Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 12:34 AM   #1
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default vbar gov 5.2 pro on a 700 nitro help

so I recently switch a yds913ds to a new ys120 and i've been bombard wih problems. So i was able to get the sensor to work by replacing the spektrum rev sensor with an Align magnet sensor . However, i am running into another problem.

So i was able to test fly my 700 today but seem like im having a problem with my gov. In normal mode, everything was ok but Once i switched to idle 1 ( which suppose to have a head speed of 1983) the motor gets up to speed, then slows down, rev up and down . My gov gain was originally at 75 but it was very bad then i gradually turn it down to 30 where it gets just a little bit better. The motor just revs up and down, up and down which in turn gives me unstable head speed. Do you guys have any idea how to fix this
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:39 AM   #2
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Post file and event log
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 08:06 AM   #3
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

here are the file. THanks
Attached Files
File Type: vbr trex 700 vbar file.vbr (5.5 KB, 50 views)
File Type: pdf trex 700 vbar log.pdf (243.9 KB, 61 views)
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 08:40 AM   #4
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default My 2 cents

Your “Minimum Gov %” is set to -50. Your low throttle end point is set to -96. I would change the Minimum Gov setting to -60 or -75. Try -60 first and see if it helps, you should be able to go all the way down to -75 without shutting of your motor.

You have some governor sensor signal glitches in your event log. If this is happening while the governor is engaged then it could mean your sensor needs to be checked or replaced. You also have some channel input errors. I would take a look at your satellites receivers and make sure all the wire connections are good. I usually use silicon on all my connections to prevent a loose connector from causing an issue. Given the error times, I would say this happened during your flight.
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:18 AM   #5
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whittb View Post
Your “Minimum Gov %” is set to -50. Your low throttle end point is set to -96. I would change the Minimum Gov setting to -60 or -75. Try -60 first and see if it helps, you should be able to go all the way down to -75 without shutting of your motor.

You have some governor sensor signal glitches in your event log. If this is happening while the governor is engaged then it could mean your sensor needs to be checked or replaced. You also have some channel input errors. I would take a look at your satellites receivers and make sure all the wire connections are good. I usually use silicon on all my connections to prevent a loose connector from causing an issue. Given the error times, I would say this happened during your flight.
Where do you see -50 on my governor minimum? Am i doing something wrong?
About the align governor, can you take a pic of how you mount you? because I get green light when the magnet is under the sensor. Should i switch the power leads to another open servo port?
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:21 AM   #6
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

First of all, your setup seems to be a mix.

Select correct governor, press reset, re-make the settings on Governor I & II page.
Then adjust % min governor if needed. (lower it as suggested)
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:32 AM   #7
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default re

Mr Mel. I noticed that when I open a xxx.VBR file with a nitro governor setup, it will only show the nitro setup when the heli is plugged into the program. If not it defaults to the electric menu on the governor 1 menu. Not sure why this happens, but it has done it to me several times while using 5.2.

If you take the same file an load it while your nitro heli is plugged into the V-bar, then it will show up and a nitro gov setup.
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:33 AM   #8
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whittb View Post
Mr Mel. I noticed that when I open a xxx.VBR file with a nitro governor setup, it will only show the nitro setup when the heli is plugged into the program. If not it defaults to the electric menu on the governor 1 menu. Not sure why this happens, but it has done it to me several times while using 5.2.

If you take the same file an load it while your nitro heli is plugged into the V-bar, then it will show up and a nitro gov setup.
??
Not sure what you mean, you can load a file in simulation mode but you need to double-click for things to change, "load" will do not do it.
On mac you need a little hacking done..
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:57 AM   #9
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default re

Let’s see if I can explain it a little better.

If I go into the V-bar program without a V-Bar unit plugged into the computer I can go into the gov 1 menu and reset the governor But the nitro option will not show up, only electric and disable show up. If I plug one of my spare V-bar units up the computer, then I can go into the gov 1 menu and the nitro option will show up.

I have it on my Work PC and it does the same thing. I also noticed that the gov 1 menu shows a mini V-bar unit without anything plug in to the computer, but when I plug in a V-bar unit, it shows a full size unit on the gov 1 menu.

I am running Windows 7. I tried to double click but it still does not work.

It’s no big deal, just thought I would mention it.
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:26 AM   #10
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

That's fully normal, just as if you load a file via LOAD it will not show correctly under RX
(depends on what default file was the program was programmed with)

Mini vs Fullsize

Try double-click on the file and it will work perfectly fine (excep t mac)
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:48 AM   #11
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default

Thanks, it works perfectly.
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:55 AM   #12
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

what is % minim gov mean?
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:08 PM   #13
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

just did my set up again: here is the new file:
For some reason, I can not get the sensor to not giving out weird signals. So i want to switch the wire and connect them to an open servo port but im not sure which wire to switch. Im using an Align magnet sensor so which wires should i connect an open servo port to support the sufficient voltage?
Attached Files
File Type: vbr new 700 vbar file.vbr (5.5 KB, 32 views)
File Type: pdf new 700 log.pdf (26.3 KB, 46 views)
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:36 PM   #14
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

Min gov is the lowest the gov will close the throttle to try to overcome overrev.
The more + the number the less it will close.

