Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 02:44 AM   #1
jpreou
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Unhappy Spektrum DX8 / Phoenix 4

Have followed the entire below thread (18 pages!) and searched out a dozen other DX8 threads but all to no avail.

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=184851

I have Phoenix 4.0j and Spektrum DX8, mode 2.
Phoenix worked perfectly with my Futaba 6EX, but I am selling that shortly, so need to get the DX8 going.

My problem with the DX8 is two fold;
  1. At bottom throttle (or on throttle hold) the heli instantly 'crashes' regardless of on the ground or in flight. If I move the throttle perhaps 10% off bottom the heli spools up and doesn't crash. Otherwise it sits on the ground going crash - crash - crash, constantly.
  2. There is to tail rotor control (the tail rotor isn't spinning either). The tail rotor channel is correctly mapped and responds correctly.
In setting up, I followed these steps;
  1. Created a new blank heli model
  2. Ensure pitch curves, etc are all linear
  3. Set to "1 servo" mode
  4. Set all switches to "Inhibit"
  5. Selected the DX8 profile in Phoenix and made a copy of it
  6. Ran thorugh calibration (and advanced calibration) *so* many times!
  7. Ensured all channels correctly mapped
  8. Ensured all channels responding appropriately
  9. Reversing tail rotor channel (in the sim) doesn't help
  10. Reversing pitch channel (in the sim) doesn't help)
  11. Unmapped Throttle Hold and Idle Up
  12. Tried just about every suggestion I could find in any thread.
I still have the two issues listed above which essentially makes Phoenix unusable (at least, it will when my 6EX has sold).
Would really appreciate some assistance with this.
jpreou is offline       
Old 05-10-2012, 08:11 PM   #2
rojack
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,666
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Santee, California
Default

In the calibration screen, what are the orange bars doing when you drop the throttle?

Are you using 'mode 2' inside Phoenix ?

Is this just one heli, or any heli?
What happens when you fly a plane?
__________________

rojack is offline       
Old 05-10-2012, 09:24 PM   #3
iborg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 143
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Default

Hi

I have just bought a DX7 and wasted 3hrs, simply because I didn't center the throttle while setting up the transmitter in Phoenix.

Could you have made the same mistake?

I then change the mode after calibrating by viewing the tx in the sim. I think it defaults to mode 2, and I wanted mode 1. Click on the mode number to change it (I think).

Good luck.
__________________
mPC X -
CopterX Black Angel - currently trying to stop it being just a lawn dart !
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
iborg is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 12:19 AM   #4
jpreou
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Default

rojack: orange bars behave exactly as I would expect. Will need to check on the Mode, but should be Mode 2 (I hope). Any and all helis crash, but planes seem ok. I can confirm the model on the TX is a heli, and *not* set to acro. None of the 'plane' switches (like the gear) work on the planes, but I think I read that is a TX thing and I need to setup another sim model for Acro.

iborg: no, throttle definately centered, but as noted with rojack, above, I need to double check the mode. I don't think it is that though.

Cheers
jpreou is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 12:23 AM   #5
AtTheCross
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern CA
Default

What's your email can send my sim file see if it works for you
__________________
1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.
AtTheCross is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 01:20 AM   #6
jpreou
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Default

Thanks. My name is "jpreou" and I reside at google.
Tonight I checked; mode 2 is set. I created a new heli model on the TX & ran through everything again. New TX/control profile in Phoenix, even creating one from scratch and manually specifying all controls. Didn't matter what I tried; everything the same result. Heli models crash at bottom throttle (anything less than about 10% throttle stick) and have no tail rotor. The 'monitor' function on the TX shows everything being 'sent' to Phoenix ok.

On planes all controls work fine, including rudder but with the model on the TX being a heli I have no gear, flaps and that kind of thing. All primary controls fine though. So I can fly planes ok (with fixed gear and no flaps!), but helis just crash and have no tail. Highly awkward and very frustrating.
jpreou is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
jpreou
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Default

gmail, that is, in case the clarification is needed. cheers
jpreou is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 02:02 PM   #8
AtTheCross
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern CA
Default

file sent
__________________
1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.
AtTheCross is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
rojack
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,666
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Santee, California
Default

Check in System --> 'Program setup'.
-- What is the crash/breakage handling ?


Check in Model --> 'Setup Failures'
-- Frequency all "Never" ??
__________________

rojack is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 07:12 PM   #10
jpreou
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Default

FIXED! maybe
Ok guys, this is weird. Thanks AtTheCross for the file. It did not work for me directly but perhaps it 'caused' something. Here's what happened;
  • I imported the file to a new blank model.
  • Looking at the settings I noted quite a few things differed from a blank model, especially servo travel and throttle curves and the like. What heck, worth a try, right?
  • I fired up the computer, loaded Phoenix, swapped from the plane I had left it on last time to the T-Rex 550 FBL model I usually fly.
  • First thing I notice was no crashing of the model at bottom throttle; checked and saw throttle not at true 'bottom' (that is, like a blank model) due tht curves.
  • Second thing I notice is the tail rotor now spins and works as expected.
  • Tried to lift off into the hover and it throttles up, blades spin up, but doesn't move. In *any* flight mode.
  • Ah well. Swap back to my previous 'blank' model; now it works perfectly.
  • I setup some throttle / pitch curves, expo and D/R, throttle hold and timer on the DX8. *No* changes to Phoenix still.
  • All still good.
  • Checked with a plane (WOT4) and that still works ok too.
I *DID NOT* re-calibrate Phoenix or make *ANY* settings changes within Phoenix at all.
So what gives? Weird, huh?

AtTheCross; not sure about your model, but it seems to have jolted Phoenix into working properly some how! Thanks, I 've been fiddling on and off for days with this?

No idea, why this worked, or even *what* worked, but work it does. Of course, I can't help wondering now if it will simply stop working again some time in the future. On reading literally dozens of threads, the DX8 and Phoenix seem to be a little 'hit and miss' together.

Ah well, we are fixed (for now) and many thanks to all.
I have a support case in with Phoenix, so I shall relate all this to them too.
Thanks all.
jpreou is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 09:33 PM   #11
AtTheCross
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern CA
Default

good deal, glad it started working
__________________
1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.
AtTheCross is offline       
Old 05-11-2012, 11:17 PM   #12
jpreou
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Default

Cheers. Dunno if your model 'kick started' it (how could it?), but at least its going, so thanks for that. Very weird. Thanks all.
jpreou is offline       
Closed Thread




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com