flights on it... I will transfer my extra esc from my 120DO2S and see if that fixes it. That esc should work, right?
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 12:08 PM   #8
zadaw
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Default

I had the same situation with my V120D02S and it turned out to be the motor rather than the ESC.
zadaw is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 12:44 PM   #9
jonbailie
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,578
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Savannah, Georgia
Default

It's going to act funny with the fbl system until you get it in the air. Do you have the flybar installed along with the 3-axis system? Those two don't play well with each other.

If something is wrong, it wouldn't fly properly. If it does fly properly, then it's probably ok.

As for the motor, it seems like its tight against something, or the esc is going out. Check the gear mesh, you want just a tiny bit of movement in there, you don't want it too tight against the main gear. Then check for anything rubbing against the motor case, and if needed, slide the motor back, and make sure the head and tail rotate freely. It should take just a tiny bit of pressure to move the head and tail rotors.
__________________
// T-Rex 600EFL Pro 3GX // T-Rex 450 Pro V2 3GX // T-Rex 250 Pro DFC 3GX //
// Walkera V120D02-S (x2) // Walkera V120D02 // Walkera Genius CP (x3) //
// EFlite Blade MCPX (x2) // EFlite Blade 120SR // E-Sky Belt CPX //
// WK2801 // Spektrum DX4e //
jonbailie is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 02:19 PM   #10
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

I think the mesh is right. Owned lots a traxxas vehicles so meshing is no problem. Cold be the motor? But while trying to spool up, if I tap the esc and wires, it starts up. I believe the A gear is missing a tooth cause it does (click) in a spot.
So. The esc on the 120DO2S is not a normal esc, I thought they were the same only possibly bigger for the 120..? Why would an esc effect my flybar? I'm not trading out boards. Or are you saying the 120 esc will not (plug and play) with the novus..?
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 04:02 PM   #11
ChitownMatt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 443
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA, Il, CHI
Default

Do you have a voltmeter?

It could really be anything in the line between the battery and the motor.

Since you chopped up your 02s, maybe you should just try switching the rec and esc. I know everyone says that you would need to do the FBL conversion.... But has anyone actually tried it?

I would imagine you could just turn the gyro all the way down, right?
ChitownMatt is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 04:50 PM   #12
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChitownMatt View Post
Do you have a voltmeter?

It could really be anything in the line between the battery and the motor.

Since you chopped up your 02s, maybe you should just try switching the rec and esc. I know everyone says that you would need to do the FBL conversion.... But has anyone actually tried it?

I would imagine you could just turn the gyro all the way down, right?
you make a very interesting point.. Maybe I should try that, I could use my devo8s!
Couldn't I just take the esc and put it on the novus to see if that works? I would have to go look, but I would think it is the same size..
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 06:10 PM   #13
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

Update...
Changed the esc out. Works fine now. I don't know if it is a connection in the original esc that caused it or the motor did not have good connection. Either way, it's fixed! thanks again..
now I will try my 2801 out that I bought for it ..
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #14
gabeoravitz
Registered Users
 
Posts: 863
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

check the solder joints under the ESC's cover. It sounds like one is loose because it is behaving exactly like mine was when i accidentally only connected 2 of the 3 wires.
gabeoravitz is offline       
Old 05-03-2012, 07:33 PM   #15
bradharvy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,975
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: missouri, raymore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabeoravitz View Post
check the solder joints under the ESC's cover. It sounds like one is loose because it is behaving exactly like mine was when i accidentally only connected 2 of the 3 wires.
will do
__________________
Happy flying
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
....Brad
Trex 550e v2,BLADE 450X ,130X NEVER! McPX BRL, 120DO2s, McPX, Stryker , Edge 540qq,UMX BEASt, Crak Yakx2,
YAK 55M 35CC,A.W. yak 54 20CC,3dhs 330sc 57inch, ALL ON MY JR9503
bradharvy is offline       
Closed Thread




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > 4G6 / V120 Series


4G6 / V120 Series Walkera 4G6 / V120 Series Helicopter Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com