The two power wires have to be mOved to a servo port. Only the signal wire will be in the sense port
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:42 PM   #15
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default re

Couple of questions.
Under the Gov 1 menu, your output socket on Vbar” is set to channel 4. Usually it’s set to (servo no BEC) and the throttle servo is plugged into the back of the V-bar unit above the sensor connection. Not sure if this will work or not. Hopefully someone else can chime in and answer this.

Under the gov II menu. I noticed that your throttle endpoints are exactly -100,+100. You might want to make sure you set the max and min throttle settings again after you hit the reset button. Make sure your throttle and pitch curves are 0,50,100 or the numbers will be skewed. Your last file was not -100,+100.

Under the main menu, you have the Auto trim turned on. You might want to cut it off until you get the setup finished, then you can turn it on and do a trim flight if you need to. I have personally never needed to do this step.

Under your tail setup. What you have will work, but I have found that values in the 90’s make the tail work better. You can move the ball link out on the servo horn a notch to change this.

The default gov gain is set to 60. With my YS120, I found that 50 stopped the over speeding.

As for the align governor sensor, you want to move the red wire to and open servo port on the front. I run a 2S lipo and have no trouble whit it plugged into the sensor connection. But it can’t hurt to try. Remember that you will have gov sensor error in your event log when the governor is not engaged. The align governor sensor is easy to damage. It’s easy to hit it on something while you are installing it and damage something. They are only 10 dollars.

Hope this helps
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:25 PM   #16
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whittb View Post
Couple of questions.
Under the Gov 1 menu, your output socket on Vbar” is set to channel 4. Usually it’s set to (servo no BEC) and the throttle servo is plugged into the back of the V-bar unit above the sensor connection. Not sure if this will work or not. Hopefully someone else can chime in and answer this.

Under the gov II menu. I noticed that your throttle endpoints are exactly -100,+100. You might want to make sure you set the max and min throttle settings again after you hit the reset button. Make sure your throttle and pitch curves are 0,50,100 or the numbers will be skewed. Your last file was not -100,+100.

Under the main menu, you have the Auto trim turned on. You might want to cut it off until you get the setup finished, then you can turn it on and do a trim flight if you need to. I have personally never needed to do this step.

Under your tail setup. What you have will work, but I have found that values in the 90’s make the tail work better. You can move the ball link out on the servo horn a notch to change this.

The default gov gain is set to 60. With my YS120, I found that 50 stopped the over speeding.

As for the align governor sensor, you want to move the red wire to and open servo port on the front. I run a 2S lipo and have no trouble whit it plugged into the sensor connection. But it can’t hurt to try. Remember that you will have gov sensor error in your event log when the governor is not engaged. The align governor sensor is easy to damage. It’s easy to hit it on something while you are installing it and damage something. They are only 10 dollars.

Hope this helps
For the align sensor, i thought i have to reroute 2 wires to the front , or just the red wire?
So my throttle endpoints are bad? As far as i understand it, the purpose of the endpoint is to limit how far the throttle servo travel to avoid binding correct?
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:50 PM   #17
whittb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: RICHMOND TEXAS
Default re

Not sure if the endpoints are bad or not, I just realized that they were different from the first setup file. I wanted to make sure you remembered to check them after the reset. Yes, the endpoints are set to just short of binding.

I think you are ok without routing anything to the front sense you are running high voltage. Red wire only, to any opened servo port on the front.
whittb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:19 PM   #18
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

1 wire will work but since i have no clue what the board is like i perfer to get ground from the same location also
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 02:42 PM   #19
haha
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,789
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

turn out, I lost one of the magnet. Do I really need to magnets for the sensor to work? Anyway, i already ordered another align sensor so that I can replaced the one that i currently have.
__________________
TREX 700FBL - JR 8717HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- OS 105HZR - Hatori SB-22 Pipe - Vbar 5.3 Pro
Synergy N5C - JR 8917HVs -Outrage BL9188HV Tail- YS 56 SR- Hatori Pipe- Vbar 5.3 Pro
Logo600SE - JR 8717s - Jr 8900G Tail-- Jive 80HV --Hacker 470KV- Vbar5.3 Pro. DX7se
haha is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:35 PM   #20
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

. one should be N and one S. one is used for balance.
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com